Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Camera Vs. Camera 
Thread started 21 Feb 2018 (Wednesday) 04:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5d mk3 Problem

 
Goggs
Senior Member
Avatar
349 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 137
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Dundee Bonnie Scotland
     
Feb 21, 2018 04:28 |  #1

Hi Folks I have a quick question. Why suddenly does my 5d mk3 only write some of the images to the card. When the images are captured you can see them on the rear screen. But when you put the card in the computer they are not there. Put the card back in the camera to view on the rear screen and they are not there. I have changed cards and it has happened on another card as well.
Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Gordon.


EOS 5D mkiii EOS 7Dmkii EOS 7D+BG E7 Grip.17-40 L. 24-105 L IS. 70-200 L F2.8 IS. Canon 85L f1.2 mkii Canon 100L f2.8 IS macro Canon 100 - 400L is MKii. Canon 600 EX-RT.Canon 430 EX MKII, canon 50mm F1.8 mk1 lens,10 stop B+W ND filter
http://www.gordonbaird​photography.co.uk/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
33,277 posts
Gallery: 72 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3539
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
     
Feb 21, 2018 04:48 |  #2

Have you tried a new card?


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Goggs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
349 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 137
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Dundee Bonnie Scotland
     
Feb 21, 2018 04:53 |  #3

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18568830 (external link)
Have you tried a new card?

Hi Yes I have used different cards and the same thing.


EOS 5D mkiii EOS 7Dmkii EOS 7D+BG E7 Grip.17-40 L. 24-105 L IS. 70-200 L F2.8 IS. Canon 85L f1.2 mkii Canon 100L f2.8 IS macro Canon 100 - 400L is MKii. Canon 600 EX-RT.Canon 430 EX MKII, canon 50mm F1.8 mk1 lens,10 stop B+W ND filter
http://www.gordonbaird​photography.co.uk/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
904canon
Member
121 posts
Likes: 15
Joined Dec 2012
Location: NY
     
Feb 21, 2018 05:08 |  #4

Do you have the latest firmware update? Firmware Version 1.3.5




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Goggs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
349 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 137
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Dundee Bonnie Scotland
     
Feb 21, 2018 05:29 |  #5

904canon wrote in post #18568838 (external link)
Do you have the latest firmware update? Firmware Version 1.3.5

yip done the firmware 135 update after it done this the first time.


EOS 5D mkiii EOS 7Dmkii EOS 7D+BG E7 Grip.17-40 L. 24-105 L IS. 70-200 L F2.8 IS. Canon 85L f1.2 mkii Canon 100L f2.8 IS macro Canon 100 - 400L is MKii. Canon 600 EX-RT.Canon 430 EX MKII, canon 50mm F1.8 mk1 lens,10 stop B+W ND filter
http://www.gordonbaird​photography.co.uk/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
33,277 posts
Gallery: 72 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 3539
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
Post edited 3 months ago by TeamSpeed.
     
Feb 21, 2018 05:39 |  #6

Goggs wrote in post #18568831 (external link)
Hi Yes I have used different cards and the same thing.

I really meant have you bought a new card and tried it, just to rule out an OS thing on the old cards and old reader. Have you tried to format the cards, and also have you tried a different card reader, or different computer? The idea here is to completely rule out cards and the computer and the reader as culprits to point squarely to the 5D3 as the issue.

Also for clarification...

When you take a picture, and it writes it to the card (SD or CF?), are you able to move between all the pictures on the camera and view them? It is only after you take the card out and put it into a reader that when it goes back, there are no files? If that is the case, this certainly doesn't seem like a camera issue.

You can rule out the camera as the issue too by plugging a USB cable from the computer to the camera and view the images that way without messing with the card. If the computer doesn't see the files, that would lead to a Canon problem.


Past Equipment | My Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Goggs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
349 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 137
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Dundee Bonnie Scotland
Post edited 3 months ago by Goggs.
     
Feb 21, 2018 06:47 |  #7

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18568849 (external link)
I really meant have you bought a new card and tried it, just to rule out an OS thing on the old cards and old reader. Have you tried to format the cards, and also have you tried a different card reader, or different computer? The idea here is to completely rule out cards and the computer and the reader as culprits to point squarely to the 5D3 as the issue.

Also for clarification...

When you take a picture, and it writes it to the card (SD or CF?), are you able to move between all the pictures on the camera and view them? It is only after you take the card out and put it into a reader that when it goes back, there are no files? If that is the case, this certainly doesn't seem like a camera issue.

You can rule out the camera as the issue too by plugging a USB cable from the computer to the camera and view the images that way without messing with the card. If the computer doesn't see the files, that would lead to a Canon problem.


Hi Mate.
I have two new cards (SD), I will try a different computer as the SD card plugs in to it without a reader. When I take a pictures I am able to move between them on the camera. I may take 100 photos and only about 25 are there when viewed on the laptop. But this is a intermittent thing It only occurs sometime.

But I cant have that happening during a wedding :( :(.

I will try the usb cable and see how I go. Thank you for taking the time to reply I do appreciate it.


EOS 5D mkiii EOS 7Dmkii EOS 7D+BG E7 Grip.17-40 L. 24-105 L IS. 70-200 L F2.8 IS. Canon 85L f1.2 mkii Canon 100L f2.8 IS macro Canon 100 - 400L is MKii. Canon 600 EX-RT.Canon 430 EX MKII, canon 50mm F1.8 mk1 lens,10 stop B+W ND filter
http://www.gordonbaird​photography.co.uk/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

453 views & 3 likes for this thread
5d mk3 Problem
FORUMS General Gear Talk Camera Vs. Camera 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is norm281049
809 guests, 414 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.