Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 15 Jun 2018 (Friday) 12:00
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon Rebel T6 EOS 1300 D Beginner - Need Help troubleshooting

 
mdutoit
Hatchling
Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jun 2018
Location: Vacaville, US
     
Jun 15, 2018 12:00 |  #1

Hi All,

I am just getting into photography after having taken some classes 10+ years ago. I just purchased a Canon Rebel T6 EOS 1300 D and I am having some issues. When I go to capture a picture, in any mode, I get a 'Busy' error pop up and the picture does not take. I've combed through the user manual and can't find anywhere where this is addressed.

Has anyone experienced this issue and know how to resolve?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Melissa




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
mcoren
Senior Member
Avatar
624 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 303
Joined Mar 2015
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
     
Jun 15, 2018 12:20 |  #2

Hi Melissa,

Welcome to PoTN! The first thing I would do is make sure your memory card isn’t write protected. There’s a little switch on the side of the card that controls it. I don’t recall off hand which way is which, but there’s likely to be a little icon or something on the label nearby.

While you’re looking at that, make sure the gold contacts on the card are clean. You can clean them with a Q-tip and a little isopropyl alcohol. Make sure everything’s dry before you put the card back in.

Do you have a different memory card you can try?

Mike


Canon EOS 7D Mark II, EOS M5, and EOS 100 (film SLR)
A bunch of Canon lenses and a couple of Sigmas
A backpack, a bicycle, and a pair of hiking boots

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itsallart
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,405 posts
Gallery: 700 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 7261
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Near Dallas
     
Jun 15, 2018 12:25 |  #3

mdutoit wrote in post #18645827 (external link)
Hi All,

I am just getting into photography after having taken some classes 10+ years ago. I just purchased a Canon Rebel T6 EOS 1300 D and I am having some issues. When I go to capture a picture, in any mode, I get a 'Busy' error pop up and the picture does not take. I've combed through the user manual and can't find anywhere where this is addressed.

Has anyone experienced this issue and know how to resolve?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Melissa

Hi, sorry to hear about your issues.
I assume the camera is brand new.
Try to reset your camera.
Low formatting the card may help, too.
Sometimes some settings like noise reduction etc can mess up the system.
Cleaning the lens contacts with a very soft cloth may also help.

Good luck and let us know how it went.


Renata
Seeing lights and shadows is an art :)
Renata Sharman (external link)Tanami Muse (external link)
500px (external link)
Etsy Store (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mdutoit
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jun 2018
Location: Vacaville, US
     
Jun 15, 2018 12:29 as a reply to  @ mcoren's post |  #4

Hi Mike,

Thanks so much for the advice. Unfortunately, nothing worked. I've confirmed the memory card is not set to write protected, and swapped it out for the other memory card I have. Still receiving the 'busy' message :(




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mdutoit
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jun 2018
Location: Vacaville, US
     
Jun 15, 2018 12:37 as a reply to  @ itsallart's post |  #5

Hi There - Yes, the camera is brand new and so am I :)

Still having no luck - I must be doing something wrong!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itsallart
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,405 posts
Gallery: 700 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 7261
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Near Dallas
     
Jun 15, 2018 12:50 |  #6

mdutoit wrote in post #18645860 (external link)
Hi There - Yes, the camera is brand new and so am I :)

Still having no luck - I must be doing something wrong!

Melissa, even after a full reset?
I would take it back to the store if nothing works. They should give you a new one; it's under warranty.
Keep us posted, please :)


Renata
Seeing lights and shadows is an art :)
Renata Sharman (external link)Tanami Muse (external link)
500px (external link)
Etsy Store (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mdutoit
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jun 2018
Location: Vacaville, US
     
Jun 15, 2018 12:51 as a reply to  @ itsallart's post |  #7

How do you perform the full reset? I couldn't find an option for this under the menu screen.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itsallart
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,405 posts
Gallery: 700 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 7261
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Near Dallas
     
Jun 15, 2018 13:00 |  #8

mdutoit wrote in post #18645871 (external link)
How do you perform the full reset? I couldn't find an option for this under the menu screen.

Look right here https://www.youtube.co​m/watch?v=QWLKdt9NMmw (external link)
Good luck.


