Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 20 Oct 2017 (Friday) 10:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

So if we are done with LR, whats our choices?

 
Scoobert
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,055 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 167
Joined Feb 2013
Location: Iowa
     
Feb 20, 2018 17:06 |  #331

agedbriar wrote in post #18568128 (external link)
:lol::lol::lol: I owe you a beer for that!

Well you can pay me for the coke that came out of my nose instead.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jason ­ C
Goldmember
4,749 posts
Gallery: 327 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 1083
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Calabasas, CA
     
Feb 20, 2018 20:14 |  #332

LR has been going downhill since version 3...


jason


Equipment & Feedback
"I am not interested in shooting new things-I am interested to see things new"--Ernst Haas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Archibald
You must be quackers!
Avatar
6,946 posts
Gallery: 256 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 8646
Joined May 2008
Location: Calgary
     
Feb 20, 2018 21:12 |  #333

Jason C wrote in post #18568678 (external link)
LR has been going downhill since version 3...


jason

Heh heh, totally. That's why everybody is using it and they have a stranglehold on the market. :-D


Pentax Spotmatic F with 28/3.5, 50/1.4, 50/1.8, 135/3.5; Canon digital gear
C&C always welcome.
Picture editing OK
Donate to POTN here

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
13,690 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Likes: 6811
Joined Oct 2009
     
Feb 21, 2018 04:18 |  #334

Their only strangle hold on me is LR gives me the best fine detail at extreme crops. This was the only reason I stayed with it. I don't have the big lenses so I have to rely on cropping. There was a bit of a challenge at FM between C1 and LR with an extreme crop and I know what I liked better. When I can find a match or better then I will reconsider.

I still have 7.1 and I'm on a 4 GB single core MacBook Air. I have not really noticed anything detrimental editing the last few days. I will go to 7.2 when I get home on the big machine and see.
I did follow Adobe's recommendations to optimize LR and made changes to the way I set things up.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
13,690 posts
Gallery: 12 photos
Likes: 6811
Joined Oct 2009
     
Feb 21, 2018 04:43 |  #335

This person says says 7.2 has no performance issues and says it has been improved.

http://www.fredmiranda​.com/forum/topic/15316​57 (external link)


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
clipper_from_oz
Goldmember
Avatar
2,320 posts
Likes: 7121
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Post edited 6 months ago by clipper_from_oz. (8 edits in all)
     
Feb 21, 2018 05:33 |  #336

digital paradise wrote in post #18568829 (external link)
This person says says 7.2 has no performance issues and says it has been improved.

http://www.fredmiranda​.com/forum/topic/15316​57 (external link)


The guys test was a non test . One tool at a time wont tax the system. . It doesnt slow from that sort of super light use

Lightroom has problems when a lot of tools are used on same Raw image in the Lightroom develop module

An edit example for one image such as a landscape or a wildlife shot of a bird in flight could be:-

Global edits first
1. Crop,
2.wb adjustment and color saturation/vibrance adjustment
3 Exposure adjustment
4. Highlight adjustment
5. Black Point adjustment
6.Sharpening and NR*******. This is what kills a multiple tool image if its done at global level before brushes are used..
7. Lens correction

Local edits second (local edits done with brush tool to edit selected areas that global cannot fix without wrecking other areas)
1. dodge and burn in selected areas to fix highlights and shadows 2-3xtool brush
2. Sharpen selected area like birds eye or human eye with the addition of some minor local noise reduction 2x brush tool
4. Minor dust heal or clone edit 2xbrush tool
5. If landscape maybe some graduated highlight adjustment using graduated tool for sky etc . 1x Graduated Filter Tool
6. Adjustmment of individual color like blue for sky or green for trees etc etc

Final maybe add slight vignette etc to enhance image and then export. 1x vignette tool

By now it will be slowing down to point of lagging badly when using brushs to point of being unuseable for commercial work.. Its not hard and fast either when it happens or which systems are better or worse to run this test on .

And this example I gave above is not a heavy develop edit example for many people. Its just a normal edit for myself if Im are doing things like prortraiture, Wildlife ( especially birds) etcetc.


When I have time I will post a video showing how bad this module is .


Clipper
5DSR,5DMkII,Fuji XPRO1,X-T1&X-T20,Fotoman 6x17cm Large Format Panorama Camera,Mamiya Universal 6x9
Canon EF 16-35mm f4 L, 17mm TSE f4 L,50mm f1.4, 24-70 f2.8 L, 70-200mm F4 L, 85mm f1.8, 100-400mm II L,
EF 400mm f2.8 IS II L, Fujinon XF18mmf2, XF35mmf1.4, XF60mm f2, XF18-55f2.8-4.5, XF55-200f4
Rodenstock, Sinar& Nikkor LF lens for Pano (75,95,150+210mm)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,754 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 356
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Feb 21, 2018 11:54 |  #337

Jason C wrote in post #18568678 (external link)
LR has been going downhill since version 3...


jason

I've been using Light room since version 3, and your claim is strange to say the least. While new functionality from version to version has been somewhat sparse, each new version performs better than the previous one.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab, Elements 15

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,754 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 356
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Feb 21, 2018 11:57 |  #338

digital paradise wrote in post #18568820 (external link)
Their only strangle hold on me is LR gives me the best fine detail at extreme crops. This was the only reason I stayed with it. I don't have the big lenses so I have to rely on cropping. There was a bit of a challenge at FM between C1 and LR with an extreme crop and I know what I liked better. When I can find a match or better then I will reconsider.

