Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 14 Jul 2017 (Friday) 04:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 600D & Godox DE300 Sync Issues?

 
tyh
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jul 2017
     
Jul 14, 2017 04:14 |  #1

Hi,

I'm guessing at sync issues, anyway; just recently every single photo is either completely black or partly covered. My setup:

2 x Godox DE300 set to optical slaves
1 x Godox DE300 set as master with a generic cheapo wireless trigger connected to sync input with 3.5mm jack. You know the type: a horrible plastic thing with power pass through and four switches for setting frequency/code.

I have the camera in full manual mode and have tried exposures between 1/250 and 1/125 to see if I can catch the flash.

Without replacing the strobes, what could I do to fix this? Do I need a high-speed sync trigger or something like that?

Would something like this solve my problem? https://www.amazon.co.​uk …eceiver-kit/dp/B017HA5P82 (external link)

What about the cheaper Yongnuo? https://www.amazon.co.​uk …TTL-Trigger/dp/B00BJ4CR5C (external link)

Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Avatar
8,331 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 1641
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
     
Jul 14, 2017 06:37 |  #2

tyh wrote in post #18401725 (external link)
a generic cheapo wireless trigger connected to sync input with 3.5mm jack. You know the type: a horrible plastic thing with power pass through and four switches for setting frequency/code.

sounds like you answered your own question.

not familiar with the capabilities of your strobe, if it does HSS then one of the ones you linked should do the trick.

if it is a typical studio monopack the YN-603II should do the trick with the appropriate connection to the flash.

alternatively, you could:

1) use an on camera flash to test that the strobes are firing correctly before buying something else. Just make sure the on camera flash doesn't "pre-flash".

2) wire the camera to the strobe directly to test the strobes.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tyh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jul 2017
     
Jul 14, 2017 09:33 as a reply to  @ Left Handed Brisket's post |  #3

Thanks for the reply.

The Godox DE300 has just a simple 2-pin 3.5mm input, so I'm guessing this means it cannot do anything fancy like HSS. The trigger you mention; is it this one? https://www.amazon.co.​uk …ger-Cameras/dp/B00HOXFCDQ (external link)

And all I'd need is a PC sync -> 3.5mm cable?

I'll do the tests before I make any decisions.

Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tyh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jul 2017
     
Jul 14, 2017 09:43 |  #4

I've just tested the strobes using the built-in flash as an optical trigger, and every snap was exposed correctly.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Avatar
8,331 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 1641
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
Post edited 11 months ago by Left Handed Brisket.
     
Jul 14, 2017 09:56 |  #5

probably a trigger issue then.

i'm not familliar with the DE300 but I suspect it can be controlled remotely with the correct Godox trigger. That's the way I would go unless money is an issue or you just want to walk to the flash and change it's settings, in that case, the YN603II via mini-plug to whatever sync the strobe has would work fine. Keeping in mind the pass through shoe on the 603 is not TTL, if that is an issue to you.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Avatar
8,331 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 1641
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
Post edited 11 months ago by Left Handed Brisket.
     
Jul 14, 2017 09:59 |  #6

tyh wrote in post #18401870 (external link)
Thanks for the reply.

The Godox DE300 has just a simple 2-pin 3.5mm input, so I'm guessing this means it cannot do anything fancy like HSS. The trigger you mention; is it this one? https://www.amazon.co.​uk …ger-Cameras/dp/B00HOXFCDQ (external link)

And all I'd need is a PC sync -> 3.5mm cable?

I'll do the tests before I make any decisions.

Thanks

oh, didn't read that part.

the strobe pin/connection doesn't matter ... all that really matters is that the camera knows HSS is available through whatever trigger is in its hotshoe.

