Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 06 Nov 2019 (Wednesday) 14:27
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

CANON EOS R - no 4K

 
marka01
Hatchling
5 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2019
Post edited 6 months ago by marka01.
     
Nov 06, 2019 14:27 |  #1

Hi,

I am having trouble finding 4k in EOS R. I am using 24-105 RF lenses. And when I select A+ Scene Inteligent and go to Menu -> Movie rec quality, I see only FHD 50 fps ? Please see picture: https://postimg.cc/KRV​​XQ5GQ (external link)

Is it so that I need UHS-ii sdcard to see 4k mode? Currently I have Extreme PRO Sandisk U3, 95MB/s.

I have already tried to reset camera settings to default.

Any help appreciated.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
inthedeck
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,579 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Likes: 1113
Joined Sep 2006
Location: St. Augustine, Florida
     
Nov 06, 2019 15:12 |  #2

More than likely. I have a UHS-II card and see 4k. Hope that helps.


MCSquared Photography (external link) on WWW
MCSquared Photography (external link) on Flickr
MCSquared Photography (external link) on IG
My name: Manish.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
6,533 posts
Gallery: 137 photos
Likes: 4992
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Nov 06, 2019 15:25 |  #3

I did not own a UHS-II card when I had my R and I shot 4K.
I used 128GB Sandisk Extreme pro 95MB/S U3.

Page 611 of the user manual:


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
6,533 posts
Gallery: 137 photos
Likes: 4992
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Nov 06, 2019 15:28 |  #4

Have you formatted the card using the camera? That should be done.


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
titaniumSS
Senior Member
269 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 17
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
     
Nov 06, 2019 16:08 |  #5

I can confirm you can use a UHS-I card. I currently have a Sandisk Extreme Pro UHS-I and UHS-II 64GB cards. They both will shoot 4k All-I.


-Erik
Canon EOS R, Canon 6D gripped, Canon RF 15-35mm f/2.8L IS USM, Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM v1, Canon 50mm f/1.8 STM, YN560 IV x2, YN560-TX.

flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
marka01
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2019
     
Nov 06, 2019 16:18 as a reply to  @ Choderboy's post |  #6

I have formatted using camera, yes.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
marka01
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2019
Post edited 6 months ago by marka01. (2 edits in all)
     
Nov 06, 2019 16:21 as a reply to  @ Choderboy's post |  #7

could there be any settings I need to change? like IS, etc. ? I don't see 4k option at all, not even 1080p at 59.9 fps. I see only this: https://postimg.cc/KRV​XQ5GQ (external link)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Choderboy
I Chimp, therefore I am
Avatar
6,533 posts
Gallery: 137 photos
Likes: 4992
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Nov 06, 2019 16:29 as a reply to  @ marka01's post |  #8

Yes, I saw your photo. I no longer have the R so I can't help much, working on memory.
I only comment when I am 100% sure of facts and that is the case with shooting 4K with the UHS-1 card.
As I only had the UHS-1 card, I do not remember if ALL-I option for 4K was greyed out or did not appear on the selection screen.

I had Video set to PAL, but I doubt that would make a difference. It can't hurt to change to PAL if you have NTSC and check, you might even get lucky and 4K appears after changing.


Dave
Image editing OK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
crofter
Senior Member
366 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 326
Joined Aug 2011
Location: Weardale UK
     
Nov 07, 2019 01:28 |  #9

The camera has to be in movie mode,in stills mode the 4K option does not show with A+ selected.Press mode button followed by the info button,select the movie mode of choice.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/70718847@N02/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Nogo
POTN record for # of posts during "Permanent Ban"
8,130 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Likes: 596
Joined Dec 2013
Location: All Along the Natchez Trace (Clinton, MS)
     
Nov 07, 2019 02:01 |  #10

Before digging too deep, let me ask the "does it have gas in it" question. . . Have you updated the firmware? It may be a setting not available in that mode with one of the first firmwares. I believe it is up to 1.4 right now.


Philip

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
marka01
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2019
     
Nov 07, 2019 11:19 |  #11

crofter wrote in post #18956481 (external link)
The camera has to be in movie mode,in stills mode the 4K option does not show with A+ selected.Press mode button followed by the info button,select the movie mode of choice.

Thank you that was indeed the issue and now after navigating to video modes I can see 4 option ! Thank you




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
marka01
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2019
     
Nov 07, 2019 11:20 as a reply to  @ Nogo's post |  #12

yes I did update firmware to latest 1.4. Crofter already answered on what was the issue and now it's sorted. thanks.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

582 views & 3 likes for this thread
CANON EOS R - no 4K
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is chukwuebukaonwuneme
1312 guests, 229 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.