Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 28 Sep 2008 (Sunday) 14:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What's Your Computer Build?

 
BostonBay
Member
32 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 19
Joined Aug 2014
Location: On a small lake in Western Illinois
     
Nov 16, 2017 12:55 |  #1951

Guess I will jump in...

Name: Blazr
CPU: AMD FX-8370
RAM: 8GB
HD: 55GB SSD for OS & Programs. 500GB HD for data/photos.
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6450
OS: Windows 10 Pro (Was using Linux Mint).
Motherboard: MSI A68HM-E33
Offline Storage: Verbatim 1TB NAS


Just a noob with a Rebel T3 (1100D).
www.ruralruins.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
FLiPxJB
Member
124 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 63
Joined May 2014
Location: Chino Hills, CA
     
Nov 16, 2017 19:32 as a reply to  @ post 18497591 |  #1952

Ahhhh, yea you are right! thats good to know, thank you.


| Canon 5Div | 24-70mm f/2.8L II | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II | 35mm f/1.4L II | 50mm f/1.2L | 85mm f/1.2L II | 1.4x III I Speedlite 600EX-RT (2x) | ST-E3-RT | f-stop Lotus | Manfrotto MT190GOC4TB | Acratech GPSs Ballhead |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MartinCapal
Member
Avatar
35 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 17
Joined May 2014
Location: Prague
     
Nov 18, 2017 23:58 |  #1953

For 3 yrs till last month I had Elitebook with i5, QuadroFX 1000M, 4Gb ram, 2x SSD and a good lcd panel in it - I gotta say, that laptop was from 2009 and it handled photoshop awesomely.

Now I switched to MBP 2015 with dGPU Ati R9 370X 2gb and the result is not so huge - quite disapppointed. However, MPB offers me more things I am really content with. Very SAD fact that laptops with 2009 x 2015 year difference -> 6 years and the performance is not so noticable. On the other hand Adobe is too lazy and is to blame, they make heavy applications not so optimized in terms of performance. Current LR Classic is a nice step forward but... I have a f... expensive laptop from 2015 and I dont see it flying in Photoshop.

Apple should finally wake up and offer something worth the money to all the professionals and they should provide QuadroFX graphics in their laptops.


5D Classic | 50STM | Sony Alfa7
http://www.instagram.c​om/martincapal (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Hannah'sDad
Member
Avatar
140 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 396
Joined Feb 2011
Location: Allen, TX
Post edited 7 months ago by Hannah'sDad.
     
Nov 25, 2017 12:32 as a reply to  @ post 18486914 |  #1954

Just replaced my stock HP Pavilion 810-330qe with a custom build. I was lucky enough to get one of the first I7-8700K processors. My specs:

Motherboard: ASUS Z370-E
Processor: Intel I7-8700K
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB 4 x 16GB DDR4-3200 (64GB total)
SSDs: 3 x 1TB Samsung EVO 840 (for data) and one 250GB Samsung EVO 850 for Operating System
Video: ASUS STRIX GeForce 1070
Optical Drives: HP CH30L and an LG WH16NS40 (BluRay Burner)
Monitors: HP 27xi (x2), both on HDMI
Power Supply: EVGA 750W G2 Gold
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro (64 Bit)Case: Corsair 230T
Backups: IO Safe G3 3TB and IO Safe G3 6 TB (USB 3.0)
UserBenchmark: http://www.userbenchma​rk.com/UserRun/5635475 (external link)

It's a screamer, now. I run Photoshop CC, Lightroom Classic and Adobe Premiere Pro. No gaming (no time!)

Scott

So, I finally upgraded my OEM monitors (now that I have my new PC) to 4K monitors. I got the LG 27" 27UD58-B monitors from MicroCenter in Dallas. So far, I am very pleased with them. They both calibrated easily and the match from monitor to printer is pretty spot on. One thing I really like about them is that with my NVidia 1070 card, I can run 10 bits to each monitor using the DisplayPort cable, not HDMI. So, now I think I am done. I even managed to sell the other two on Craigslist the same day I listed them! Life is good....


