Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 21 Aug 2018 (Tuesday) 22:49
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help me understand layers please...

 
reefvilla
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 141
Joined May 2010
Location: Farmington Missouri
Post edited over 1 year ago by reefvilla.
     
Aug 21, 2018 22:49 |  #1

Just to start, I am using Paint Shop Pro 2019 to edit.

So, say I have a picture and I want to adjust the curves.
Why not go to adjustment, click curves, adjust to my liking and clicked ok......instead of making an adjustment layer. If I dont like it I can undo the edit, right?!

I hear people talk about "destructive" editing and I guess I just dont understand enough about layers...
Why is it destructive to just edit with no adjustment layer?

Thanks for any help!!


-----------Canon EOS R -----------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Peano
Goldmember
Avatar
1,755 posts
Likes: 106
Joined Aug 2007
Post edited over 1 year ago by Peano.
     
Aug 21, 2018 23:17 |  #2

reefvilla wrote in post #18689892 (external link)
Just to start, I am using Paint Shop Pro 2019 to edit.

So, say I have a picture and I want to adjust the curves.
Why not go to adjustment, click curves, adjust to my liking and clicked ok......instead of making an adjustment later. If I dont like it I can undo the edit, right?!

Right. That's why it's called nondestructive editing. After you save the layered file, you can still go back and undo your editing.

I hear people talk about "destructive" editing and I guess I just dont understand enough about layers...
Why is it destructive to just edit with no adjustment layer?

If you edit a pixel layer and save the file, that permanently changes those pixels. Hence, destructive. You can't go back and undo the edit. But if you use an adjustment layer, you can undo or otherwise adjust the edit.


---
Peano
RadiantPics.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Merlin_AZ
Senior Member
Avatar
869 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Mar 2010
     
Aug 21, 2018 23:21 |  #3

You can delete the adjustment layer and return to the original.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nogo
World Record Holding Most Boring Commenter
7,746 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Likes: 551
Joined Dec 2013
Location: All Along the Natchez Trace (Clinton, MS)
     
Aug 22, 2018 00:27 |  #4

Merlin_AZ wrote in post #18689909 (external link)
You can delete the adjustment layer and return to the original.

You can also keep the adjustment layer, but vary its opacity. That is to set the adjustment you want, but then you can vary the percentage of that adjustment. Also, if you make an adjustment and it looks great on the subject but it makes the background look bad, you have the choice of selecting what parts of the image you wish to adjust by using one of the selection tools, or even by simply erasing the parts of the layer that you don't want the change to occur to.


Philip

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 141
Joined May 2010
Location: Farmington Missouri
Post edited over 1 year ago by reefvilla.
     
Aug 22, 2018 08:29 as a reply to  @ Nogo's post |  #5

Also, if you make an adjustment and it looks great on the subject but it makes the background look bad, you have the choice of selecting what parts of the image you wish to adjust by using one of the selection tools, or even by simply erasing the parts of the layer that you don't want the change to occur to.

This I did not know. I have had several edits where part of the photo looks good but the editing didnt work on say, the sky or some other part.

Maybe I'm wrong.... edit: I'm sure I'm wrong.... but I thought once you create adjustment layers, edit picture and then go to save, it would Merge layers into a single layer to save. Which would mean you cannot adjust layers after it is saved?


-----------Canon EOS R -----------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Merlin_AZ
Senior Member
Avatar
869 posts
Likes: 17
Joined Mar 2010
     
Aug 22, 2018 09:46 as a reply to  @ reefvilla's post |  #6

If you save the .psd file, it will save all the layers.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 141
Joined May 2010
Location: Farmington Missouri
     
Aug 22, 2018 09:48 as a reply to  @ Merlin_AZ's post |  #7

Ok..thanks


-----------Canon EOS R -----------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,848 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2505
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Aug 22, 2018 10:10 |  #8

reefvilla wrote in post #18690090 (external link)
This I did not know. I have had several edits where part of the photo looks good but the editing didnt work on say, the sky or some other part.

If the PSP layers have a layer mask option, you're better off using that because it can be modified later where erasing can't be brought after a save & closing the file. This would be the same as if you had used a Adjustment Layer in the first place in PS.

