Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 12 Jan 2017 (Thursday) 10:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Is anyone else having difficulty cutting out hair in PSCC 2017?

 
ptcanon3ti
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 12, 2017 10:28 |  #1

Trying to separate a subject from a crappy background and I can't get good hair selection. I've looked at about 10 youtube "how to" videos and followed along step by step, and my selections are so bad.

The BG bleeds through, or the subject is semi transparent after refining the edge. *smh :oops:


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
nathancarter
Cream of the Crop
5,472 posts
Gallery: 32 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 586
Joined Dec 2010
     
Jan 12, 2017 10:41 |  #2

I'm no expert at it, but -

1, remember that you don't have to keep every flyaway hair. If you lose some of those, nobody will know except you.

2, there's a new feature that I haven't used yet, called the Select and Mask Taskspace, which might help you get better results.
http://blogs.adobe.com …pace-in-photoshop-cc.html (external link)


http://www.avidchick.c​om (external link) for business stuff
http://www.facebook.co​m/VictorVoyeur (external link) for fun stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 12, 2017 11:08 |  #3

nathancarter wrote in post #18242078 (external link)
I'm no expert at it, but -

1, remember that you don't have to keep every flyaway hair. If you lose some of those, nobody will know except you.

2, there's a new feature that I haven't used yet, called the Select and Mask Taskspace, which might help you get better results.
http://blogs.adobe.com …pace-in-photoshop-cc.html (external link)


I know what you mean. But I'm really concerned with places where there is a good amount of hair but you can also see through it. That never works well. It's also interesting in the videos showing how to do this type of selection....there is usually a clean BG where you have good contrast with the subject.


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scobols
Goldmember
Avatar
1,262 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 387
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Waconia, MN
     
Jan 12, 2017 11:40 |  #4

Have you tried using the original refine edge tool? I find the new "Select and Mask" to be dreadful for selecting hair. Use the original tool by holding down the shift key when you click the Select and Mask tool from the menu.

Scott


www.scottbolster.com (external link)
facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
Avatar
3,827 posts
Likes: 32
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Georgetown, Ky
     
Jan 12, 2017 12:34 |  #5

ptcanon3ti wrote in post #18242105 (external link)
I know what you mean. But I'm really concerned with places where there is a good amount of hair but you can also see through it.

Why not clone in hair in those spots? Granted, depends on the spot, but would that work for you?


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DagoImaging
Goldmember
Avatar
1,784 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 993
Joined Nov 2012
     
Jan 12, 2017 14:37 |  #6

Can you share an image. I've had good luck w/ CC2017 in these areas but I do usually end up using ReMask5 instead or a combination thereof.


Sony a6300/ 16-70/4 / 70-200/4 G / Sony HVL-60M

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 12, 2017 15:20 |  #7

scobols wrote in post #18242128 (external link)
Have you tried using the original refine edge tool? I find the new "Select and Mask" to be dreadful for selecting hair. Use the original tool by holding down the shift key when you click the Select and Mask tool from the menu.

Scott

I haven't. I'll give it a try. Thanks!


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 12, 2017 15:22 |  #8

D Thompson wrote in post #18242172 (external link)
Why not clone in hair in those spots? Granted, depends on the spot, but would that work for you?

It looks very unnatural when I try that. Its very obvious that something was done.


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 12, 2017 15:23 |  #9

DagoImaging wrote in post #18242307 (external link)
Can you share an image. I've had good luck w/ CC2017 in these areas but I do usually end up using ReMask5 instead or a combination thereof.

Sure. I'll put a couple up when I get to my computer. On a tablet right now. :)


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 13, 2017 11:05 |  #10

Ok...here is a shot that I can not get a clean extraction with.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DagoImaging
Goldmember
Avatar
1,784 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 993
Joined Nov 2012
     
Jan 13, 2017 13:33 |  #11

Due you have a raw? an 8 bit jpg is tough as there isn't enough color latitude to do adjustments to change the contrast enough to get a clean separation. It's a tough image regardless since her hair is so close to the background color. First thing I would do is play w/ adjustment layers to create separation and then merge those to a new layer and make the selection on that and then a mask on the original.

But again, on the jpg it's not going to look good.


Sony a6300/ 16-70/4 / 70-200/4 G / Sony HVL-60M

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 13, 2017 13:37 |  #12

DagoImaging wrote in post #18243374 (external link)
Due you have a raw? an 8 bit jpg is tough as there isn't enough color latitude to do adjustments to change the contrast enough to get a clean separation. It's a tough image regardless since her hair is so close to the background color. First thing I would do is play w/ adjustment layers to create separation and then merge those to a new layer and make the selection on that and then a mask on the original.

But again, on the jpg it's not going to look good.

You are correct...it doesn't look good. :D

I thought most people when they do BG separations work with Jpgs. The problem I find is that most tutorials show how to do it in nice controlled situations...Good contrast with the BG...good color separation from the BG etc. Real world shots are a whole different ballgame I'm thinking.


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DagoImaging
Goldmember
Avatar
1,784 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 993
Joined Nov 2012
     
Jan 13, 2017 14:18 |  #13

I never do composite work w/ a jpg. Only final output is a jpg.


Sony a6300/ 16-70/4 / 70-200/4 G / Sony HVL-60M

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ptcanon3ti
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,718 posts
Gallery: 332 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3727
Joined Sep 2012
Location: Gloucester Co. NJ
     
Jan 13, 2017 14:22 |  #14

DagoImaging wrote in post #18243407 (external link)
I never do composite work w/ a jpg. Only final output is a jpg.


Then you are way above my pay grade. :lol:


Paul
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/petshots/ (external link)
Body - Nikon D750
Lenses - Nikon 20 f1.8 / Nikon 16-35 f4 / Sigma 105 OS Macro / Sigma 24-105 f4 Art / Tamron 70-200 2.8 Di VC / Sigma 150-600 "S"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Damo77
Goldmember
Avatar
4,589 posts
Likes: 85
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
     
Jan 13, 2017 15:07 |  #15

Hi ptcanon3ti, what is your end intention with this? What background do you intend to replace it with?


Damien
Website (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

4,136 views & 7 likes for this thread
Is anyone else having difficulty cutting out hair in PSCC 2017?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is NinaP
563 guests, 359 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.