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Scott
Canon 5D Mark IV Gripped x 2, Canon "L" EF 11-24mm f/4L USM, Canon "L" EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM, Canon "L" 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS II USM, Canon "L" 200mm-400mm f/4 EXT, Canon "L" EF 600mm f/4L IS II USM, EF 1.4X III Extender (x2), EF 2X III, plus various other tripods, filters and bags

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,180 posts
Gallery: 158 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1715
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
Post edited 7 months ago by Methodical.
     
Nov 30, 2017 21:35 |  #1955

HERE's (external link) my build. I decided to go with the EVGA 1080Ti FTW3 Hyro Copper - still waiting for it to come back in stock. I didn't want to do the water block install this time around.


My Treasure Chest
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
barrie380gt
Junior Member
21 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 16
Joined Nov 2013
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Post edited 7 months ago by barrie380gt.
     
Dec 01, 2017 11:48 |  #1956

Phanteks P400 case glass side
Gigabyte B350 Gaming MB
Ryzen 1700X cpu
water cooler for cpu
16GB Gskill ram
asus 1060 video card
M2 SSD 256GB
2TB RED internal Hard drive for storage
Windows 10 home o/s




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Perfectly ­ Frank
I'm too sexy for my lens
3,697 posts
Gallery: 47 photos
Likes: 1143
Joined Oct 2010
     
Dec 01, 2017 12:33 |  #1957

I've been toying with the idea of a laptop for PS and later video work. I have my eye on this Lenovo Thinkpad P71.
Here's my laptop "build"...

https://www3.lenovo.co​m …hinkPad-P71/p/22TP2WPWP71 (external link)

•Processor : Intel Core i7-7700HQ Processor (6MB Cache, up to 3.80GHz)
•Operating System : Windows 10 Home 64
•Memory : 8GB DDR4 2400MHz SODIMM
•Graphic Card : NVIDIA Quadro P3000 6GB
•Color Sensor calibrator
Fingerprint Reader
•Solid State Drive : 512GB SSD PCIe MLC OPAL2
•Hard Disk Drive : 500GB 7200rpm HDD
•Optical Drive: DVD Burner
•Battery : 8 Cell Li-Ion Battery 96Wh
•Display Panel : 17.3" 4K IPS eDP 1.2 (3840x2160), 300nit, Non-Touch, 2D-Camera, Color Sensor, anti-glare

The P71 is easy to upgrade. Lenovo has official videos showing step-by-step instructions.
My do-it-myself upgrades will be to add more ram (Lenovo wants $320 to go from 8GB to 32GB), and swap out the HD for
a 2TB 7200 rpm drive.

And for 50 bucks more I can make that a 1TBGB SSD instead of 512GB. Another $200 will get me the i7 7820HQ cpu.
Although I doubt I need those upgrades.

All for $2271. Might make a nice Christmas gift for myself. ;-)a


My flickr albums (external link)
My Best Aviation Photos (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FuturamaJSP
Goldmember
Avatar
2,227 posts
Likes: 81
Joined Oct 2009
Post edited 7 months ago by FuturamaJSP.
     
Dec 16, 2017 02:43 as a reply to  @ post 18494206 |  #1958

Why vega 64 though?
I mean it's about the same price as the GTX 1080Ti and the nvidia card is far better in like everything, from content creation to gaming

http://gpu.userbenchma​rk.com …AMD-RX-Vega-64/3918vs3933 (external link)


They asked me how well I understood theoretical physics. I said I had a theoretical degree in physics. They said welcome aboard! - Fallout New Vegas
blah blah blah
DA (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
7,719 posts
Gallery: 526 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1483
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
Post edited 7 months ago by BigAl007.
     
Dec 16, 2017 05:54 |  #1959

HannahsDad wrote in post #18503871 (external link)
=Hannah'sDad;18503871]​So, I finally upgraded my OEM monitors (now that I have my new PC) to 4K monitors. I got the LG 27" 27UD58-B monitors from MicroCenter in Dallas. So far, I am very pleased with them. They both calibrated easily and the match from monitor to printer is pretty spot on. One thing I really like about them is that with my NVidia 1070 card, I can run 10 bits to each monitor using the DisplayPort cable, not HDMI. So, now I think I am done. I even managed to sell the other two on Craigslist the same day I listed them! Life is good....
thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by Hannah'sDad in
./showthread.php?p=185​03871&i=i220829865
forum: Computers


I keep reading that in order for Ps to actually use the 10 bit mode in Windows you had to be using one of the Quadro based boards. I have the Dell UP2715K monitor, which is 5K, and will only work with a limited number of cards, because to reach 5K @ 60 Hz it needs to run the monitor in two halves over a pair of DP 1.2 cables. My GTX 960 supports this, as I think do the new 1060/1070 boards. The problem is that although a basic Quadro card will support at least four 4K displays over DP 1.2, they don't support the dual paired outputs needed for the 5K monitor. I have the 10 bit selected in the driver, but I don't know if Ps is actually making use of it.