603 will not do HSS.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tyh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jul 2017
     
Jul 14, 2017 11:04 as a reply to  @ Left Handed Brisket's post |  #7

Well, whaddya know? I found a USB socket hidden under a dust cap on the side of each strobe with a little wireless logo. Apparently, the correct controller can adjust power settings wirelessly. I'll have to see if I can find a compatible Godox trigger that supports it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
That's my line!
Avatar
8,331 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 1641
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
     
Jul 14, 2017 14:05 |  #8

tyh wrote in post #18401945 (external link)
Well, whaddya know? I found a USB socket hidden under a dust cap on the side of each strobe with a little wireless logo. Apparently, the correct controller can adjust power settings wirelessly. I'll have to see if I can find a compatible Godox trigger that supports it.

assuming the DE300 is the Euro version of the US QT300, it looks like it is controlled by the FT-16 transmitter and the USB receiver thingy shown here

http://www.godox.com …udio_Flash_QT_S​eries.html (external link)

This is the same system that controls the AD360 (which I own) and that transmitter will not support HSS. The whole thing is pretty screwball, but Godox has another transmitter for the camera hotshoe that is HSS capable and works with the same USB receiver thingy. I can't remember the name of it right now, but it looks a lot like the FT-16 but has a hotshoe that seems totally useless.

Rather than use that transmitter I bought a few of the YN 622. With one on the camera hot shoe and the other connected via mini-plug I am able to shoot HSS with the AD360. Going this route allows me to also use the 622 with other HSS capable flashes.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
inkista
Senior Member
Avatar
563 posts
Likes: 49
Joined Oct 2007
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Post edited 11 months ago by inkista. (2 edits in all)
     
Jul 15, 2017 17:04 |  #9

AFAIK, the DE is a different series from the QT. And the QTII series looks to be the only one that can do HSS with the X1T triggers.

The only four Godox strobe series that have been/are being updated for direct use in the Godox X/Flashpoint R2 system with built-in X triggers are the QTII (external link), QSII (external link), SKII (external link), and DPII (external link) series lights. While you can add an XTR16 (external link) to the USB port on a lot of the other series, power control might be an issue, since a lot of the lower-end lights don't use proportional control (1, 1/2, 1/4, etc.) while that's what the X1T/XT16/XT32 triggers do.

The QT600II is also rebranded as the Flashpoint Rapid.
The SK300II and SK400II are rebranded as the Flashpoint Studio

The QSII strobes look like they're not carried by Adorama, but are carried by B&H.
The DPII strobes don't look like they're out yet.

My head spins with all this model churn.


I'm a woman. I shoot with a Fuji X100T, Panasonic GX-7, Canon 5DmkII, and 50D. flickr stream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jark89
Member
171 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2008
Post edited 11 months ago by Jark89.
     
Jul 15, 2017 23:06 |  #10

tyh wrote in post #18401945 (external link)
Well, whaddya know? I found a USB socket hidden under a dust cap on the side of each strobe with a little wireless logo. Apparently, the correct controller can adjust power settings wirelessly. I'll have to see if I can find a compatible Godox trigger that supports it.

Get the FT-16 series trigger & receiver for the DE series. You'll be able to control power, modeling light, beep from the trigger as well.

https://www.amazon.com …s-Speedlite/dp/B00Y9H99R​0 (external link)


https://www.dpreview.c​om/galleries/090508506​3 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Phil ­ V
Goldmember
1,971 posts
Likes: 71
Joined Jan 2005
Location: S Yorks UK
     
Jul 17, 2017 01:01 |  #11

Jark89 wrote in post #18403040 (external link)
Get the FT-16 series trigger & receiver for the DE series. You'll be able to control power, modeling light, beep from the trigger as well.

https://www.amazon.com …s-Speedlite/dp/B00Y9H99R​0 (external link)

This.


Gear List
website: South Yorkshire Wedding photographer in Doncaster (external link)
Twitter (external link)Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tyh
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jul 2017
     
Jul 17, 2017 05:09 |  #12

Thanks, guys.

I went with the FT-16 and 3 x FTR-16.

I was considering the X1C, which supports TTL and HSS, but then I read that the XTR-16 receivers don't support TTL commands which means I'd have to use the X1C in manual mode anyway. I guess that's because the strobes they are designed to work with don't have suitable power adjustment. It's a shame because the 600D I'm using only allows me to use Live View with a TTL-compatible unit.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,283 views & 2 likes for this thread
Canon 600D & Godox DE300 Sync Issues?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is lynx36
925 guests, 369 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.