Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 31 Jan 2020 (Friday) 16:35
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Official 1dx Mark III owners unite! Post photos and discuss.

 
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,093 posts
Gallery: 288 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 1052
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Connecticut USA
     
Sep 27, 2020 13:27 |  #1636

jwcdds wrote in post #19130690 (external link)
When I use the 1DX3 using liveview shooting... my problem I have is: "Well damn.. now I have 100+ shots in focus... which one to keep/toss out?"

With the R5... my problems are: 1) What? Hit the buffer already? 2) "Hm... I'm not getting the same focus results with burst as the 1DX3 that I've been spoiled by...."

So true it is why I love the 1DX3 it continues to amaze me with it’s consistent performance.


_______________
flickr (external link)
GEAR

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
huntersdad
Goldmember
4,862 posts
Likes: 647
Joined Nov 2008
     
Sep 27, 2020 16:56 as a reply to  @ butterfly2937's post |  #1637

AcademicNomad wrote in post #19130667 (external link)
Did you have anti-flicker on? And didn’t use to have it on in 1dxii? That will always reduce the FPS to maintain correct exposure. I don’t have an R5 so don’t know how it behaves in anti-flicker situation. Even my older 1dx worked fine at swim meets.

You didn’t mention the behaviour of R5 in the same situation? If it’s giving you lots of long bursts, is the exposure changing significantly between consecutive photos?

Verified that flicker is off. No exposure changes between images. My 1Dx2 worked fine, so this a bit shocking to say the least. I haven’t tried the R5 as I simply can’t track using the mechanical shutter in this environment. The E-shutter is killing it though!

butterfly2937 wrote in post #19130680 (external link)
Just a thought I would never use single point for a moving subject. I would use either one of the area modes and choose the starting point at the head or face with the smart controller or at least use point with surround points. If using one of the focus areas I would turn face detect on. I would use case 2 so the camera holds onto my selected starting point.

Single point only and the smaller single point if I can get away with. The larger the number of points, the more likely the AF will grab water or droplets. I’ve tested this adnausem with the 1DxII, the III as best I can and the R5.

As a point of reference, the “learning database” in these cameras that’s supposed to find faces and goggles sucks. I’ve tried it on about 20 heats and it’s grabbed the water every time.


Facebook (external link)

http://WWW.BLENDEDLIGH​TPHOTOGRAPHY.COM (external link)
1DxIII x 2 / 24 1.4 II / Sigma 35 1.4 / 85 1.4L / 70-200L II / 300 II / AD600Pros

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AcademicNomad
Goldmember
1,057 posts
Gallery: 25 photos
Likes: 3305
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
     
Sep 27, 2020 17:18 |  #1638

butterfly2937 wrote in post #19130680 (external link)
Just a thought I would never use single point for a moving subject. I would use either one of the area modes and choose the starting point at the head or face with the smart controller or at least use point with surround points. If using one of the focus areas I would turn face detect on. I would use case 2 so the camera holds onto my selected starting point.

+1


Desire to learn; a camera & a few other things.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
huntersdad
Goldmember
4,862 posts
Likes: 647
Joined Nov 2008
     
Sep 27, 2020 17:54 as a reply to  @ AcademicNomad's post |  #1639

R5 with smaller single point in crop mode. Swimmer is in lane 5, as far as they can get from me.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


Facebook (external link)

http://WWW.BLENDEDLIGH​TPHOTOGRAPHY.COM (external link)
1DxIII x 2 / 24 1.4 II / Sigma 35 1.4 / 85 1.4L / 70-200L II / 300 II / AD600Pros

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
fordmondeo
Goldmember
1,253 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 381
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Sunny Southern England
     
Sep 28, 2020 01:10 |  #1640

huntersdad wrote in post #19130487 (external link)
Cross posted from FM. Hopefully someone can help me out with what is going on.

So, the last 2 days have been my first swim meet back in 6 months. I was quite excited to be able to test the 1DxIII as well as the R5 and see what these guys can do in swimming.

However, I'm having an issue with my 1DxIII and I simply can't figure it out. It is in single point AF with continuous shooting set at H, or 16 FPS. Settings are 1/1000, 2.8, ISO 16000. Battery is fully charged. Ambient temps in the lowed 80s indoors. Using Case 2.

If I get more than 3 shots of a swimmer in a burst, I have accomplished something - meaning the camera either isn't firing the shutter or the AF is taking so long to acquire focus it's ridiculous.

