Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Apr 2017 (Tuesday) 23:18
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 5D3 liveview with 10-stop ND filter

 
sawsedge
Senior Member
Avatar
766 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 58
Joined Dec 2011
Location: United States
     
Apr 04, 2017 23:18 |  #1

I recently got a 10-stop ND filter. Is there a menu setting that will allow me to see more than blackness in liveview or is the filter just too strong for it? I was out in early morning, not in direct sunlight, so my low ISO, f/11 exposures were in the 5-6 minute range with the filter.


- John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,843 posts
Likes: 215
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Apr 05, 2017 05:17 |  #2

Turn off exposure simulation, since to the camera it must look like it's very dark.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sawsedge
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
766 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 58
Joined Dec 2011
Location: United States
     
Apr 05, 2017 18:30 as a reply to  @ apersson850's post |  #3

Thank you. I didn't see a difference enabled or disabled with the filter in place unfortunately. Any other options that might affect it?


- John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AJSJones
Goldmember
Avatar
2,646 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 90
Joined Dec 2001
Location: California
     
Apr 05, 2017 19:53 |  #4

When I use my big stopper, I set everything and compose, focus, tilt, shift, whatever and then attach the filter...


My picture galleries (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
33,934 posts
Gallery: 82 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3990
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
Post edited over 1 year ago by TeamSpeed.
     
Apr 05, 2017 20:37 |  #5

The above reply sounds like the right answer, the filter is just too strong, in fact you don't even have that many stops for ISO available to you, at least not iso levels that are any good.

You could try dialing in iso 25600 in live view to see if you get an image, get things dialed in, then set your iso back to 100.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sawsedge
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
766 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 58
Joined Dec 2011
Location: United States
     
Apr 05, 2017 21:02 as a reply to  @ TeamSpeed's post |  #6

Well, it was worth checking to make sure. Thank you for the replies.


- John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,843 posts
Likes: 215
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Apr 06, 2017 03:54 |  #7

All right, if turning exposure simulation off doesn't do the trick, then the camera obviously thinks it's like you put the lens cap on...


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Azathoth
" ...whose name no lips dare speak aloud"
Avatar
1,385 posts
Gallery: 537 photos
Best ofs: 6
Likes: 3353
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Funchal
Post edited over 1 year ago by Azathoth. (2 edits in all)
     
Apr 06, 2017 04:19 |  #8

I don't know about the 5d3 but on my 70D i can only view anything on Liveview with a 10 stop ND filter on a very bright sunny day.
But i think that is dependent of the maximum aperture on the lens. If you are using a f1.4 or f1.8 lens you'll see a little brighter.


500px (external link) | flickr (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Instagram (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mkkaczy
Senior Member
Avatar
314 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1195
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Poland/Ireland
     
Apr 06, 2017 08:20 |  #9

I can see well LV with big stopper on my 5dIII, only in Bulb mode.


http://500px.com/mkkac​zy (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
umphotography
grabbing their Johnson
Avatar
10,127 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 1893
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Gig Harbor, Washington
     
Apr 06, 2017 08:54 |  #10

AJSJones wrote in post #18320620 (external link)
When I use my big stopper, I set everything and compose, focus, tilt, shift, whatever and then attach the filter...


Correct answer. Count backwards for your stops to set shutter speed. Big stoppers have a chart that helps. I generally start at 3 mins and see what have and go from there....the beauty of the screen  :p


Mike
www.umphotography.com (external link)
GEAR LIST
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sawsedge
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
766 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 58
Joined Dec 2011
Location: United States
     
Apr 08, 2017 19:17 |  #11

I have a ND filter app on my phone that helps with the exposure times. 'just wish I could see. :-)


- John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Avatar
8,801 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 1845
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
Post edited over 1 year ago by Left Handed Brisket.
     
Apr 08, 2017 20:22 |  #12

Azathoth wrote in post #18320862 (external link)
But i think that is dependent of the maximum aperture on the lens. If you are using a f1.4 or f1.8 lens you'll see a little brighter.

I think this probably has a lot to do with it.

Might also consider going to the fabric store, picking up some black out fabric and draping it over the back of the camera and your head. I bought four yards of it to cover my studio windows, the stuff works. Having composed medium format shots on ground glass, blocking ambient light, even with a dark towel, is a huge improvement too.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
puttick
Senior Member
Avatar
809 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 18
Joined Mar 2002
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
     
Apr 16, 2017 17:57 |  #13

I can see a fairly normal image in LV on my 5d3 with a 10-stop filter.


Nigel Puttick
North Yorkshire, UK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,739 views & 6 likes for this thread
Canon 5D3 liveview with 10-stop ND filter
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is uptohimalaya
756 guests, 319 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.