Renata
Seeing lights and shadows is an art :)
Renata Sharman (external link)Tanami Muse (external link)
500px (external link)
Etsy Store (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mdutoit
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jun 2018
Location: Vacaville, US
     
Jun 15, 2018 14:34 as a reply to  @ itsallart's post |  #9

Thank you for the link. I've restored, and still no luck.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itsallart
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,405 posts
Gallery: 700 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 7261
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Near Dallas
     
Jun 15, 2018 16:42 |  #10

mdutoit wrote in post #18645932 (external link)
Thank you for the link. I've restored, and still no luck.

Well, Melissa, just take it back, it's under warranty.
Don't get disheartened, though; you'll be shooting again soon!
Good luck!


Renata
Seeing lights and shadows is an art :)
Renata Sharman (external link)Tanami Muse (external link)
500px (external link)
Etsy Store (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,818 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 434
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Jun 15, 2018 16:53 |  #11

itsallart wrote in post #18645985 (external link)
Well, Melissa, just take it back, it's under warranty.
Don't get disheartened, though; you'll be shooting again soon!
Good luck!

I agree take it back to the store. If it is user error, they can show you what you're doing wrong. But it doesn't sound like user error, in which case a replacement is in order.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab, Elements 15

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mcoren
Senior Member
Avatar
624 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 303
Joined Mar 2015
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
     
Jun 15, 2018 21:22 |  #12

+1 on taking it back.

Mike


Canon EOS 7D Mark II, EOS M5, and EOS 100 (film SLR)
A bunch of Canon lenses and a couple of Sigmas
A backpack, a bicycle, and a pair of hiking boots

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mdutoit
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jun 2018
Location: Vacaville, US
     
Jun 16, 2018 14:46 as a reply to  @ mcoren's post |  #13

So here's something interesting. I took the camera outside in the sun, and it allows me to take a picture. When I go back indoors, it doesn't ....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itsallart
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,405 posts
Gallery: 700 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 7261
Joined Jan 2015
Location: Near Dallas
Post edited 9 months ago by itsallart.
     
Jun 16, 2018 14:58 |  #14

mdutoit wrote in post #18646396 (external link)
So here's something interesting. I took the camera outside in the sun, and it allows me to take a picture. When I go back indoors, it doesn't ....

No idea. Take it back to the dealer. Chances are that it will repeat the same error in the store and perhaps they will find a solution or you will get a new camera.
Also check this link https://community.usa.​canon.com …ictures/td-p/36762/page/2 (external link)


Renata
Seeing lights and shadows is an art :)
Renata Sharman (external link)Tanami Muse (external link)
500px (external link)
Etsy Store (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,613 posts
Likes: 646
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited 9 months ago by John from PA. (2 edits in all)
     
Jun 16, 2018 15:21 |  #15

mdutoit wrote in post #18646396 (external link)
So here's something interesting. I took the camera outside in the sun, and it allows me to take a picture. When I go back indoors, it doesn't ....

There can be a few reasons, one of which you've discovered; not enough light. Typically if the light level is low the camera struggles with the focusing because of dim/dark settings. The choice of lens can also make a difference since some lenses collect substantially more light than others.

Another lighting issue can be contrast; a camera will struggle to focus if the subject are not prominent. Focusing on a plain wall doesn't work well. Focus on the edge of a picture frame on the same wall and usually the problem goes away.

I take it the lens is new? Make sure it is in the autofocus mode.

Lastly, you are in serious need of some "user manual" time. The CD that came with the camera has a PDF version on it or it can be downloaded from http://gdlp01.c-wss.com …s-rebelt6-1300d-im-en.pdf (external link).

Seriously, I doubt there is anything wrong with your camera, you just need to learn how to use it!

Some links that might help:

https://www.canonwatch​.com …torial-users-guide-video/ (external link)

https://www.tomsguide.​com …er-guide,review-4590.html (external link)

http://www.dummies.com …300d-dummies-cheat-sheet/ (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,192 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon Rebel T6 EOS 1300 D Beginner - Need Help troubleshooting
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Aprentice2019
859 guests, 323 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.