I figure I have something turned on that maybe shouldn't be. Flicker is off, face tracking is off, verified that H continuous is set to 16 fps. AF Priority is normally set to focus, but I moved it back to the middle with a slight bump up for the remaining shots. Nothing is helping. I still get 2-3 shots per swimmer. my 1DxII would rattle off 4-6 in the same situation. Right now, my R5 is kicking my 1DxIII's ass in AF and FPS when using the e-shutter.

What am I missing? This isn't my first 1D body, I'm pretty familiar with them and can generally figure it out, but this one has me really stumped.

I have a feeling the frame rate drops with high ISO.
Could be wrong though.


Vaginator9000

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Red ­ Dog
Goldmember
Avatar
1,208 posts
Gallery: 196 photos
Likes: 1713
Joined Feb 2007
Location: N Ireland
     
Sep 28, 2020 02:27 as a reply to  @ huntersdad's post |  #1641

I think I'd be trying the head tracking with the small block of 9 auto tracking squares active on the mkiii. I used it for cricket and it never moved from the head even when arms, bat or ball or other players came between me and the target. Frame rate was never affected. I know others who have shot dogs running through water and it stuck like glue to the dogs head - never shifted to water droplets.


www.davidmaginnissport​sphotography.zenfolio.​com/ (external link)
Canon 1DX mkii +Canon 1DX - Canon EF 200-400 F4, Canon 300 IS F2.8 + Canon 70-200 F2.8 & Sigma 120-300 f2.8 Sport
Other Photos: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/actionpix/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
15,050 posts
Gallery: 1767 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6101
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Sep 29, 2020 00:45 |  #1642

Done 3 more sketches since...

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/Misc/Sketches/i-3SNQbrf/0/082a8dec/X3/20200919-Canon%20EOS-1D%20X%20Mark%20III-1DX35739-X3.jpg

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/Misc/Sketches/i-6fFVz8R/0/2fe1eb68/X3/20200924-Canon%20EOS-1D%20X%20Mark%20III-1DX38675-X3.jpg

IMAGE: https://photos.smugmug.com/Misc/Sketches/i-2KvrWhT/0/9d6bb6c4/X3/20200928-Canon%20EOS-1D%20X%20Mark%20III-1DX38912-X3.jpg

Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
huntersdad
Goldmember
4,862 posts
Likes: 647
Joined Nov 2008
     
Sep 29, 2020 07:46 |  #1643

fordmondeo wrote in post #19130972 (external link)
I have a feeling the frame rate drops with high ISO.
Could be wrong though.

That could very well be it. I haven't found that in any writings yet though, so I may reach out to CPS. I find it funny that the 1DxII didn't have this kinda of issue, so I'm wondering if I tweak the frame rate setting down a little if it would respond better - or more like my 1DxII.


Facebook (external link)

http://WWW.BLENDEDLIGH​TPHOTOGRAPHY.COM (external link)
1DxIII x 2 / 24 1.4 II / Sigma 35 1.4 / 85 1.4L / 70-200L II / 300 II / AD600Pros

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chuckmiller
Goldmember
Avatar
2,668 posts
Gallery: 48 photos
Likes: 3577
Joined May 2012
Location: Lakeland, Florida
     
Sep 29, 2020 08:50 |  #1644

huntersdad wrote in post #19130487 (external link)
...If I get more than 3 shots of a swimmer in a burst, I have accomplished something - meaning the camera either isn't firing the shutter or the AF is taking so long to acquire focus it's ridiculous..

Could this be related to processing time? Do you maybe have options turned on such as Dual Pixel RAW or Digital Lens Optimizer? Those increase processing time and slow down operations.


.
.
.
Retired from Fire/Rescue with 30 years on the job 1/05/2019

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Red ­ Dog
Goldmember
Avatar
1,208 posts
Gallery: 196 photos
Likes: 1713
Joined Feb 2007
Location: N Ireland
Post edited over 1 year ago by Red Dog.
     
Sep 29, 2020 09:43 |  #1645

huntersdad wrote in post #19131595 (external link)
That could very well be it. I haven't found that in any writings yet though, so I may reach out to CPS. I find it funny that the 1DxII didn't have this kinda of issue, so I'm wondering if I tweak the frame rate setting down a little if it would respond better - or more like my 1DxII.

Your high ISO is our normal evening light setting and I've seen no issues at much higher ISO.


www.davidmaginnissport​sphotography.zenfolio.​com/ (external link)
Canon 1DX mkii +Canon 1DX - Canon EF 200-400 F4, Canon 300 IS F2.8 + Canon 70-200 F2.8 & Sigma 120-300 f2.8 Sport
Other Photos: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/actionpix/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jwcdds
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
15,050 posts
Gallery: 1767 photos
Best ofs: 5
Likes: 6101
Joined Aug 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
     
Sep 29, 2020 10:57 |  #1646

Perhaps he's got a bad copy of the 1dx3? Not likely, but also not impossible.


