Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Guest
Forums  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Digital Cameras 
Thread started 09 Jul 2020 (Thursday) 08:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

Canon EOS R5 Unite and Discuss!

 
rndman
Goldmember
1,640 posts
Gallery: 184 photos
Likes: 1151
Joined Apr 2008
     
Nov 27, 2020 06:48 |  #1936

goalerjones wrote in post #19158192 (external link)
Still no EF-R adapters...

Looks like you just missed the boat. There were more than 20 in stock at Canon direct store just a day or two ago.


smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
edmidlifecrisis
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,373 posts
Gallery: 314 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 40755
Joined Jun 2014
Location: Palm Beach County, FL
     
Nov 27, 2020 10:59 |  #1937

My dead R5 is back from CPS. The repair ticket says it had the main circuit board replaced. Same thing happened to my new 7dII a few years back!!

I have to test it and reprogram it now........


Ed
https://www.sandhillim​ages.com/ (external link)
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/127634200@N05/ (external link)
https://500px.com/edtl (external link)
Instagram @elsdvm90

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mccamli
Goldmember
Avatar
1,108 posts
Gallery: 54 photos
Best ofs: 4
Likes: 4131
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Perth, WA
     
Nov 27, 2020 17:13 |  #1938

edmidlifecrisis wrote in post #19158344 (external link)
My dead R5 is back from CPS. The repair ticket says it had the main circuit board replaced. Same thing happened to my new 7dII a few years back!!

I have to test it and reprogram it now........

My R5 froze for the first time the other day (I've taken about 10-15 thousand shots) but a quick removal and replacement of the battery did the trick. Your experience had me worried for a second or two though.

Good luck with the repaired camera. Better for it to give up the ghost now rather than a couple of years time I suppose.


Flickr (external link)
500PX (external link)
Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
edmidlifecrisis
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,373 posts
Gallery: 314 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 40755
Joined Jun 2014
Location: Palm Beach County, FL
     
Nov 27, 2020 17:23 |  #1939

mccamli wrote in post #19158517 (external link)
My R5 froze for the first time the other day (I've taken about 10-15 thousand shots) but a quick removal and replacement of the battery did the trick. Your experience had me worried for a second or two though.

Good luck with the repaired camera. Better for it to give up the ghost now rather than a couple of years time I suppose.

Agreed. Most failures happen in the short term after purchase. My 7DII had the same issue about 5 years ago. After the board was replace it has gone many tens of thousands of clicks without any issues.


Ed
https://www.sandhillim​ages.com/ (external link)
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/127634200@N05/ (external link)
https://500px.com/edtl (external link)
Instagram @elsdvm90

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Windsun33
Member
Avatar
208 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 25
Joined Mar 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
     
Nov 27, 2020 20:50 as a reply to  @ post 19158153 |  #1940

Looks like Kenmore is sold out already. Showed stock this afternoon, but now on backorder. Probably a good thing, if I get a 2nd R5 I would have to start making decisions about all my other gear.


My first real camera was a Canon F1. That was a long time ago.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AcademicNomad
Goldmember
1,101 posts
Gallery: 27 photos
Likes: 3460
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
     
Nov 27, 2020 20:56 |  #1941

Would V60 rated SD cards suffice for R5 use? I don’t need to do 8k video. 4K video (mostly 1080p) and BIF photography are the primary uses.


Desire to learn; a camera & a few other things.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mtdewlarissa
Member
35 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 28
Joined Mar 2009
Location: central pa
     
Nov 27, 2020 21:13 |  #1942

i got an r 5 from Kenmore this afternoon. should be here next week. i have an r now. which in all honesty is my least favorite body that i have owned




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LoneRider
Goldmember
Avatar
4,018 posts
Gallery: 1009 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 14200
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Marysville, WA.
     
Nov 27, 2020 22:50 |  #1943

goalerjones wrote in post #19158192 (external link)
Still no EF-R adapters...


Several aftermarket ones avail on Amazon


Wayne...
IF METADATA SAYS “SONY A7” - IT WAS SHOT WITH EOS R7!
~I don't suffer from gear ADD, I embrace and enjoy it...~
Canon EOS R5, R6, R7, and a bunch of glass...

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,880 posts
Gallery: 237 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 3603
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
Post edited over 2 years ago by Methodical. (4 edits in all)
     
Nov 28, 2020 00:12 |  #1944

AcademicNomad wrote in post #19158593 (external link)
Would V60 rated SD cards suffice for R5 use? I don’t need to do 8k video. 4K video (mostly 1080p) and BIF photography are the primary uses.


