Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 09 Mar 2018 (Friday) 13:09
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Laptop Monitor Display Issues

 
SYS
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,966 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1040
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
Post edited 3 months ago by SYS.
     
Mar 09, 2018 13:09 |  #1

A few months ago I opted to go with Dell XPS 13 as my new laptop for portability. While I knew that I'd have to compromise somewhat on photo editing with LR and PS with this laptop, it's been actually working out quite satisfactorily thus far. However, one issue that's been driving me crazy is that whenever I open the PS (I have CS4 Extended version), all icons, functions, fonts, numbers, etc., they're so tiny that I have a hard time even trying to use my mouse to get to each function. When I'm trying to resize the image resolution, for example, it's a challenge to read the numbers in the box. I did try changing the font size in Dell, but that messes up by universal application of the change. The UI in PS has always been set to "Large." Is there any other way to resize just the PS window display? Or is this an non-fixable problem?



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear & DIYs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davesrose
Title Fairy still hasn't visited me!
3,226 posts
Likes: 357
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Mar 09, 2018 19:18 |  #2

Adobe CC natively supports hiDPI scaling (the app will scale its font size to your desktop font size). With Windows 10, the first thing I would try is going to your photoshop.exe program and right clicking and then select properties. In the properties, select compatibility and then enable "Override high DPI scaling behavior. Scaling performed by:" and then select "System(Enhanced)". Windows will try to scale your old version of PS. I find this new compatibility setting to look the best for scaling old apps.

With previous versions of Windows, you had to do a hack which would magnify the fonts and icons (so they don't look as crisp as the new Windows 10 scaling features). If the Windows 10 compatibility setting doesn't work....here's the old method for hacking a font magnification:

Adobe App Scaling on High DPI Displays (FIX) (external link)


Canon 5D mk III , 7D mk II
EF 135mm 2.0L, EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS II, EF 24-70 2.8L II, EF 50mm 1.4, EF 100mm 2.8L Macro, EF 16-35mm 4L IS, Sigma 150-600mm C, 580EX, 600EX-RT, MeFoto Globetrotter tripod, grips, Black Rapid RS-7, CAMS plate and strap system, Lowepro Flipside 500 AW, and a few other things...
smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SYS
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,966 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1040
Joined Jul 2004
Location: Gilligan's Island
     
Mar 09, 2018 19:43 |  #3

davesrose wrote in post #18581317 (external link)
Adobe CC natively supports hiDPI scaling (the app will scale its font size to your desktop font size). With Windows 10, the first thing I would try is going to your photoshop.exe program and right clicking and then select properties. In the properties, select compatibility and then enable "Override high DPI scaling behavior. Scaling performed by:" and then select "System(Enhanced)". Windows will try to scale your old version of PS. I find this new compatibility setting to look the best for scaling old apps.

With previous versions of Windows, you had to do a hack which would magnify the fonts and icons (so they don't look as crisp as the new Windows 10 scaling features). If the Windows 10 compatibility setting doesn't work....here's the old method for hacking a font magnification:

Adobe App Scaling on High DPI Displays (FIX) (external link)

Thank you very much. Your instruction worked! Before reading your post, I actually tried the old hacking method that you linked to without success. :-)



"Life is short, art is long..."
-Goethe
My Gear & DIYs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

538 views & 1 like for this thread
Laptop Monitor Display Issues
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is daisan
918 guests, 428 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.