Julian
Gear/Feedbacks | SmugMug (external link) | Flickr (external link) | Blog (external link) | Instagram (external link) | YouTube (external link)
My Reviews | "The Mighty One" (external link) | "EF 85mm f/1.4 L IS Review" (external link)
Founding member and President of the BOGUS Photo Club (Blatantly-Over-Geared & Under-Skilled)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
huntersdad
Goldmember
4,862 posts
Likes: 647
Joined Nov 2008
     
Sep 29, 2020 12:08 |  #1647

chuckmiller wrote in post #19131634 (external link)
Could this be related to processing time? Do you maybe have options turned on such as Dual Pixel RAW or Digital Lens Optimizer? Those increase processing time and slow down operations.

The only option I have turned on is the in-camera High ISO jpeg processing. I've found it can do better than I can by a pretty good margin. In talking with CPS this morning, that should not be a slowing factor.

Red Dog wrote in post #19131659 (external link)
Your high ISO is our normal evening light setting and I've seen no issues at much higher ISO.

CPS thinks I have a setting turned that is causing problems. I'm going to do a factory reset and then start the set up process over again.


Facebook (external link)

http://WWW.BLENDEDLIGH​TPHOTOGRAPHY.COM (external link)
1DxIII x 2 / 24 1.4 II / Sigma 35 1.4 / 85 1.4L / 70-200L II / 300 II / AD600Pros

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Red ­ Dog
Goldmember
Avatar
1,208 posts
Gallery: 196 photos
Likes: 1713
Joined Feb 2007
Location: N Ireland
     
Sep 29, 2020 15:24 |  #1648

huntersdad wrote in post #19131739 (external link)
The only option I have turned on is the in-camera High ISO jpeg processing. I've found it can do better than I can by a pretty good margin. In talking with CPS this morning, that should not be a slowing factor.

CPS thinks I have a setting turned that is causing problems. I'm going to do a factory reset and then start the set up process over again.

Try that site for base settings that I posted the link to. I've set mine up similar to that and had no issues to date. Its very easy to change a setting in error and then find it impacts adversely on performance. I've had the odd issue in the past with mk1 and mkii, but thankfully was able to resolve them by re-tracing my steps. The mkiii is a different beast altogether as the menu system is even more comprehensive than the other 2 bodies combined.


www.davidmaginnissport​sphotography.zenfolio.​com/ (external link)
Canon 1DX mkii +Canon 1DX - Canon EF 200-400 F4, Canon 300 IS F2.8 + Canon 70-200 F2.8 & Sigma 120-300 f2.8 Sport
Other Photos: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/actionpix/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2slo
Cream of the Crop
7,017 posts
Gallery: 833 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 11533
Joined Oct 2011
     
Sep 30, 2020 10:30 |  #1649

IMAGE: https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/50401593382_252a4e5d46_h.jpg
IMAGE LINK: https://flic.kr/p/2jMP​kKm  (external link) Death surrounded by life (external link) by Mark (external link), on Flickr



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Red ­ Dog
Goldmember
Avatar
1,208 posts
Gallery: 196 photos
Likes: 1713
Joined Feb 2007
Location: N Ireland
     
Oct 05, 2020 11:10 |  #1650

huntersdad wrote in post #19130848 (external link)
R5 with smaller single point in crop mode. Swimmer is in lane 5, as far as they can get from me.


thumbnail
Hosted photo: posted by huntersdad in
./showthread.php?p=191​30848&i=i249821435
forum: Canon EOS Digital Cameras

Was speaking to a colleague who was shooting a floodlit soccer match the other night and he described similar slow shutter speed which he described as intermittent. I spoke to him about it, and from what he informed me, it appears to have been an issue when the autofocus is struggling to identify and retain focus on the subject, possibly due to the poor lighting or lack of contrast. He said it sounded like the shutter was misfiring.
I would hazard a guess that you have the same issue which is being caused by the water droplets. You might need to experiment with the AF settings to get something suitable.


www.davidmaginnissport​sphotography.zenfolio.​com/ (external link)
Canon 1DX mkii +Canon 1DX - Canon EF 200-400 F4, Canon 300 IS F2.8 + Canon 70-200 F2.8 & Sigma 120-300 f2.8 Sport
Other Photos: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/actionpix/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

368,057 views & 8,758 likes for this thread
Official 1dx Mark III owners unite! Post photos and discuss.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bluredsky
765 guests, 245 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.