Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Dec 2007 (Wednesday) 18:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

One more new 40D threat wont hurt... :)

 
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 05, 2007 18:02 |  #1

Coming in at just under $3K I have come to the conclusion that I made the right decision on the 40D. Going to a couple of events this weekend and will really put the gear through its paces. Forgive the lighting, I'm still trying to figure out off camera flash with this camera. It seems I cannot use the Cactus remotes while in Live View and must set the flash sync to 1/250 vs Auto for all the flashes to fire and only then while in Manual Mode (but shutter speed + aperture are still adjustable). Anyone that would like to explain why this happens would be great.

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://img.photobucket​.com …136/jlozan87/_M​G_0232.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Byte size: ZERO



Test Photo....
PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://img.photobucket​.com …136/jlozan87/_M​G_0242.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: 404 | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Byte size: ZERO



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
Avatar
4,052 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2005
Location: Piteå, Sweden
     
Dec 05, 2007 18:35 |  #2

The highest flash sync the camera can do is 1/250 s. Although that's not completely true, but Hi Sync only works with the 580EX's if you fire them through their own system (i.e. you can have a ST-E2 or a 580EX as a master). So you have to suffer with smaller apertures while using off camera flash with studio light or your SpeedLites hooked up with radio transmitters.

According to the Manual you're supposed to be able to use the SpeedLites while using Live View, but I guess that's because of the E-TTL system, and as you opt against that with radio transmitters, it causes problems with the exposure, etc. So it sounds like a natural thing that you can only use M mode, as you then tell the camera how to expose the scene.

Nice little setup you have there! :)


/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available – Joe Buissink

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 05, 2007 18:56 |  #3

CyberPet wrote in post #4447506 (external link)
The highest flash sync the camera can do is 1/250 s. Although that's not completely true, but Hi Sync only works with the 580EX's if you fire them through their own system (i.e. you can have a ST-E2 or a 580EX as a master). So you have to suffer with smaller apertures while using off camera flash with studio light or your SpeedLites hooked up with radio transmitters.

According to the Manual you're supposed to be able to use the SpeedLites while using Live View, but I guess that's because of the E-TTL system, and as you opt against that with radio transmitters, it causes problems with the exposure, etc. So it sounds like a natural thing that you can only use M mode, as you then tell the camera how to expose the scene.

Nice little setup you have there! :)

Yep, I knew that – it was just that I didn't have to change the Cn for the Cactus to work on my X T. However, you did give me an idea and thank you for that! I had been having a lot of misfires on the radio remotes with the XT – like 1 every 10 shots. And now I know why. I left the flash to Auto and it must have been triggering the flashes (pre-flash). Just spit balling, but it makes sense now. I'm using the sync mode at 1/250 with the 40D but since I'm using remotes I can set them how I wish and while in M I dial in my own settings on the camera. I'm also using the flash port vs the hotshoe. With the 40D I haven't had a misfire after 100 shots. My only question now is, does setting the sync mode to 250 have any perceivable effect on the images taken?


And thank you. :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
Avatar
4,052 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2005
Location: Piteå, Sweden
     
Dec 05, 2007 19:16 |  #4

I'm Swedish, so I'm not sure what you mean with "perceivable effect". But I guess the answer is no, unless you want a very short DOF and you might end up overexposing due to the flash not being able to fire "less" light. I know I've had a hard time with too strong studio light, as they can't be stepped down in power to give me the short DOF I want.

Not sure that's what you meant... but oh well. :D


/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available – Joe Buissink

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
QX56
Senior Member
Avatar
774 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Warren,Michigan.
     
Dec 05, 2007 19:39 |  #5

sharp photo .


1D MK III,40D,G12.1Ds mk3.
24-70L,100-400L ,70-200F2.8LIS,85L,180L macro.18-200EF-S.8-15mmL.
Raynox DCR250,Kenko set extesion tube,ST-E2.
28-200,75-300,KenKo 2X TC,430EX,580EX II,Metz45 CL1.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 05, 2007 20:16 |  #6

CyberPet wrote in post #4447693 (external link)
I'm Swedish, so I'm not sure what you mean with "perceivable effect". But I guess the answer is no, unless you want a very short DOF and you might end up overexposing due to the flash not being able to fire "less" light. I know I've had a hard time with too strong studio light, as they can't be stepped down in power to give me the short DOF I want.

Not sure that's what you meant... but oh well.

I should have been more clear :)

What I meant was that I'm firing 3 flashes in that picture (all set to manual btw); 1 on the dolls left at 1/16 power, 1 over my left shoulder at 1/2 and 1 above at 1/8. The camera reports 1/2 sec, F8, 200ISO with no flash fired – remote was connected via external flash port. The remote trigger (Cactus attached via external flash port – not hot shoe) will not trigger flashes unless I manually set the custom function “Flash Sync Speed” to 1/250 vs Auto. What I'm curious about is if this matters since everything is in manual mode.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
twofruitz
Senior Member
Avatar
840 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: AUSTRALIA
     
Dec 05, 2007 20:25 |  #7

Disabling silent shooting lets the flash go off during live view. I havent read the thread so im not sure if thats been answered yet :)


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
Avatar
4,052 posts
Likes: 2
Joined May 2005
Location: Piteå, Sweden
     
Dec 06, 2007 03:54 |  #8

MaxxuM, still not sure about what you're asking about, as you say you shoot this at 1/2 sec, when the camera's flash sync is 1/250 sec.

The problem (for me) is when there's so much light that I can't get the camera to shoot under 1/250 sec (for instance with 1/500 second, it's not going to work). In your case it looks like you could shoot at 1/250 seconds, lower the ISO and raise the amount of your flashes to output a bit more power.


/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available – Joe Buissink

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,398 views & 0 likes for this thread
One more new 40D threat wont hurt... :)
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Mbagwu
788 guests, 183 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.