Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 20 Aug 2018 (Monday) 07:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

A I Gigapixel - new from Topaz. Opinions?

 
Canonuser123
Senior Member
Avatar
618 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 734
Joined Dec 2014
Location: Southern California
     
Aug 20, 2018 18:31 as a reply to  @ post 18688776 |  #16

I notice a lot more grain when using PS resizing, I only have CS5 so I am not sure if they have improved the resizing in the latest version.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
35,371 posts
Gallery: 98 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4890
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
Post edited 6 months ago by TeamSpeed.
     
Aug 20, 2018 20:33 as a reply to  @ Canonuser123's post |  #17

Well did you notice the nice worm artifacts in the blue sky from your gigapixel sample you posted? ;)


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Picture ­ North ­ Carolina
THREAD ­ STARTER
Gaaaaa! DOH!! Oops!
9,108 posts
Likes: 144
Joined Apr 2006
Location: North Carolina
Post edited 6 months ago by Picture North Carolina. (2 edits in all)
     
Aug 20, 2018 21:06 |  #18

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18688876 (external link)
Well did you notice the nice worm artifacts in the blue sky from your gigapixel sample you posted? ;)

I didn't, but do now. However, downloading the unenlarged original, enlarging it, then comparing it to the A.I.G. enlargement reveals a little bit of garbage in the same area of the original.

However, to be fair and truthful, A.I. Gigapixel not only enlarged it but amplified it, too. Not good.

KeithS wrote in post #18688776 (external link)
My graphics card (NVIDIA Geforce GTX 745) is not sufficient. If I were a gamer, I might have been ready for the program. I am not, so I was not. Bummer, the potential was there.

Not a gamer either, but have a 1050TI installed because of Corel Painter. Nonetheless, Topaz recommends the 1070. Current Amazon pricing is about $370 - $430 for it. No way. I would have to completely lose my crackers to pay $400 for a friggin' video card.


Website (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Canonuser123
Senior Member
Avatar
618 posts
Gallery: 31 photos
Likes: 734
Joined Dec 2014
Location: Southern California
Post edited 6 months ago by Canonuser123.
     
Aug 20, 2018 21:45 |  #19

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18688876 (external link)
Well did you notice the nice worm artifacts in the blue sky from your gigapixel sample you posted? ;)


I didn’t make the algorithm, I am just posting samples.

I think the PS enlarged version I tried looked really grainy, the AI Gigapixel software tries to smooth everything over. I would never enlarge 400% normally but I used that amount because it was likely to show flaws better.

I used a shot from a cheap 150-600mm zoom at 600mm, there might be some lens characteristics being magnified that are affecting the photo also.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeithS
Senior Member
261 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 98
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Arizona
     
Aug 20, 2018 21:51 as a reply to  @ Picture North Carolina's post |  #20

I didn't find a recommended graphics card by Topaz, even in their e-mail response to me. Just several links to what I had already read. It WAS close to their closing time.....gotta get home to the missus, or...at least it was a timely response. I wonder about their methodology.....One of their most expensive programs, requiring a high end piece of hardware, that I'm guessing most of their potential customers don't have when RAM and CPUs with good power are commonplace. The experience did inspire me to redownload the expensive suite I purchased from them in 2013. Good products but this reminds me of SNAFU by another company with a popular software product. (Mini) rant over.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Picture ­ North ­ Carolina
THREAD ­ STARTER
Gaaaaa! DOH!! Oops!
9,108 posts
Likes: 144
Joined Apr 2006
Location: North Carolina
     
Aug 20, 2018 22:02 |  #21

KeithS wrote in post #18688924 (external link)
I didn't find a recommended graphics card by Topaz,

On this page:
https://help.topazlabs​.com …-us/articles/3600128117​91 (external link)
For NVIDIA the recommended card is GTX 960, optimal is 1070TI

(If you have Intel or AMD, info can be found on the same page)


Website (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
35,371 posts
Gallery: 98 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4890
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
Post edited 6 months ago by TeamSpeed.
     
