Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 25 Jun 2018 (Monday) 17:13
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Retrieving Shutter Count - 5D4, 5D3, 7D2

 
KaosImagery
Goldmember
Avatar
1,407 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1389
Joined Sep 2009
Location: near Saratoga Springs, NY
     
Jun 25, 2018 17:13 |  #1

I was an early beta tester for Reikan Focal, so they gave me a free copy...well...up to version 2.0

I recently upgraded to their latest version 2.6 (on Win 10 Pro).

The software will read the shutter count on the 7D2, but not the 5D4 or 5D3. Previous versions of FoCal would read the 5D3. Some quick research found that Canon apparently blocked access to the count on the Mark IV (and other bodies I don't have.)

My two questions are:

- Does anyone have a method for finding the shutter count on the Mark IV?

- Is anyone else having an issue with the current version of FoCal not reading the count on the Mark III?

I'm just curious about how much I've used these bodies, it's nothing really important or critical at this time. Thanks in advance for any thoughts.


Website (external link) flickr (external link) 500px (external link) FaceBook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bpalermini
Goldmember
Avatar
1,359 posts
Gallery: 85 photos
Likes: 595
Joined Mar 2011
Location: Ashland, Oregon
     
Jun 25, 2018 18:07 |  #2

Mac or PC?

I use an app called ShutterCount on my Mac to get shutter counts from my 5DIV. It works great.


Bob Palermini
1DX, 5DIV, 14 Rokinon, 16-35L II, 24-70L II, 100L, 70-200 IS 2.8L, 100-400L II, 400mm 2.8 IS II, 1.4xIII, 2xIII, 580EXII, YN560IV, RRS TVC23 + BH55, LRCC, Fuji X-E2, Fuji X30
My Web Site (external link) | My Sports Portfolio (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KaosImagery
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,407 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1389
Joined Sep 2009
Location: near Saratoga Springs, NY
     
Jun 26, 2018 06:24 |  #3

bpalermini wrote in post #18651309 (external link)
Mac or PC?

I use an app called ShutterCount on my Mac to get shutter counts from my 5DIV. It works great.

PC, Win 19 Pro. Guess I have to find a friend with a Mac :)


Website (external link) flickr (external link) 500px (external link) FaceBook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Do people actually believe in the Title Fairy?
Avatar
5,171 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 1467
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
     
Jun 26, 2018 23:09 |  #4

KaosImagery wrote in post #18651565 (external link)
PC, Win 19 Pro. Guess I have to find a friend with a Mac :)

I don't think anyone has written any apps/programs that run on Win 19 yet. That might be the problem ;-)a


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KaosImagery
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,407 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1389
Joined Sep 2009
Location: near Saratoga Springs, NY
     
Jun 27, 2018 06:43 |  #5

Dan Marchant wrote in post #18652105 (external link)
I don't think anyone has written any apps/programs that run on Win 19 yet. That might be the problem ;-)a

Doh!

You might be right, but I *can* read the shutter count on my 5D Mark VIII :)


Website (external link) flickr (external link) 500px (external link) FaceBook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
8,615 posts
Likes: 646
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
     
Jun 27, 2018 10:52 |  #6

bpalermini wrote in post #18651309 (external link)
Mac or PC?

I use an app called ShutterCount on my Mac to get shutter counts from my 5DIV. It works great.

KaosImagery wrote in post #18651565 (external link)
PC, Win 19 Pro. Guess I have to find a friend with a Mac :)

https://www.direstudio​.com/shuttercount/ (external link)
Scroll down to the bottom; there is an ap for the iPhone if you have one.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KaosImagery
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,407 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1389
Joined Sep 2009
Location: near Saratoga Springs, NY
     
Jun 27, 2018 13:28 |  #7

John from PA wrote in post #18652353 (external link)
https://www.direstudio​.com/shuttercount/ (external link)
Scroll down to the bottom; there is an ap for the iPhone if you have one.

Thanks for that, John. I did see it worked with IOS via WiFi. The Mark IV is the only body I have with WiFi though. Was hoping for one piece of software to do all three...but alas, I don't think it exists.

As mentioned above, FoCal reads the 7D2. For some reason, it won't read the 5D3 anymore but I tried the EOSInfo utility and that works on the 5D3. Then I could use ShutterCount on IOS for the 5D4. Nothing is ever easy.


Website (external link) flickr (external link) 500px (external link) FaceBook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Dan ­ Marchant
Do people actually believe in the Title Fairy?
Avatar
5,171 posts
Gallery: 19 photos
Likes: 1467
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Where I'm from is unimportant, it's where I'm going that counts.
     
Jun 28, 2018 00:29 |  #8

DSLR Controller can display the shutter count on 7DII, 5DIII and IV but it is Android only I think https://dslrcontroller​.com (external link)


Dan Marchant
Website/blog: danmarchant.com (external link)
Instagram: @dan_marchant (external link)
Gear Canon 5DIII + Fuji X-T2 + lenses + a plastic widget I found in the camera box.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KaosImagery
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,407 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1389
Joined Sep 2009
Location: near Saratoga Springs, NY
     
Jun 28, 2018 07:19 |  #9

Dan Marchant wrote in post #18652744 (external link)
DSLR Controller can display the shutter count on 7DII, 5DIII and IV but it is Android only I think https://dslrcontroller​.com (external link)

That might be a good option, wife has a Galaxy phone. Like I mentioned, it's not critical, I'm just curious of my usage. It's easy to rack up 2000 shots on the 7D2 for action events. And I'm using the 5D3 for time lapse work. Thanks for that thought.


Website (external link) flickr (external link) 500px (external link) FaceBook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mcoren
Senior Member
Avatar
624 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 303
Joined Mar 2015
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
     
Jun 28, 2018 08:10 |  #10

Have you contacted the makers of Focal about it? I would think their typical customer is more of a high-end enthusiast or pro, so they probably have a lot of customers who use 5D4’s.

Mike


Canon EOS 7D Mark II, EOS M5, and EOS 100 (film SLR)
A bunch of Canon lenses and a couple of Sigmas
A backpack, a bicycle, and a pair of hiking boots

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KaosImagery
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,407 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 1389
Joined Sep 2009
Location: near Saratoga Springs, NY
     
Jun 28, 2018 10:08 |  #11

mcoren wrote in post #18652853 (external link)
Have you contacted the makers of Focal about it? I would think their typical customer is more of a high-end enthusiast or pro, so they probably have a lot of customers who use 5D4’s.

Mike

Yes, I did. They say the software subroutine that reads shutter count info comes from Canon and that Canon blocked access to it. I even tried the oldest version of FoCal (2.0) with the 5D3, loaded separately on a Win 10 laptop and it won't read the count. I have the printout of a report from a couple years ago with the 5D3 count, it was from FoCal version 1.9, but that's no longer available to download and when I installed the new version, it was overwritten.


Website (external link) flickr (external link) 500px (external link) FaceBook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LastX
Member
33 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jul 2012
Location: Northeast
Post edited 8 months ago by LastX.
     
Jun 29, 2018 18:02 |  #12

I use ShutterCount for Windows to read the shutter count on my camera.

edit:

I just noticed that the current version doesn't support Windows




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,389 views & 6 likes for this thread
Retrieving Shutter Count - 5D4, 5D3, 7D2
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is one_water_b
599 guests, 227 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.