Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 02 Apr 2007 (Monday) 13:29
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

on board flash jammed on 30D

 
momof2boys
Member
Avatar
227 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Dallas,Tx
     
Apr 02, 2007 13:29 |  #1

My Monday has started off on the right foot......

went to unload my card today and sat the camera next to me on the computer desk not knowing my 1yr old was heading around the corner. yanked down on the next strap and there went my poor camera on the carpet.

of course my 50mm 1.8 kind of busted :rolleyes: (which I'm really not worried about-excuse for an upgrade i guess) but my on-board flash is jammed down in one corner of it preventing it to pop up!

I'm really afraid to touch it myself incase I pull too hard and end up breaking the entire flash itself off or something horrible like that i'm definitely not qualified to fix .

Here's a picture of the 'damage' for a visual


has anyone had this happen from a fall? is it pricey to fix?


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


-Chelsea-
30D - *BROKE*Nifty Fifty - kit lens- EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6
"I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it." ~Author Unknown

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
coreypolis
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,793 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Mercer Island, WA
     
Apr 02, 2007 13:30 |  #2
bannedPermanent ban

you'd be better off getting a 430ex instead of paying to fix it.

Remember:

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://img.photobucket​.com …1/viperx27/Flah​ssssss.gif (external link)
HTTP response: 404 | Byte size: ZERO

Photographic Resources (external link) || International Photo Journalist (external link)

Blog (external link)

Seattle Wedding Photographer - Corey Polis Photographer (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
momof2boys
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
227 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Dallas,Tx
     
Apr 02, 2007 13:38 |  #3

thanks, I have one! Even though I don't use the flash on the camera. it would be nice to have it working anyways i guess. but i can live with it. It does look kind of ghetto to me though.

hahaha i love that icon. direct flash does stink. maybe this was a sign of the camera Gods to force me to use my 430ex more often. (sigh)

coreypolis wrote in post #2972447 (external link)
you'd be better off getting a 430ex instead of paying to fix it.

Remember:
IMAGE NOT FOUND PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://img.photobucket​.com …1/viperx27/Flah​ssssss.gif (external link)
HTTP response: 404 | Byte size: ZERO


-Chelsea-
30D - *BROKE*Nifty Fifty - kit lens- EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6
"I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it." ~Author Unknown

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
puttick
Senior Member
Avatar
809 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 18
Joined Mar 2002
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
     
Apr 02, 2007 17:30 |  #4

On one side of the hot shoe, under the rail, you will find a little switch. Jiggle that, and you will probably find the flash will pop up. Hopefully that will fix your problem for free!

Cheers
Nigel


Nigel Puttick
North Yorkshire, UK

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CoolToolGuy
Boosting Ruler Sales
Avatar
4,175 posts
Joined Aug 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
     
Apr 02, 2007 18:08 as a reply to  @ puttick's post |  #5

It happened to my 20D. The camera fell off of my tripod after the Quick Release didn't lock properly. The flash worked after the fall for over a year, but gradually it got more difficult to pop up the flash. Canon Service fixed it for $250, and it looks like they replaced the entire top of the body - flash, hot shoe, and shutter button.

Have Fun,


Rick

My Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
20droger
Cream of the Crop
14,685 posts
Likes: 25
Joined Dec 2006
     
Apr 02, 2007 18:25 as a reply to  @ CoolToolGuy's post |  #6

How's the 1-yr old? Will he/she make 2?

You know, you could use this as an excuse to upgrade to a 5D....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
momof2boys
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
227 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Dallas,Tx
     
Apr 02, 2007 19:53 |  #7

Thanks Nigel, I will give that a try tonight and see if that doesn't do the trick.

puttick wrote in post #2973770 (external link)
On one side of the hot shoe, under the rail, you will find a little switch. Jiggle that, and you will probably find the flash will pop up. Hopefully that will fix your problem for free!

Cheers
Nigel


-Chelsea-
30D - *BROKE*Nifty Fifty - kit lens- EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6
"I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it." ~Author Unknown

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
momof2boys
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
227 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Dallas,Tx
     
Apr 02, 2007 19:54 |  #8

oh boy. i figured it would be pricey if i have to send it in. maybe i'll just suck it up and live with the defect if our try to pop it back up doesn't work. thanks. :lol:


CoolToolGuy wrote in post #2973999 (external link)
It happened to my 20D. The camera fell off of my tripod after the Quick Release didn't lock properly. The flash worked after the fall for over a year, but gradually it got more difficult to pop up the flash. Canon Service fixed it for $250, and it looks like they replaced the entire top of the body - flash, hot shoe, and shutter button.

Have Fun,


-Chelsea-
30D - *BROKE*Nifty Fifty - kit lens- EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6
"I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it." ~Author Unknown

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
momof2boys
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
227 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Dallas,Tx
     
Apr 02, 2007 19:57 |  #9

haha He's fine, thanks for asking. After some firm "No No's " (well a gazillion of them I would say) and a little fit, he's back to normal.

I told my husband about your reply- boy did that get a chuckle out of him. seeing that I got this camera in December of this year. Eventually, this one will be my back up, hopefully it won't be all jacked up by then.

Certainly have learned another lesson today.

20droger wrote in post #2974084 (external link)
How's the 1-yr old? Will he/she make 2?

You know, you could use this as an excuse to upgrade to a 5D....


-Chelsea-
30D - *BROKE*Nifty Fifty - kit lens- EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6
"I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it." ~Author Unknown

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JWright
Planes, trains and ham radio...
Avatar
18,399 posts
Likes: 27
Joined Dec 2004
     
Apr 02, 2007 20:35 as a reply to  @ momof2boys's post |  #10

Have you tried popping the flash up with the flash button? What I'd do is try to pop the flash up with the button at the same time pulling up gently on the flash itself. If this doesn't work, I'd just stick to using your shoe flash and not worry about the built-in.

The pop-up flash is one of the weak points of the entry and mid-level Canon cameras. Ever notice they don't have them on the Series 1 cameras or the 5D? I've had four different Canons, 2 film and 2 digital, that had the built-in flashes and not one of them worked properly for very long. I gave up on them a long time ago...


John

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,272 views & 0 likes for this thread
on board flash jammed on 30D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is bsowde
767 guests, 385 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.