Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 14 Mar 2018 (Wednesday) 03:18
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help a Win 10 newbie

 
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
4,860 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 1741
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Mar 14, 2018 03:18 |  #1

3 days into Win 10 for the first time.
I am searching for a solution...

How do I get rid of this annoying window (with dark surround in centre) ?

IMAGE: https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4782/40801974871_24617ec5cb_o.jpg

Dave
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/12185187@N00/
5D4, 1D4, 1DS2. Canon, Sigma lenses
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
nardes
Goldmember
1,051 posts
Gallery: 141 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 3408
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Australia
     
Mar 14, 2018 06:05 |  #2

It looks like you are Batch Processing CR2 to JPG files in DPP4.

When I have done this in Win 10 Pro with DPP4, the "Digital Photo Professional 4" Window remain open whilst the batch process runs and only offers the option to "Exit" when all the files have been batch processed. The Window reports in real time how many files have been processed and will also report on any Errors encountered.

On my PC the DPP4 Window just sits there and cannot be minimised although I can still launch applications from e.g. the Task bar.

Cheers

Dennis




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,943 posts
Likes: 468
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Mar 14, 2018 06:06 |  #3

I'm not in front of my PC but have you explored the Preferences tab. I think you go to Tools, then Preferences.

Also, why do you want to get rid of the progress screen? Is it up too long? Perhaps another issue?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
4,860 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 1741
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Mar 14, 2018 06:14 |  #4

Thanks for help.

It's not the progress window for DPP I'm talking about. That's to the left and is normal. It's the window in centre, with dark border. It has 3 windows within it, one of which is another DPP progress window.

I finally clicked (literally) what causes it - left 'body' click on new Logitech mouse. I'm still trying to find out what the window is, ie what it's called.


Dave
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/12185187@N00/
5D4, 1D4, 1DS2. Canon, Sigma lenses
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
4,860 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 1741
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Mar 14, 2018 06:27 |  #5

Normal (during DPP batch)

IMAGE: https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4776/40804100811_a123973f74_o.jpg

Unwanted extra window:
DPP irrelevant, the unwanted window is just a combined 'all windows / apps open'
IMAGE: https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4776/40762089552_d1a5c0ff34_o.jpg

Dave
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/12185187@N00/
5D4, 1D4, 1DS2. Canon, Sigma lenses
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crofter
Member
185 posts
Likes: 97
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Weardale UK
     
Mar 14, 2018 07:35 |  #6

That should be minimized in the task bar at the bottom,you must have some sort of floating taskbar.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/70718847@N02/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
THREAD ­ STARTER
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
4,860 posts
Gallery: 84 photos
Likes: 1741
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Mar 14, 2018 08:37 |  #7

Virtual Desktop!
That is the option I disabled using Logitech Software for mouse. No more annoying window.


https://www.howtogeek.​com …l-desktops-in-windows-10/ (external link)


Dave
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/12185187@N00/
5D4, 1D4, 1DS2. Canon, Sigma lenses
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

710 views & 1 like for this thread
Help a Win 10 newbie
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Elemental13
769 guests, 289 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.