Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 13 Mar 2017 (Monday) 09:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help with DxO Optics 11

 
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,338 posts
Likes: 7656
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 13, 2017 09:19 |  #1

I downloaded the free trial. It is pretty basic and easy to figure out. Sharpening and image clarity is the most important thing to me.

I downloaded the modules I need. CA, Distortion, Sharpening are all there on the right. When using PS (ACR) or LR there is sharpening palette for capture sharpening. Then you apply USM (PS) for output or apply sharpening when exporting in LR.

Does DxO have additional sharpening besides the USM tab? Is there something else I'm missing?


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,607 posts
Likes: 333
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
Post edited over 2 years ago by agedbriar.
     
Mar 13, 2017 09:42 |  #2

I only have the free DxO Optics Pro 9 and there USM is all they offer in terms of sharpening.

For demanding sharpening I use FocalBlade:

http://www.thepluginsi​te.com …lblade/versionh​istory.htm (external link)

Forgot to mention: for clarity I use Topaz Clarity, which gives you much control over how clarity is applied.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
THREAD ­ STARTER
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,338 posts
Likes: 7656
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 13, 2017 09:53 |  #3

I found something called DxO lens Softness. The info says it lets you increase sharpness of your lens. So far nothing is really blowing me out of the water. Not for $199 US.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,607 posts
Likes: 333
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
Post edited over 2 years ago by agedbriar. (2 edits in all)
     
Mar 13, 2017 10:05 |  #4

DxO Lens softness is like Canon DPP's Digital Lens Optimizer: they compensate for known residual lens aberrations.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
THREAD ­ STARTER
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,338 posts
Likes: 7656
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 13, 2017 10:26 |  #5

agedbriar wrote in post #18299724 (external link)
DxO Lens softness is like Canon DPP's Digital Lens Optimizer: they compensate for known residual lens aberrations.

Oh so that would be capture the sharpening phase and USM is for output. Thanks.

I have the Canon 5D MK4 module and lens combos. It recognizes my 100-400 II but doesn't with the 1.4 III. I'll have to figure out why.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
THREAD ­ STARTER
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,338 posts
Likes: 7656
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 13, 2017 11:08 |  #6

The lens softness does help quite a bit. More aggressive than DLO. Not too bad. I tried it about 5 years ago but found it too automated. Lot of user control available.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,607 posts
Likes: 333
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
     
Mar 13, 2017 14:34 |  #7

digital paradise wrote in post #18299779 (external link)
The lens softness does help quite a bit. More aggressive than DLO.

I suspect they silently add some USM. I've seen a bit of a white halo in a few cases, which has no reason to appear in a residual aberrations removal.

I'd say that DPP DLO does a neater job, although the final effect does look weaker.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mathmans
Senior Member
274 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 92
Joined Apr 2014
     
Mar 14, 2017 03:42 as a reply to  @ agedbriar's post |  #8

I use DxO Elite Pro 11 and it has two ways to sharpen image - Lens softness sliders and Unsharp mask sliders.
And when you export image as jpeg you can select 'Bicubis sharp' in advance options.
You can also export from DxO to LR or PS (TIFF, PSD, jpeg) and do the USM there. If you can't get sharp images from DxO then you're doing something wrong.
The only thing DxO can't do is selective sharpness because it doesn't have brush tool. In that case I export to LR or PS and I do it there.
I think one piece of software can't do all things best. So that's why I use DxO, LR, PS and Capture One Pro.

Here is the link:
http://www.dxo.com …our-camera-dxo-optics-pro (external link)


My photos:
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/149610703@N05/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
THREAD ­ STARTER
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,338 posts
Likes: 7656
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 14, 2017 08:20 |  #9

Mathmans wrote in post #18300483 (external link)
I use DxO Elite Pro 11 and it has two ways to sharpen image - Lens softness sliders and Unsharp mask sliders.
And when you export image as jpeg you can select 'Bicubis sharp' in advance options.
You can also export from DxO to LR or PS (TIFF, PSD, jpeg) and do the USM there. If you can't get sharp images from DxO then you're doing something wrong.
The only thing DxO can't do is selective sharpness because it doesn't have brush tool. In that case I export to LR or PS and I do it there.
I think one piece of software can't do all things best. So that's why I use DxO, LR, PS and Capture One Pro.

