Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 16 Jan 2018 (Tuesday) 12:55
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 80d & Canon 580ex II Speedlight

 
firme
Senior Member
304 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2012
Location: East Chicago, IN
     
Jan 16, 2018 12:55 |  #1

I have these "connected" via pocket wizards. When doing a shoot and if camera is not used for a few minutes, then I try to use the camera the speedlight shuts off/sleeps. I have to "wake" the speedlight to resume. Was not a big deal but has started to annoy as I am not using the camera every second and have to wake the speedlight more often. Is this something that happens to speedlight for saving power? Is there something one can do to avoid this from sleeping when camera is not being used and resume without having to wake the speedlight? Thank you in advanced for the help.

Have been dabbing with photography with family events and personal photos to get in my practice. So I don't have much knowledge on the speedlight.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kmilo
Senior Member
Avatar
422 posts
Likes: 831
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Albany, NY
     
Jan 16, 2018 13:00 |  #2

custom function 10 can set the slave auto power off to 60 minutes rather than 10 mintues


Kris
Insulting critiques always welcomed. flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
firme
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
304 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2012
Location: East Chicago, IN
     
Jan 16, 2018 13:10 as a reply to  @ kmilo's post |  #3

Thank you for the help. Will definitely change to 60 minutes.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OceanRipple*
Senior Member
842 posts
Likes: 174
Joined Dec 2014
     
Jan 16, 2018 13:55 |  #4

Hi, I could easily be wrong but I thought CFn 10 applies if the remote unit is a 'Slave' as per 'Canon Wireless speak'.

If the PWs are simple non TTL types, you may need to set CFn 01 to 1 to prevent it 'Sleeping'.

Anyway, one or the other should help.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
firme
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
304 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2012
Location: East Chicago, IN
Post edited over 1 year ago by firme.
     
Jan 16, 2018 14:05 |  #5

I have the Pocket Wizard Plus II Transceiver for camera and Speedlite.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
8,075 posts
Likes: 2739
Joined Oct 2015
     
Jan 16, 2018 15:28 |  #6

OceanRipple* is correct. Set C. Fn 1 to: 1: Disabled.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
firme
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
304 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2012
Location: East Chicago, IN
Post edited over 1 year ago by firme. (2 edits in all)
     
Jan 16, 2018 15:30 |  #7

Thanks guys for the help. If batteries are replaced does that get reset and have to do over again? If so, I can handle this versus having to wake up multiple times.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Left ­ Handed ­ Brisket
Combating camera shame since 1977...
Avatar
9,897 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Likes: 2365
Joined Jun 2011
Location: The Uwharrie Mts, NC
Post edited over 1 year ago by Left Handed Brisket.
     
Jan 16, 2018 22:01 |  #8

I've never used PW but are you sure a half press on the shutter release doesn't wake the flash?

That works with the relatively inexpensive YN 622

Edit: never mind, I see these are not TTL hot shoe units, rather, they are made for studio strobes.


PSA: The above post may contain sarcasm, reply at your own risk | Not in gear database: Auto Sears 50mm 2.0 / 3x CL-360, Nikon SB-28, SunPak auto 322 D, Minolta 20

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
firme
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
304 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2012
Location: East Chicago, IN
     
Jan 17, 2018 02:51 |  #9

My primary use of the PW are used with my lights: https://www.shutterbug​.com/images/0313speeda​tron01.jpg (external link)

Here I don't have any problem when using with the camera as it fires every time I use the camera even between breaks.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,592 views & 2 likes for this thread
Canon 80d & Canon 580ex II Speedlight
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is noradenz
915 guests, 250 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.