Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 11 Feb 2018 (Sunday) 08:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Windows 7 and 10 Now U C it now U don't

 
russellsnr2
Goldmember
Avatar
1,008 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Greek Island of Rhodes.. Ex. Sussex @ Cumbria
     
Feb 11, 2018 08:23 |  #1

Hi, some help please. I have two computers, one runs Win 10 the other Win 7. The Win 7 sees my camera 70D via Lightroom 6 and Rocal but does not see my 6D. My Win 10 only has Rocal installed and sees both the cameras so something wrong on the Win 7 but cannot see it.
Thanks for any help,
Russ


Many Thanks,
Russell.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
photosbytw
Goldmember
Avatar
1,258 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 896
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains
     
Feb 11, 2018 08:35 |  #2

I use a iMac so I'm not able to give too much help.............but I have experience the same problem. It was LR, when I couldn't get newer cameras to work. In every case, I had to upgrade LR and did so until I was forced to rent Adobe's CC as there will be no new upgrades to the standalone versions of LR. That said............is your version of LR have all available updates? As Adobe would send updates when the camera mfg's added to, or updated, their line


Don't even begin to think I'm criticizing your images.
Just a natural curiosity.
tw
www.photosbytw.net

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
russellsnr2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,008 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Greek Island of Rhodes.. Ex. Sussex @ Cumbria
     
Feb 11, 2018 09:11 |  #3

photosbytw wrote in post #18561303 (external link)
I use a iMac so I'm not able to give too much help.............but I have experience the same problem. It was LR, when I couldn't get newer cameras to work. In every case, I had to upgrade LR and did so until I was forced to rent Adobe's CC as there will be no new upgrades to the standalone versions of LR. That said............is your version of LR have all available updates? As Adobe would send updates when the camera mfg's added to, or updated, their line

Hi, Thankyou for the reply. My L/R is the perpetual and is up to date. Russ


Many Thanks,
Russell.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
photosbytw
Goldmember
Avatar
1,258 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 896
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Blue Ridge Mountains
     
Feb 11, 2018 09:13 |  #4

russellsnr2 wrote in post #18561310 (external link)
Hi, Thankyou for the reply. My L/R is the perpetual and is up to date. Russ

I'm sorry........perpetual​?


Don't even begin to think I'm criticizing your images.
Just a natural curiosity.
tw
www.photosbytw.net

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
3,226 posts
Likes: 357
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Feb 11, 2018 09:49 |  #5

When you first plug in the camera, Windows should see it as removable storage and you should see the camera’s SD as an additional drive. When you plug in the 6D, does this happen with your Windows 7? If not, you may need to download and install Canon software


Canon 5D mk III , 7D mk II
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
russellsnr2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,008 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Greek Island of Rhodes.. Ex. Sussex @ Cumbria
     
Feb 11, 2018 10:17 |  #6

davesrose wrote in post #18561334 (external link)
When you first plug in the camera, Windows should see it as removable storage and you should see the camera’s SD as an additional drive. When you plug in the 6D, does this happen with your Windows 7? If not, you may need to download and install Canon software

Hi, Yes windows sees it and launches the option as to what to use (I have it at TAKE NO ACTION) I also have QDSLRDashboard on the Win 7 and that when I launch and choose USB conect works as it should. What I cannot figure is that when I plug in the 70D it works fine. Thanks, Russ


Many Thanks,
Russell.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
3,226 posts
Likes: 357
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Feb 11, 2018 10:28 as a reply to  @ russellsnr2's post |  #7

Yes, since the Canon 6D came out before the 70D, you'd think both should work fine. Since Windows 7 sees the cameras, it has to be something with the Adobe software. Maybe re-install Lightroom 6 and make sure it gets updated.


Canon 5D mk III , 7D mk II
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
russellsnr2
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,008 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 78
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Greek Island of Rhodes.. Ex. Sussex @ Cumbria
     
Feb 11, 2018 11:24 as a reply to  @ davesrose's post |  #8

Give that a go 2morrow. Thanks, Russ


Many Thanks,
Russell.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

714 views & 1 like for this thread
Windows 7 and 10 Now U C it now U don't
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is daisan
920 guests, 429 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.