The V60 will suffice. All are not created equal, so do some research on the unit you are considering.

https://shop.prograded​igital.com …s-ii-v60-250r-memory-card (external link)


Gear
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
AcademicNomad
Goldmember
1,101 posts
Gallery: 27 photos
Likes: 3460
Joined Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
     
Nov 28, 2020 00:23 |  #1945

Methodical wrote in post #19158651 (external link)
The V60 will suffice, but if you can stretch it go for a V90 (not necessary though). All are not created equal, so do some research on the unit you are considering.

https://shop.prograded​igital.com …s-ii-v60-250r-memory-card (external link)

Thanks


Desire to learn; a camera & a few other things.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rndman
Goldmember
1,640 posts
Gallery: 184 photos
Likes: 1151
Joined Apr 2008
     
Nov 28, 2020 08:23 |  #1946

AcademicNomad wrote in post #19158593 (external link)
Would V60 rated SD cards suffice for R5 use? I don’t need to do 8k video. 4K video (mostly 1080p) and BIF photography are the primary uses.

Exactly what I wanted to know as well. I won't even do any video (at least for now). It's just BIF.
I was considering V90 to be on safer side. V60 is 130 MB/s vs V90 250 MB/s. Almost double the speed.
I don't know if buffer will runout for V60 when you are doing a burst.


smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Methodical
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
7,880 posts
Gallery: 237 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 3603
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Where ever I lay my hat is my home
     
Nov 28, 2020 13:41 |  #1947

rndman wrote in post #19158744 (external link)
Exactly what I wanted to know as well. I won't even do any video (at least for now). It's just BIF.
I was considering V90 to be on safer side. V60 is 130 MB/s vs V90 250 MB/s. Almost double the speed.
I don't know if buffer will runout for V60 when you are doing a burst.

I’d go V90 to be on the safe side and to have just in case you decide to flip that video button.


Gear
MethodicalImages (external link)
Flickr (external link)
"Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic"

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JayLT
Senior Member
985 posts
Gallery: 541 photos
Best ofs: 8
Likes: 12776
Joined Sep 2019
     
Nov 28, 2020 16:46 |  #1948

rndman wrote in post #19158744 (external link)
Exactly what I wanted to know as well. I won't even do any video (at least for now). It's just BIF.
I was considering V90 to be on safer side. V60 is 130 MB/s vs V90 250 MB/s. Almost double the speed.
I don't know if buffer will runout for V60 when you are doing a burst.

I use ProGrade V60 SD cards almost exclusively on my R5 right now. If you shoot CRAW and mechanical shutter, you'll have a challenge to outrun the buffer, but it can be done. If you shoot RAW, it's a bit easier to fill the buffer as expected.

I get between 80-90 shots on average when using CRAW and a V60 card, and around 50 shots on average when using RAW. I rarely hold the shutter down that long, and normally use the mechanical shutter, so I rarely run into the buffer.


Flickr stream: https://flic.kr/ps/se6​hB (external link)
Currently using Canon 90D and 5Ds

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rndman
Goldmember
1,640 posts
Gallery: 184 photos
Likes: 1151
Joined Apr 2008
     
Nov 28, 2020 18:30 |  #1949

JayLT wrote in post #19158977 (external link)
I use ProGrade V60 SD cards almost exclusively on my R5 right now. If you shoot CRAW and mechanical shutter, you'll have a challenge to outrun the buffer, but it can be done. If you shoot RAW, it's a bit easier to fill the buffer as expected.

I get between 80-90 shots on average when using CRAW and a V60 card, and around 50 shots on average when using RAW. I rarely hold the shutter down that long, and normally use the mechanical shutter, so I rarely run into the buffer.

Thanks. Good to know.
I too don't spray that much. But sometimes when action is happening in front of you, the experience (with 7D2) has been that the buffer strikes at the key moment.
With R5's 12 fps and 20fps speeds that may happen is my guess and hence was wondering if it would be wise to get V90.
But of course this is all theory in my mind as I don't have R5 yet.


smugmug (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ Sheehy
Goldmember
4,505 posts
Likes: 1190
Joined Jan 2010
     
Nov 29, 2020 01:21 |  #1950

rndman wrote in post #19159002 (external link)
Thanks. Good to know.
I too don't spray that much. But sometimes when action is happening in front of you, the experience (with 7D2) has been that the buffer strikes at the key moment.
With R5's 12 fps and 20fps speeds that may happen is my guess and hence was wondering if it would be wise to get V90.
But of course this is all theory in my mind as I don't have R5 yet.

That's one area where crop mode can be useful. Crop mode loses pixel and lens resolution, and gets more image-level noise unless you use a 1.6x lower f-number (or were going to crop in software, anyway), but it prevents or greatly slows buffer filling. Using a smaller vertical area of the sensor for your final image also has another benefit: less rolling shutter time down the final image. For example, if you were shooting the front of three planes that all had the same propellers turning at the same RPM, but were at three very different distances from you, and you cropped out each plane for the same composition, the closer plane would have the absolute worst propeller distortion, and the farthest one the least. It is the diameter of the outside edges of the propeller that determine how distorted the outer parts become. You can see that suggested in a single propeller; the center area may not be distorted much at all, but only the outer edges are.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links (only for non-logged)

773,595 views & 4,866 likes for this thread, 234 members have posted to it and it is followed by 188 members.
Canon EOS R5 Unite and Discuss!
FORUMS Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Forums   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset   •  Home

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.55forum software
version 2.55 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is marsmith64
377 guests, 163 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15,144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.