Here is the link:
http://www.dxo.com …our-camera-dxo-optics-pro (external link)

Not that it wasn't sharp. I could do just as well in PS. I use a resizing and edge sharpening action that I created from several sources.

http://www.earthboundl​ight.com …search=edge+mas​k&bool=and (external link)

I think DxO did a better job at that than Capture One Pro when it came to sharpening. Thanks for the link.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agedbriar
Goldmember
Avatar
2,607 posts
Likes: 333
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Slovenia
Post edited over 2 years ago by agedbriar.
     
Mar 14, 2017 08:39 |  #10

Mathmans wrote in post #18300483 (external link)
If you can't get sharp images from DxO then you're doing something wrong.

If yours was indeed a reply to my post .... did I ever say that I can't?

The discussion here is about the methods that the various tools, which contribute to the visual effect of "image sharpness" (even when it's often just a boost of acuity) employ, and what they deliver.

My position is that there can be a lot of difference between "equally sharp" versions of an image if different sharpening tools are employed.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
THREAD ­ STARTER
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,338 posts
Likes: 7656
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 14, 2017 09:10 |  #11

One thing I found disappointing about Capture One was the limited lenses they offer. Only the 100-400 version 1 and no TC combos.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mathmans
Senior Member
274 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 92
Joined Apr 2014
     
Mar 14, 2017 09:27 as a reply to  @ digital paradise's post |  #12

No, agedbriar; it was not reply to your post.
It was a reply to digital paradise post but unfortunately I understood his question wrong.

I can agree about Capture One. It's good for some photos but I don't use it much.
Lately I just use DxO.
I usualy don't export from DxO directly to disk. I export TIFF to Photoshop for final adjustment/resizing/ou​tput sharpening.
Sometimes I export from DxO to LR and then to Photoshop.


My photos:
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/149610703@N05/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
THREAD ­ STARTER
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,338 posts
Likes: 7656
Joined Oct 2009
     
Mar 14, 2017 09:47 |  #13

Mathmans wrote in post #18300659 (external link)
No, agedbriar; it was not reply to your post.
It was a reply to digital paradise post but unfortunately I understood his question wrong.

I can agree about Capture One. It's good for some photos but I don't use it much.
Lately I just use DxO.
I usualy don't export from DxO directly to disk. I export TIFF to Photoshop for final adjustment/resizing/ou​tput sharpening.
Sometimes I export from DxO to LR and then to Photoshop.

I do the same thing with DPP, LR and PS. I'm just experimenting for something to do. One day the crunch may come where LR won't be offered as a stand alone or CS6 won't work. I just applied all the settings in DxO and compared to PS and I would not say DxO wins the day. I do like it and will keep it in mind.

Lens Softness and DPP's DLO are getting into true deconvolution DLO having the purest form. Adobe offers it in the detail tab but is more USM based. I recent;y found out the detail slider offers halo suppression between 0 to 50 and deconvolution between 50 to 100 but then you lose halo suppression.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mathmans
Senior Member
274 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 92
Joined Apr 2014
     
Mar 14, 2017 11:12 as a reply to  @ digital paradise's post |  #14

I got DxO because of Prime noise reduction which gave me the best results. I was shooting a lot of dance events in badly lit gyms and ISO was flying up to 12800. Those days I just removed noise in DxO and export TIFFs to LR op PS for adjustments and resizig.
Now I use DxO a lot more when I discovered how it works. It sure works different as LR or ACR. I can practicaly get the same results as with LR with Smart lightning, Clear view and Selective tone. Spot weighted Smart lightning also works good. LR has advantage with brushes. But you can export from DxO to LR for brush adjustments.
But there is one thing I don't like about DxO and that is Selective tone sliders. They don't work as sliders in LR and they interact with each other. I hope they will fix them in v12.
Yes; if you work in DxO with Selective tone sliders as you would in LR then you won't get good results. Those sliders are weird at best.


My photos:
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/149610703@N05/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,726 views & 1 like for this thread
Help with DxO Optics 11
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Empiricist
921 guests, 271 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.