Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 19 Apr 2007 (Thursday) 23:48
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Sandisk Ultra II

 
Kirby
Member
Avatar
185 posts
Likes: 67
Joined Nov 2005
Location: 45min. from Yosemite
     
Apr 19, 2007 23:48 |  #1

Just wondering if anyone has had problems with this CF. I bought a 2Gb to add to the 1Gb & 2Gb I have been using for some time. The new one would only record in JPEG. All raw CR2 files came up blank using Canon DPP. Tried formatting in camera and also in computer. No luck. I returned it and the replacement acted the same. So I went to a different retailer for another. Same symptoms. Finally replaced it with a 2Gb Extreem III. No more problems.


"It's the photographer's task to explore,photograph and share with others... that which they otherwise might miss" -William Neill

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
AmpedPhoto
Goldmember
Avatar
1,165 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Mar 2006
Location: socal
     
Apr 19, 2007 23:53 |  #2

thats funny you said that, my one gig is doing the same thing. I got it at best buy and about 2 months after I got it it was dead. Keeps bringing up errors.


Canon 5D Mark II (x2), 30D, 40D, G10, 70-200 F4 IS (x2), 16-35 f2.8 L, 50mm 1.4, 430 EX II (x2), 580 EX II Tamron 28-75 F2.8 (x2), Tonkia 12-24 F4, 10-18 Fisheye, Full studio with some light :)
AmpedPhoto.com (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
goatee
"nice but dim"
Avatar
5,239 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: North of London, UK
     
Apr 20, 2007 03:18 |  #3

I only have Ultra IIs. I have 2 2GB cards, and a 4GB card, and all of them have performed flawlessly. I shoot RAW only. Even the best cards every now and again have problems, but contact Sandisk, they have a great rep for customer service.


D7100, 50mm f/1.8, 18-140mm f/3.5-5.6, 70-300mm f/3.5-5.6 VR, SB800
https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=552906flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Apr 20, 2007 03:49 |  #4

Never had any problems either...


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 225
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Apr 20, 2007 09:33 |  #5

Kirby wrote in post #3072570 (external link)
Just wondering if anyone has had problems with this CF. I bought a 2Gb to add to the 1Gb & 2Gb I have been using for some time. The new one would only record in JPEG. All raw CR2 files came up blank using Canon DPP. Tried formatting in camera and also in computer. No luck. I returned it and the replacement acted the same. So I went to a different retailer for another. Same symptoms. Finally replaced it with a 2Gb Extreem III. No more problems.

Sure you hadn't accidentally knocked the camera's mode over into the Basic Zone? I can't think of any reason that a card would care what type file it's writing. And were you consistently using the same method (and what was it) to move files from the card to the computer?


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JMHPhotography
Goldmember
Avatar
4,784 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2005
Location: New Hampshire
     
Apr 20, 2007 10:25 |  #6

Kirby wrote in post #3072570 (external link)
Just wondering if anyone has had problems with this CF. I bought a 2Gb to add to the 1Gb & 2Gb I have been using for some time. The new one would only record in JPEG. All raw CR2 files came up blank using Canon DPP. Tried formatting in camera and also in computer. No luck. I returned it and the replacement acted the same. So I went to a different retailer for another. Same symptoms. Finally replaced it with a 2Gb Extreem III. No more problems.


I have a handful of Ultra's and I'm not seeing anything like what you describe.


~John

(aka forkball)
Have a peek into my Gearbag. and My flickr (external link)
editing of my photos by permission only. Thanks

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pinto
Always in our hearts and minds. R.I.P.
Avatar
3,124 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 271
Joined Jan 2005
Location: Idaho
     
Apr 20, 2007 10:58 |  #7

It's got to be the camera not the card. Like Jon said above, It doesn't make any sense that the card would not accept RAW. It's a problem with the media writer (camera), not the media.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cyclone
Senior Member
Avatar
358 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Illinois, USA
     
Apr 20, 2007 11:07 |  #8

I've got 4 - 1Gb Ultra IIs without any problems.


20D · elan7 · G2
ef24/2.8 · ef50/1.8 · ef85/1.8 · efs10-22
tamron 28-75/2.8 · 70-200/4.0 · 100-400
420ex · other stuffhttp://cyclone.zenfoli​o.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Kirby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Avatar
185 posts
Likes: 67
Joined Nov 2005
Location: 45min. from Yosemite
     
Apr 20, 2007 20:40 |  #9

Thanks everyone for your response. I guess I must have just run across a bad group of cards. The 2Gb Extreme III I picked up as a replacement is working just fine.


"It's the photographer's task to explore,photograph and share with others... that which they otherwise might miss" -William Neill

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobbyT
Goldmember
Avatar
1,202 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Dec 2005
     
Apr 21, 2007 11:56 |  #10

Never had any problems with my 2gb ultra IIs and I only shoot raw.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Digitalwave
Senior Member
Avatar
806 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
     
Apr 21, 2007 11:56 as a reply to  @ Kirby's post |  #11

I have 5 Ultra II cards, never had a problem with any of them.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
stevieboy378
Senior Member
Avatar
443 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Walsall, England
     
Apr 21, 2007 12:09 |  #12

I also own a couple of 4Gig Ultra II's, and they're superb . . .


EOS 5D & 350D
EF 24-105L IS | EF 70-200f4L | EF 17-40 f4 L | EF 50 f1.4 USM
430EX Speedlite
Epson P-2000 | Photoshop CS3 | Lightroom 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
photographer ­ unknown
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Jan 2005
     
Apr 21, 2007 12:42 |  #13

I have an older Ultra II that I have never had a problem with. Yesterday Costco had such great prices on them that I picked up another. I can not figure out why it would accept jpegs and not raw files. It just does not make any sense. But you can be sure that I will be running a quick test on this new card before I head out the door with it this afternoon.

Mel




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EORI
Senior Member
Avatar
821 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 22
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
     
Apr 21, 2007 21:51 |  #14

It doesn't sound like a memory card issue; they don't distinguish among data type. It sounds more like a problem with the imaging software. Are you using the latest version of the software to view the RAW images?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,307 views & 0 likes for this thread
Sandisk Ultra II
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is despedidasolte
951 guests, 189 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.