Aug 20, 2018 22:24 as a reply to  @ Canonuser123's post |  #22

No, those artifacts are from the algorithms trying to add detail where there shouldn't be any. The sky would have just normal grain, not patterns like you see. Those patterns seem to be generated by looking elsewhere in the image to try to create detail where there wasn't any, almost like the PS clone tool.

Won't really matter in the final output, like other artifacts, many disappear during the output process, but it is interesting to see it.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Picture ­ North ­ Carolina
THREAD ­ STARTER
Gaaaaa! DOH!! Oops!
9,108 posts
Likes: 144
Joined Apr 2006
Location: North Carolina
     
Aug 21, 2018 20:57 |  #23

TeamSpeed wrote in post #18688942 (external link)
No, those artifacts are from the algorithms trying to add detail where there shouldn't be any. The sky would have just normal grain, not patterns like you see. Those patterns seem to be generated by looking elsewhere in the image to try to create detail where there wasn't any, almost like the PS clone tool.

Won't really matter in the final output, like other artifacts, many disappear during the output process, but it is interesting to see it.

From the FAQ:

(quote)
Why does Gigapixel add artifacts to my image?

It doesn't, but if the original image already has visible but subtle 'artifact,' GigaPixel will make the artifacts more obvious. This is the proper nature of the technology, which attempts to preserve the image in full fidelity. We have added a different model that reduces noise while upsampling, but GigaPixel is not designed as a noise reduction tool in any capacity.


Website (external link) |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
35,371 posts
Gallery: 98 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 4890
Joined May 2002
Location: Northern Indiana
     
Aug 21, 2018 21:39 as a reply to  @ Picture North Carolina's post |  #24

But unfortunately it did indeed get messed up with the noise. It cleaned up some of the noise but then smeared, in a pattern, elsewhere. Take the original and enlarge it 400% with PS, with any of the sampling methods, and you can see the noise but not in the gigapixel example, other than the patterned smearing.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
degsy
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Likes: 11
Joined Jun 2003
     
Sep 25, 2018 10:36 |  #25

Topaz have updated the software so it is not as GPU dependent. If the graphics card is not up to it then it will hammer the CPU.
Might be worth another go for them with lower spec machines.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
govindvkumar
Mostly Lurking
11 posts
Likes: 124
Joined Jul 2010
     
Feb 10, 2019 06:42 |  #26

Yes, I have tried out Gigapixel and the results are pretty good.

I have also done a comparison with Photoshop Image Enlargement to see the difference. You can find it over here:

https://www.photograph​yaxis.com …opaz-ai-gigapixel-review/ (external link)

It's always good to give it a try as Topaz Labs are offering a free 30 day trial version.


www.photographyaxis.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KeithS
Senior Member
261 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Likes: 98
Joined Jul 2009
Location: Arizona
     
Feb 11, 2019 20:21 |  #27

govindvkumar wrote in post #18808234 (external link)
Yes, I have tried out Gigapixel and the results are pretty good.

I have also done a comparison with Photoshop Image Enlargement to see the difference. You can find it over here:

https://www.photograph​yaxis.com …opaz-ai-gigapixel-review/ (external link)

It's always good to give it a try as Topaz Labs are offering a free 30 day trial version.

Do you have a high level graphics card, like they "suggest", or has their recent change to relying a little less on the graphics card worked for you?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
govindvkumar
Mostly Lurking
11 posts
Likes: 124
Joined Jul 2010
     
Feb 16, 2019 23:30 |  #28

KeithS wrote in post #18809368 (external link)
Do you have a high level graphics card, like they "suggest", or has their recent change to relying a little less on the graphics card worked for you?

I have tested it on My Macbook Air 13" with the Following Configuration:
1.3 GHz Intel Core i5
4GB 1600MHz DDR3
Intel HD Graphics 5000 1536 MB Graphics

It worked well with this configuration


www.photographyaxis.co​m (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,728 views & 2 likes for this thread
A I Gigapixel - new from Topaz. Opinions?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is vaibhavabg
580 guests, 373 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.