Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Nov 2004 (Friday) 13:48
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

20D no infra-red remote - workaround?

 
LexLuther
Member
78 posts
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
     
Nov 05, 2004 13:48 |  #1

I noticed in a comparison that the 20D does not have the infra-red remote abilities as the D-Rebel. Is there a work around to get it to work somehow? What would my options be? I find this to be invaluable when my wife and I are on trips, and posing for the camera, one of usually just clicks off the remote for the 2 sec. delay.

The salesperson mentioned the camera has some sort of connection for transmitter/flash, but I wasn't 100% sure what he meant.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
slin100
Senior Member
976 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2003
Location: Cupertino, CA
     
Nov 05, 2004 14:28 |  #2

Sadly, I don't think there's any inexpensive remote-triggering solution for the 20D. Canon offers the LC-4 Wireless Controlller at a mere $410.

If you have Pocket Wizard radio remotes, you can buy a cord to connect the receiver to the camera's remote triggering port. The cost of buying Pocket Wizards and the cord ends up being about the same as the LC-4. So, this option really only makes sense if you already have them.

I wouldn't be surprised if someone has engineered a DIY wireless trigger.

Otherwise, the 20D has 10 second self-timer. Run quickly. :wink:


Steven
7D, 10D, 17-40/4L, 50/1.8 Mk I, 85/1.8, Tamron 28-75/2.8, 28-135/3.5-5.6 IS, 80-200/2.8L, 550EX, Pocket Wizard

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,324 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Apr 2004
Location: where the buffalo roam
     
Nov 05, 2004 14:56 |  #3

if you have a pda you MAY be able to do something...

just a though. Not too sure about that.


National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jesper
Goldmember
Avatar
2,742 posts
Joined Oct 2003
Location: The Netherlands
     
Nov 06, 2004 00:48 |  #4

LexLuther wrote:
I noticed in a comparison that the 20D does not have the infra-red remote abilities as the D-Rebel. Is there a work around to get it to work somehow? What would my options be? I find this to be invaluable when my wife and I are on trips, and posing for the camera, one of usually just clicks off the remote for the 2 sec. delay.

The salesperson mentioned the camera has some sort of connection for transmitter/flash, but I wasn't 100% sure what he meant.

I don't have a 20D (I have a 10D), but the delay should be 10 seconds instead of 2 seconds, unless you use mirror lock-up (custom function #12). From dpreview.com:

Self-Timer delay is by default 10 seconds, however if you use mirror lockup (C.Fn 12) the delay is reduced to 2 seconds.

You don't necessarily need an expensive LC-4 wireless remote controller, you could also use the TC-80N3 (external link) timer remote controller (still $133 at B&H...).


Canon EOS 5D Mark III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ingouk
Member
54 posts
Joined Jul 2004
     
Nov 06, 2004 00:59 |  #5

on ebay someone sells wireless remotes for 10D/20D/1D/1DMK2.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …8832&rd=1&ssPag​eName=WD2V (external link)

maybe that would help you




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
scottbergerphoto
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
5,429 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
     
Nov 06, 2004 06:31 |  #6

A Pocket Wizard Plus set and a Pre trigger cord work well on my 10D.
Scott


One World, One Voice Against Terror,
Best Regards,
Scott
ScottBergerPhotography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,477 views & 0 likes for this thread
20D no infra-red remote - workaround?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is dayuan99
1066 guests, 323 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.