(Edit) Oh and I have just been and checked my Ps Preferences, in the Performance tab, under advanced I do have 30 bit selected.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
By-tor
Goldmember
Avatar
2,835 posts
Gallery: 492 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1327
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Emerald Isle, NC.
     
Dec 16, 2017 09:29 |  #1960

FuturamaJSP wrote in post #18519040 (external link)
Why vega 64 though?
I mean it's about the same price as the GTX 1080Ti and the nvidia card is far better in like everything, from content creation to gaming

http://gpu.userbenchma​rk.com …AMD-RX-Vega-64/3918vs3933 (external link)


Why not?

I purchased my Vega 64 2 months ago from Newegg for $460, 1080 TI is close to twice that price. Even with the EK water block its still a good price over a 1080 ti. It plays every game I have in ultra/very high with outstanding frame rates and was a great upgrade from my aging 290X. If all someone does is run synthetic benchmarks then I guess the ti would be a great card for them...


Olympus PEN-F, E-M5 mkII, E-PL5, 12-40mm, 14-150mm, 40-150mm, 17mm 1.8, 45mm 1.8, Panasonic 100-300mm 4-5.6
All the world's indeed a stage and we are merely players performers and portrayers.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
alex66
Member
220 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Feb 2006
     
Dec 18, 2017 04:19 |  #1961

I picked up an old low powered dual core to use as a back up device cost £12, had been toying with a multi drive nas but they all seem to cost as much as a basic pc. So with a load of older drives, I replace one or two drives in the main machine every year then move the older ones down the chain as back up drives. The machine has presently enough storage to back up everything from the main PC plus the family and the HTPC and being a pc it can easily be expanded. Oh and I changed over to Win 10 from a Hack and am waiting for a 6tb to put in the main PC.


Stuff
Feed Your Head

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
juliusmagno08
Junior Member
Avatar
20 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2017
     
Dec 20, 2017 16:12 |  #1962

PC specs:

Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor

Corsair H100i GTX 70.7 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler

Asus MAXIMUS VIII HERO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard

G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4-3000 Memory

(2x)Kingston Savage 240GB 2.5" Solid State Drive

Western Digital BLACK SERIES 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive

Gigabyte Aorus xtereme 1080

Dell S2716DG 27.0" 2560x1440 144Hz Monitor, 1MS and GSYNC

Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum RGB Wired Gaming Keyboard

Logitech G502 Wired Optical Mouse

Kingston HyperX Cloud II 7.1 Channel Headset

Corsair RMx 1000W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,902 posts
Likes: 192
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
     
Jan 15, 2018 18:12 |  #1963

Wow. Just built a Coffee Lake 8700 (six core i7 at 3.2 gHz) hackintosh and this thing is smoking fast. Geekbench score beats the 12 core Mac Pro.


"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chooter
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Jan 2018
     
Jan 18, 2018 15:56 |  #1964

Tony-S wrote in post #18541762 (external link)
Wow. Just built a Coffee Lake 8700 (six core i7 at 3.2 gHz) hackintosh and this thing is smoking fast. Geekbench score beats the 12 core Mac Pro.

Are the hackintosh's pretty stable these days? I remember I made one back in the day and it always drove me nuts that I couldn't update it without breaking anything. I guess that's the price to pay ( or not pay ;) ) for using your own hardware.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,902 posts
Likes: 192
Joined Jan 2006
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
     
Jan 18, 2018 17:23 |  #1965

They are easier today then they have ever been.


"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

385,950 views & 96 likes for this thread
What's Your Computer Build?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is alexjmck
421 guests, 362 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.