Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 15 Sep 2014 (Monday) 11:20
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!

 
KT29
Goldmember
3,427 posts
Gallery: 273 photos
Likes: 6798
Joined Sep 2010
Location: N.Idaho
     
Feb 23, 2019 18:58 |  #21121

I could not get my Canon 1.4 V III to communicate with my Sigma 150-600 C lens. So I tried updating the firmware to the latest version and that was the ticket. It seems to communicate and autofocus just fine now. I do need to improve on my technique though to shoot that many millimeters.:-)


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Terry -- The Squeaky wheel gets the grease, but sometimes it's just better
to Replace it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
NCSA197
Goldmember
Avatar
1,435 posts
Gallery: 153 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 3928
Joined Dec 2011
Location: Western NY State
     
Feb 24, 2019 03:55 |  #21122

IMAGE: https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7895/47189063851_237cca2a91_b.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/2eTW​hDa  (external link) The Take Off (external link) by David Fehrman (external link), on Flickr

Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ct1co2
Goldmember
Avatar
2,780 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 3190
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Post edited over 2 years ago by ct1co2.
     
Feb 24, 2019 10:46 |  #21123

KT29 wrote in post #18817333 (external link)
I could not get my Canon 1.4 V III to communicate with my Sigma 150-600 C lens. So I tried updating the firmware to the latest version and that was the ticket. It seems to communicate and autofocus just fine now. I do need to improve on my technique though to shoot that many millimeters.:-)

How did you find the focus speed with the 1.4III vs. without it?


R6 | 15-85is | Rokinon 14 2.8 | 16-35is L | RF 24-105is L | 100-400 II L | Σ150-600 C | 1.4X III | 2X III | 430ex |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KT29
Goldmember
3,427 posts
Gallery: 273 photos
Likes: 6798
Joined Sep 2010
Location: N.Idaho
     
Feb 24, 2019 17:22 |  #21124

ct1co2 wrote in post #18817692 (external link)
How did you find the focus speed with the 1.4III vs. without it?

With the Sigma 150-600, it focuses pretty slow with the 1.4 III converter.


Terry -- The Squeaky wheel gets the grease, but sometimes it's just better
to Replace it.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
photograma
Goldmember
Avatar
1,155 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 673
Joined Jun 2009
Location: NW Montana
     
Feb 25, 2019 09:20 |  #21125

Bald eagle in the snow


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


AKA Dian

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lame-Duck
I have indeed had pine nuts
Avatar
19,467 posts
Gallery: 875 photos
Likes: 41483
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Fresno, California
     
Feb 25, 2019 13:36 |  #21126

photograma wrote in post #18818355 (external link)
Bald eagle in the snow
thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by photograma in
./showthread.php?p=188​18355&i=i112934910
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras

thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by photograma in
./showthread.php?p=188​18355&i=i247019844
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras

Two very nice shots of the bald eagle Dian.


LD, or Mike
Often mistaken, but never in doubt.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tandemtouring
Member
Avatar
192 posts
Gallery: 219 photos
Likes: 1599
Joined Mar 2015
Location: Perth, Western Australia
     
Feb 26, 2019 02:29 |  #21127

One of the locals at Yanchep NP


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


https://www.flickr.com​/gp/tandemtouring/Db02​PW (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
photograma
Goldmember
Avatar
1,155 posts
Gallery: 76 photos
Likes: 673
Joined Jun 2009
Location: NW Montana
     
Feb 26, 2019 14:17 |  #21128

 :p:-D no more pictures it says


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


AKA Dian

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sidknee
Goldmember
Avatar
2,288 posts
Gallery: 1184 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 25676
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Camarthenshire, UK
     
Feb 26, 2019 14:21 |  #21129

IMAGE: https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7886/46182508925_a66f8a60b8_h.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/2dmZ​qVT  (external link) IMG_3651--2019-02-11--16 (external link) by Sid Simmons (external link), on Flickr



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Sonoranhawk
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Feb 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
     
