Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 26 Jun 2018 (Tuesday) 14:31
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

what is topaz?

 
ncjohn
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
     
Jun 26, 2018 14:31 |  #1

Can someone please tell me exactly what the Topaz "system" is? I've seen the following: Topaz Studio is free, Studio Pro is $XX, Clarity is $XX, Detail is $XX, etc... Clarity used to be Clarity ver X, now it's Studio Clarity...
They seem to be all over the place with what they're calling things, and with what they're charging, and from looking on their website I can't see exactly what they're offering now, and how it works with what they've offered in the past.
I'd appreciate any clarity on this.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kirkt
Cream of the Crop
5,818 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 633
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Post edited over 1 year ago by kirkt. (6 edits in all)
     
Jun 26, 2018 18:39 |  #2

Topaz Labs made stand-alone apps for various image processing tasks - these could also be called as plug-ins from Photoshop. These were apps like Clarity, Detail, InFocus, DeNoise, etc.

A couple of years ago or so, Topaz came out with an all-in-one image editing environment called "Topaz Studio." It is a stand-alone app that can also be called as a Photoshop plug-in. It has several "adjustments" you can apply to an image - think of these as adjustment layers in Photoshop. Some of these adjustments are called by the names that used to be apps (like clarity, detail, etc.) because they perform the same task as the former stand-alone app did.

The way that Topaz Studio is made available to users is that you can download and use the basic application for free. This gives you the environment plus basic adjustments. You can acquire more adjustments by paying for them - most of the time these adjustments are denoted as "Pro" adjustments. Most of these also have trials. Studio Pro is a group of several advanced adjustments that can be purchased a la carte or together as a single package price that gives you a discount over a la carte pricing. Further, Topaz Studio has GPU acceleration and multiprocessor enhancements that make it faster on more modern machines.

If you previously purchased the stand-alone Classic version of an adjustment that is available in its new Studio form, then you can activate that adjustment in Studio for free (at least that is what I recall doing for the Classic apps that I own).

Topaz Studio is also how Topaz rolls out new tools, like the new AI Clear, which is AI-powered noise reduction and sharpening.

Here's where you can download everything:

https://topazlabs.com/​downloads (external link)

Hope this helps.

Kirk


Kirk
---
images: http://kirkt.smugmug.c​om (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ncjohn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
     
Jun 26, 2018 20:41 as a reply to  @ kirkt's post |  #3

It does. Thanks for taking the time to explain it; I appreciate that.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kirkt
Cream of the Crop
5,818 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 633
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
     
Jun 27, 2018 08:36 as a reply to  @ ncjohn's post |  #4

You're welcome.

kirk


Kirk
---
images: http://kirkt.smugmug.c​om (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,997 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 536
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Jun 28, 2018 15:48 |  #5

Being a long-time Topaz user myself, one thing I don't like about Studio is that effects can't be tucked into Photoshop actions the way they can with the old standalone plug-ins.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ncjohn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
     
Jun 28, 2018 20:12 |  #6

I really wouldn't know about that, since I can't even get it to run and they haven't replied to my "help" request from two days ago. -? I bought DeNoise a couple years ago and it seemed to be a pretty snappy organization back then, but now they just seem to be kind of chaotic.

Or maybe it's just me: I can't get Studio to run even though my PC has plenty of go-power, I can't get a reply to my help request, and I can't figure out how to get on the forum to ask other people about the problem. :p




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,997 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 536
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Jun 28, 2018 20:18 |  #7

ncjohn wrote in post #18653228 (external link)
I really wouldn't know about that, since I can't even get it to run and they haven't replied to my "help" request from two days ago. -? I bought DeNoise a couple years ago and it seemed to be a pretty snappy organization back then, but now they just seem to be kind of chaotic.

Or maybe it's just me: I can't get Studio to run even though my PC has plenty of go-power, I can't get a reply to my help request, and I can't figure out how to get on the forum to ask other people about the problem. :p

Have you follow their help category "Have asked for help but no response?" You will, however, have to register as a product owner to get to the most significant information.

http://discuss.topazla​bs.com …help-but-no-response/6499 (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ncjohn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
     
Jun 29, 2018 00:37 |  #8

RDKirk wrote in post #18653231 (external link)
Have you follow their help category "Have asked for help but no response?" You will, however, have to register as a product owner to get to the most significant information.

http://discuss.topazla​bs.com …help-but-no-response/6499 (external link)

I have an account already because I bought DeNoise a couple years ago.
I read the link you shared; it doesn't appear to be a help category, it's the title of someone's thread. I don't see how it's relevant to me since that person's problem is different from mine.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ncjohn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
     
Jun 29, 2018 00:50 |  #9

Actually, the more I try to deal with Topaz the more frustrating it gets. There are links that take you back to themselves; it asks you to log in and when you do it asks you to log in again; the auto-reply I received to my original request has a link that supposedly will take me to my request on their site, but it just takes me to a page that asks me to log in yet again.

And I see now that the auto-reply says, if you haven't heard back from us... just wait!:-P
I really just think they're in over their heads and desperately need help with their site.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
Avatar
12,997 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 536
Joined May 2004
Location: USA
     
Jun 29, 2018 06:45 |  #10

ncjohn wrote in post #18653363 (external link)
Actually, the more I try to deal with Topaz the more frustrating it gets. There are links that take you back to themselves; it asks you to log in and when you do it asks you to log in again; the auto-reply I received to my original request has a link that supposedly will take me to my request on their site, but it just takes me to a page that asks me to log in yet again.

And I see now that the auto-reply says, if you haven't heard back from us... just wait!:-P
I really just think they're in over their heads and desperately need help with their site.

I agree that the forum (both as a corporate help forum and a cooperative help forum) took a nose dive some time in the past when I wasn't looking. It used to be a real forum, now it's a strange kind of thing.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ncjohn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
     
Jun 29, 2018 14:15 |  #11

RDKirk wrote in post #18653465 (external link)
it's a strange kind of thing.

A perfect description. :-)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ncjohn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
     
Jul 03, 2018 16:49 |  #12

Hey, I got an email reply from Topaz support. Only took a week! :p
It's the same guy that I was emailing with back in 2016 when I bought DeNoise. I wonder if he's the only support person they have. Seems to be a nice guy, but they need more than one.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ncjohn
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
737 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2010
Location: Asheville NC
Post edited over 1 year ago by ncjohn.
     
Jul 04, 2018 16:17 |  #13

I thought I'd post here, since I reported that I couldn't get Studio to run, that I have it running now. It was a very tricky deal, apparently due to the fact my primary pc is a Dell Optiplex 9010MT and it has quirks concerning its HD 4000 graphics. Studio seems to be quite a program.

How I got it to work was a long process but the bottom line is that on the Optiplex 9010MT the Intel HD 4000 graphics has to be GPU #1 on a multi-GPU system (despite what Topaz advises), and it also has to be the "main" display in Windows. If anybody wants more details I'll be glad to help.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,080 views & 4 likes for this thread
what is topaz?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is radzinski
980 guests, 297 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.