Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 May 2018 (Saturday) 21:43
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6D Mark II - Forgetting settings?

 
chvvkumar
Member
Avatar
203 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 1002
Joined Oct 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
     
May 05, 2018 21:43 |  #1

I am not sure I am missing a setting somewhere, but my 6D MKII (bought new in November '17) seems to be forgetting settings during stand-by.

For example, I set up the AF to single point, drive mode to high-speed. If I let the camera sleep after some time of inactivity, the settings change to AF: Zone and drive to single shot once the camera is woken up by pressing a button.

Is there a setting I have missed that says reset these parameters after sleep? I see there are settings to reset certain functions (like HDR and bracketing) after turning the camera off but those are disabled.

Thanks!


www.kumarchalla.com

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,822 posts
Likes: 209
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 06, 2018 14:20 |  #2

The most common mistake people do, when this occurs, is that they shoot using a Custom mode, instead of a primary mode. Make sure you use Tv or Av or something like that, not C1 or C2 etc.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nqjudo
Goldmember
Avatar
2,859 posts
Likes: 830
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Canada
     
May 06, 2018 14:26 |  #3

If you are in a custom mode you can have the camera remember your changes by setting the 'change auto update set' option to enable.


No photographer is as good as the simplest camera. - Edward Steichen.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chvvkumar
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
203 posts
Gallery: 79 photos
Likes: 1002
Joined Oct 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
     
May 06, 2018 15:13 |  #4

apersson850 wrote in post #18620661 (external link)
The most common mistake people do, when this occurs, is that they shoot using a Custom mode, instead of a primary mode. Make sure you use Tv or Av or something like that, not C1 or C2 etc.


nqjudo wrote in post #18620666 (external link)
If you are in a custom mode you can have the camera remember your changes by setting the 'change auto update set' option to enable.


You were correct! I was setting up the C mode with auto update disabled and forgot to switch back to Tv mode.

Thank you so much!


www.kumarchalla.com

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
johnf3f
Goldmember
Avatar
3,888 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 571
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Wales
     
May 07, 2018 17:33 |  #5

Not quite so sure!

I don't have a 6D2 but I do have a 1DX (and 7D2).

On Wednesday my 1Dx was in AF case 2 - I have never set the camera in this mode! It has been in a modified version of Mode 5 for over 3 years.

On Saturday my 7D2 was focusing with the shutter release button - I disabled this before I even put a lens on this camera!

Either way the issue with my 1Dx cost me a number of shots on a VERY rare (Green Heron) visitor to South Wales! = not happy. The problem with my 7D2 appeared at the same location?!?!

Is it aliens/or is it Pembrokeshire??:twisted:


Life is for living, cameras are to capture it (one day I will learn how!).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,822 posts
Likes: 209
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 08, 2018 03:28 |  #6

That must be gremlins.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

559 views & 4 likes for this thread
6D Mark II - Forgetting settings?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Bill_NY
793 guests, 392 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.