Feb 26, 2019 17:29 |  #21130

I have a new 7D Mark II. In manual mode, I cannot get the exposure level meter to display at the bottom of the viewfinder or LCD unless I set Automatic (A) ISO. If I set ISO to any specific value, the meter display disappears from the bottom of the viewfinder and the LCD panel which defeats my purpose of shooting in manual. I've searched through the menu settings and can't find anything that would change this behavior. I usually shoot with 5Ds which has the exposure meter scale at the bottom of the display. I always shoot in manual mode and have always been able to change shutter speed and aperture without any automatic change to ISO values. I see the exposure scale on the right side of the viewfinder display but it's hard to read. Is this the way the 7D works or am I missing a setting somewhere that will change this behavior. I've turned the camera on and off with no change.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
4,053 posts
Gallery: 54 photos
Likes: 613
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
Post edited over 2 years ago by mwsilver. (3 edits in all)
     
Feb 26, 2019 20:02 |  #21131

Sonoranhawk wrote in post #18819323 (external link)
I have a new 7D Mark II. In manual mode, I cannot get the exposure level meter to display at the bottom of the viewfinder or LCD unless I set Automatic (A) ISO. If I set ISO to any specific value, the meter display disappears from the bottom of the viewfinder and the LCD panel which defeats my purpose of shooting in manual. I've searched through the menu settings and can't find anything that would change this behavior. I usually shoot with 5Ds which has the exposure meter scale at the bottom of the display. I always shoot in manual mode and have always been able to change shutter speed and aperture without any automatic change to ISO values. I see the exposure scale on the right side of the viewfinder display but it's hard to read. Is this the way the 7D works or am I missing a setting somewhere that will change this behavior. I've turned the camera on and off with no change.

The exposure meter on the bottom of the viewfinder is actually intended for exposure compensation and is not actually the exposure meter, which is on the tight hand side of the viewfinder. That bottom meter is available in Av mode, Tv mode, P mode and Manual mode with Auto ISO since in all those modes EC is available. However, in Manual mode with Auto ISO disabled exposure compensation is not possible so the meter on the bottom is disabled and disappears. You have to rely on the meter on the right hand side of the viewfinder when using explicit ISO values in Manual mode. .


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab Elite, ON1

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lame-Duck
I have indeed had pine nuts
Avatar
19,467 posts
Gallery: 875 photos
Likes: 41483
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Fresno, California
     
Feb 26, 2019 20:14 |  #21132

Very cute shot, Sid. I like the look in the pony's eye.


LD, or Mike
Often mistaken, but never in doubt.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
I still have 8 digits left
Avatar
17,539 posts
Gallery: 125 photos
Likes: 12671
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Canada
     
Feb 26, 2019 22:11 |  #21133


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Image Editing OK

Website (external link) ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
harryv
Senior Member
Avatar
890 posts
Gallery: 206 photos
Likes: 2926
Joined Dec 2014
Location: Forsyth, Missouri
     
Feb 26, 2019 22:48 |  #21134

Hi all,
On Feb 21st I posted this question,

"Hi all, Hope this is the right place to ask this question. I've been wanting a 7D Mark II for at least two years, well tomorrows' my lucky day!! My current camera is a Rebel 5T that came with two kit lenses, 18-55 and a 75-300 Zoom, plus I've purchased a Canon 85mm and a 50mm. So here's the question, If you were in my position which lens would you buy next. I'm asking this because I think I'm in for a huge learning curve. Please let me know if I posted this in the wrong place.
Thank you, Harry".

I received lots of good recommendations and suggestions, so thank you all. I spent the next several days going over reviews on some lenses within my budget. Ended ordering a Sigma 150-600 C. plus a dock station, and had enough left over for a 24mm pancake lens. Thanks again!
Harry


LIFE IS TOO FAST, RECORD IT!!

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sidknee
Goldmember
Avatar
2,288 posts
Gallery: 1184 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 25676
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Camarthenshire, UK
     
Feb 27, 2019 01:05 |  #21135

Lame-Duck wrote in post #18819424 (external link)
Very cute shot, Sid. I like the look in the pony's eye.

Thanks Mike, boy and pony are about the same age and spend their time between paddock and stable trying to boss each other about. :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

10,753,873 views & 101,840 likes for this thread
-= 7D2 owners unite! Discuss and post photos!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is LAshmore
1184 guests, 198 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.