I still have 7.1 and I'm on a 4 GB single core MacBook Air. I have not really noticed anything detrimental editing the last few days. I will go to 7.2 when I get home on the big machine and see.
I did follow Adobe's recommendations to optimize LR and made changes to the way I set things up.

In my experience, the fine detail from DXO Photolab for extreme crops is far better, at least on raw files from my 7D Mark II


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab, Elements 15

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jason ­ C
Goldmember
4,749 posts
Gallery: 327 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 1083
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Calabasas, CA
     
Feb 21, 2018 12:29 |  #339

mwsilver wrote in post #18569035 (external link)
I've been using Light room since version 3, and your claim is strange to say the least. While new functionality from version to version has been somewhat sparse, each new version performs better than the previous one.

From my LR usage and experience, each successive Version from V.3 has both increasingly run sluggish and taxed my increasingly upgraded computers. That, too me, is a downgrade.

Your mileage may vary.


jason


Equipment & Feedback
"I am not interested in shooting new things-I am interested to see things new"--Ernst Haas

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,754 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 356
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Feb 21, 2018 12:40 |  #340

Jason C wrote in post #18569073 (external link)
From my LR usage and experience, each successive Version from V.3 has both increasingly run sluggish and taxed my increasingly upgraded computers. That, too me, is a downgrade.

Your mileage may vary.

jason

Yep, that is valid. My experience is much different than yours but each of us may do things in different ways. Having said that I hardly use Lightroom any more since I've started using DXO Photolab Elite which for my purposes gives me much better results in far less time.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab, Elements 15

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeDee
Senior Member
Avatar
583 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Likes: 219
Joined Apr 2011
Location: Boston - MetroWest
     
Feb 21, 2018 12:51 |  #341

clipper_from_oz wrote in post #18568846 (external link)
The guys test was a non test . One tool at a time wont tax the system. . It doesnt slow from that sort of super light use

Lightroom has problems when a lot of tools are used on same Raw image in the Lightroom develop module ie.

An edit example for one image such as a landscape or a wildlife shot of a bird in flight could be

Global edit first

1. Crop,
2.wb adjustment and color saturation/vibrance adjustment
3 Exposure adjustment
4. Highlight adjustment
5. Black Point adjustment
6.Sharpening and NR*******. This is what kills a multiple tool image if its done at global level before brushes are used..
7. Lens correction

Then a few local edits with brush tool to edit selected areas that global cannot fix without wrecking other areas
1. dodge and burn in selected areas to fix highlights and shadows 2-3xtool brush
2. Sharpen selected area like birds eye or human eye with the addition of some minor local noise reduction 2x brush tool
4. Minor dust heal or clone edit 2xbrush tool
5. If landscape maybe some graduated highlight adjustment using graduated tool for sky etc . 1x Graduated Filter Tool
6. Adjustmment of individual color like blue for sky or green for trees etc etc

Final maybe add slight vignette etc to enhance image and then export. 1x vignette tool

By now it will be slowing down to point of lagging badly when using brushs to point of being unuseable for commercial work.. Its not hard and fast either when it happens or which systems are better or worse to run this test on .

And this example I gave above is not a heavy develop edit example for many people. Its just a normal edit for myself if Im are doing things like prortraiture, Wildlife ( especially birds) etcetc.

When I have time I will post a video showing how bad this module is .

I was having a very similar experience until I increased the cache size from the default 1GB. The difference for me was night and day. Try it, it might help.

See instructions below.

Optimizing LR here... (external link)

Increase the Camera Raw cache size

Every time you view or edit raw images in the Develop module, Lightroom generates up-to-date, high-quality previews. It uses the original image data as its foundation, and then updates the preview for any processing or adjustments that have been applied. The process is a little faster if the original image data is in the Camera Raw cache. Lightroom checks the cache for the original image data and can skip early stage processing if the image data is cached.

By default, Lightroom sets the Camera Raw cache to 1 GB. If you increase the cache size, it can store more image data, which in turn speeds the generation of previews of those images. Some Lightroom users find that increasing the Camera Raw cache to 20 GB or more can dramatically speed performance in the Develop module. To increase the Camera Raw cache size, do the following:

Choose Lightroom > Preferences (Mac OS) or Edit > Preferences (Windows).

Click the File Handling tab.

In the Camera Raw Cache Settings area, experiment with a Maximum Size of 10.0 GB or more.