Maybe I'm wrong.... edit: I'm sure I'm wrong.... but I thought once you create adjustment layers, edit picture and then go to save, it would Merge layers into a single layer to save. Which would mean you cannot adjust layers after it is saved?

.tiff files also save the layers. I usually use those because windoze can display them.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
medd63
Senior Member
367 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 255
Joined Feb 2014
Location: Michigan
     
Aug 22, 2018 12:10 |  #9

He is using paint shop pro. Does that even save files as a .psd? I would think not.


6D, 7D2, T4i, 16-35mm f/4L IS, 100mm Macro f/2.8L IS, 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS, 50mm f/1.4 IS, EF-S 55-250, 1.4 II TC, Kenko Extension Tubes, MeFoto Globetrotter & Roadtrip Tripods, Lightroom CC, Photoshop CC

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 141
Joined May 2010
Location: Farmington Missouri
     
Aug 22, 2018 12:19 |  #10

medd63 wrote in post #18690243 (external link)
He is using paint shop pro. Does that even save files as a .psd? I would think not.

I will check later but I'm pretty sure it does.
I have used PSP since 2005 but I think it's time to switch to Adobe


-----------Canon EOS R -----------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
49,724 posts
Gallery: 161 photos
Likes: 6391
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Aug 22, 2018 13:45 |  #11

Nogo wrote in post #18689927 (external link)
- You can also keep the adjustment layer, but vary its opacity. That is to set the adjustment you want, but then you can vary the percentage of that adjustment.

- Also, if you make an adjustment and it looks great on the subject but it makes the background look bad, you have the choice of selecting what parts of the image you wish to adjust by using one of the selection tools, or even by simply erasing the parts of the layer that you don't want the change to occur to.

These are the main reason I usually use layers for everything.
Varying opacity of your adjustments in real time can be a real eye opener, and will show you very quickly when you have taken adjustments too far, and allow you to quickly dial in the "correct" amount to get the best image.

A great example that will boost the speed you work; you COULD adjust levels for each image one at a time, being careful to get it all looking good but not over cooked, OR you could use "auto levels" on an adjustment layer and back off opacity, one slider, until it feels right. The latter is MUCH faster.

Merlin_AZ wrote in post #18689909 (external link)
You can delete the adjustment layer and return to the original.

This is of course very helpful too!


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 141
Joined May 2010
Location: Farmington Missouri
     
Aug 22, 2018 14:18 |  #12

PSP does save in .psd and it will re-open with all the layers showing, however, none of the layers will adjust.
I can move the slide bar or toggle off the layer but nothing happens.


It will not save in .tiff … I get a merge warning


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


-----------Canon EOS R -----------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
number ­ six
"After 40 years still not housebroken, I still piddle on the carpet"
Avatar
8,941 posts
Likes: 70
Joined May 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
     
Aug 22, 2018 14:34 |  #13

reefvilla wrote in post #18690338 (external link)
PSP does save in .psd and it will re-open with all the layers showing, however, none of the layers will adjust.
I can move the slide bar or toggle off the layer but nothing happens.


It will not save in .tiff … I get a merge warning


thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by reefvilla in
./showthread.php?p=186​90338&i=i213896909
forum: RAW, Post Processing & Printing

I use PSP X6. The default for saving an image is .pspimage format, which will allow later editing of layers. No reason to use .psd unless you need it to be readable by Photoshop.

-js


"Be seeing you."
50D - 17-55 f/2.8 IS - 18-55 IS - 28-105 II USM - 60 f/2.8 macro - 70-200 f/4 L - Sigma flash
I do not piddle on the carpet!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,027 posts
Gallery: 44 photos
Likes: 141
Joined May 2010
Location: Farmington Missouri
Post edited over 1 year ago by reefvilla.
     
Aug 22, 2018 14:35 as a reply to  @ number six's post |  #14

OK... Thank you!


EDIT: That works perfect!!! Thanks


-----------Canon EOS R -----------

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
How do I change this?
Avatar
14,563 posts
Likes: 7761
Joined Oct 2009
     
Aug 24, 2018 16:12 |  #15

https://www.youtube.co​m/watch?v=ZBKHeU8rWFs (external link)


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,329 views & 5 likes for this thread
Help me understand layers please...
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is SaraiukiSama
1900 guests, 283 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.