5D III | 80D | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 L II | Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 L II | Canon 100mm f/2.8 Macro | Canon 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM | Canon 55-250 f/4-5.6 IS STM | Ʃ 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM C | Tokina 11-20mm f/2.8 | Metz 50 AF-1 | Yongnuo YN 560 III/IV | Flashpoint AD360 | The Rest of My Gear | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
clipper_from_oz
Goldmember
Avatar
2,320 posts
Likes: 7121
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
     
Feb 21, 2018 18:25 |  #342

MikeDee wrote in post #18569104 (external link)
I was having a very similar experience until I increased the cache size from the default 1GB. The difference for me was night and day. Try it, it might help.

See instructions below.

Optimizing LR here... (external link)

Increase the Camera Raw cache size

Every time you view or edit raw images in the Develop module, Lightroom generates up-to-date, high-quality previews. It uses the original image data as its foundation, and then updates the preview for any processing or adjustments that have been applied. The process is a little faster if the original image data is in the Camera Raw cache. Lightroom checks the cache for the original image data and can skip early stage processing if the image data is cached.

By default, Lightroom sets the Camera Raw cache to 1 GB. If you increase the cache size, it can store more image data, which in turn speeds the generation of previews of those images. Some Lightroom users find that increasing the Camera Raw cache to 20 GB or more can dramatically speed performance in the Develop module. To increase the Camera Raw cache size, do the following:

Choose Lightroom > Preferences (Mac OS) or Edit > Preferences (Windows).

Click the File Handling tab.

In the Camera Raw Cache Settings area, experiment with a Maximum Size of 10.0 GB or more.


yes I heard that could be an issue so a couple of weeks ago I raised my cache yet again from 20 to 40Gig. Still no change

BTW I ALso heard that disabling plugins may help because even though they may not be active they are scanned by the system. That has helped marginally however not enough to stop the serious lagging etc when the previous posted edit conditions are in play.

rgds


Clipper
5DSR,5DMkII,Fuji XPRO1,X-T1&X-T20,Fotoman 6x17cm Large Format Panorama Camera,Mamiya Universal 6x9
Canon EF 16-35mm f4 L, 17mm TSE f4 L,50mm f1.4, 24-70 f2.8 L, 70-200mm F4 L, 85mm f1.8, 100-400mm II L,
EF 400mm f2.8 IS II L, Fujinon XF18mmf2, XF35mmf1.4, XF60mm f2, XF18-55f2.8-4.5, XF55-200f4
Rodenstock, Sinar& Nikkor LF lens for Pano (75,95,150+210mm)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scott ­ M
Goldmember
3,118 posts
Gallery: 56 photos
Likes: 211
Joined May 2008
Location: Michigan
     
Feb 22, 2018 07:47 |  #343

mwsilver wrote in post #18569037 (external link)
In my experience, the fine detail from DXO Photolab for extreme crops is far better, at least on raw files from my 7D Mark II

I have not done any direct comparisons of crops between PL and LR for this, but I was very happy with the crops I created using PhotoLab recently -- both with my 7D2 and 5D3.

BTW, I created a support ticket with DxO to see if it was possible to globally delete all photos tagged as rejected, as can be done in Lightroom. DxO support confirmed this was not currently possible, but the support analyst did say he would send my suggestion to the development team for consideration in a future upgrade.


Photo Gallery (external link)
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,754 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 356
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
Post edited 6 months ago by mwsilver.
     
Feb 22, 2018 10:40 |  #344

Scott M wrote in post #18569647 (external link)
I have not done any direct comparisons of crops between PL and LR for this, but I was very happy with the crops I created using PhotoLab recently -- both with my 7D2 and 5D3.

BTW, I created a support ticket with DxO to see if it was possible to globally delete all photos tagged as rejected, as can be done in Lightroom. DxO support confirmed this was not currently possible, but the support analyst did say he would send my suggestion to the development team for consideration in a future upgrade.

I love Photolab but there are a number Lightroom's features l wish they would add. I also like the feature rich Lightroom Print module. Lightroom's interface and options seem a little bit more mature and sophisticated then Photolab's, but you've got to love Photolab's ease of use and end results.

I'm looking forward to the integration of the NIK software in the next version.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab, Elements 15

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sploo
premature adulation
2,333 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 427
Joined Nov 2011
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
     
Feb 22, 2018 17:48 as a reply to  @ mwsilver's post |  #345

Jason C wrote in post #18569073 (external link)
From my LR usage and experience, each successive Version from V.3 has both increasingly run sluggish and taxed my increasingly upgraded computers. That, too me, is a downgrade.

Your mileage may vary.

Whenever I've looked into LR performance issues it's always (as a software engineer) given me the gist that they have a large legacy code base, with some likely not that well understood legacy functions.

I've seen too many reports over the years from people (sometimes with really high end systems) finding that LR crawls for some operations; with no one seemingly able to explain why, or fix it.

In general it works OK for me (I have the last standalone version, LR6), but I've never bothered upgrading my graphics card to something more powerful as I've not got much confidence it'd work better, and it would be entirely possible I made it worse.


Camera, some lenses, too little time, too little talent

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

73,797 views & 130 likes for this thread
So if we are done with LR, whats our choices?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Robert Sorbello
400 guests, 381 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.