Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 12 Mar 2008 (Wednesday) 08:51
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom - This Drives Me Nuts!

 
taygull
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Mar 12, 2008 08:51 |  #1

So it is really not a big deal but since I do quite a bit of photojournalism, meaning multiple shoots in one day this setting or lack thereof drives me nuts.

I've used Raw Shooter Pro and switched to Lightroom.

When in RSP you were ready to convert images and you selected the folder to convert the RAW file to jpg or tiff it would automatically come up to the file you imported the images from. You could then name a new folder (default was converted) and hit convert and off it would go.

With Lightroom it always goes to the last place you exported to, not the file of the current import! It just sucks having to navigate through the various directories to find the specific folder I want to use.

Any thoughts on how you guys deal with this?


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
SoundsGood
Goldmember
Avatar
1,968 posts
Joined Nov 2006
     
Mar 12, 2008 08:56 |  #2

I'd like to learn more about this too...



40D and a whole bunch of lenses
Canon 430EX, Kenko 1.4x, Domke F-3X, F-5XB, Zeikos grip
Zenfolio Discount Code: YGK-8U7-1GG (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Redfish
Senior Member
782 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Florida - panhandle
     
Mar 12, 2008 09:04 |  #3

With LR, pull down the "File" menu and chose "export" or ctrl E or CMD E and there is a dialog box that pulls up - one of the items is "choose export location" simply chose the folder where you want it to go or create a new one. Pretty straight forward. In the dialog box you can also choose jpg, .tiff, or psd file and level of quality and resolution

good luck


Canon 30D - 1DX 16-600 /1.2 - 5.6
6000ex's Bee's and boxes & PW's
SportsShooter.com member

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Mar 12, 2008 09:22 |  #4

Redfish wrote in post #5099909 (external link)
With LR, pull down the "File" menu and chose "export" or ctrl E or CMD E and there is a dialog box that pulls up - one of the items is "choose export location" simply chose the folder where you want it to go or create a new one. Pretty straight forward. In the dialog box you can also choose jpg, .tiff, or psd file and level of quality and resolution

good luck

Yes but that is no different than hitting the export button, the same box opens up then you must go through the process of "choosing the folder".

It should have a default setting where when I select import it knows which folder my raw images are in so I can then just export my converted images into the same folder/subfolder, the wonderful program they bought and closed had this simple feature. It saves a bunch of steps!


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SoundsGood
Goldmember
Avatar
1,968 posts
Joined Nov 2006
     
Mar 12, 2008 09:34 |  #5

In Photoshop, I would always save to the same folder that the original file came from. I would change the file name (slightly) by adding an "a" as the first letter of the file name. This allowed me to keep the files in their original folders, but separated the edited files from the originals.

Can something like this be done in LR?



40D and a whole bunch of lenses
Canon 430EX, Kenko 1.4x, Domke F-3X, F-5XB, Zeikos grip
Zenfolio Discount Code: YGK-8U7-1GG (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Halliday
Goldmember
Avatar
1,135 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Central Iowa, USA
     
Mar 12, 2008 10:20 |  #6

When working with my RAW files, I keep everything in the same master folder. With a ___ shoot folder is a RAW folder, jpeg folder and a "web" folder of resized and watermarked jpegs for posting online.


lanceshuey.com (external link)
flickr (external link)
"Like a mechanic who forgets to wipe his hands on a shop rag and then goes home, hugs his wife, and gets a grease stain on her favorite sweater — love touches you, and marks you forever."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Mar 12, 2008 11:54 |  #7

There isn't currently an 'export to the same folder as the source photos' but it is often requested, so I'd expect we'll see it in a future release. It's just a little more complicated than could be done for the releases to date, as the exporting images may be from numerous different folders.


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Mar 12, 2008 12:08 |  #8

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #5100895 (external link)
There isn't currently an 'export to the same folder as the source photos' but it is often requested, so I'd expect we'll see it in a future release. It's just a little more complicated than could be done for the releases to date, as the exporting images may be from numerous different folders.

Agree,

But give "me" the option to select the default folder to export to......

Hopefully we will see this change soon.


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davidcrebelxt
Goldmember
Avatar
3,016 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Missouri, USA
     
Mar 12, 2008 12:34 |  #9

taygull wrote in post #5100989 (external link)
Agree,

But give "me" the option to select the default folder to export to......

Hopefully we will see this change soon.

Although I don't need that option in particular, I agree with you're statement above.

The mindset of LR's developers seems to be 'the less options the better.' They point to the people who complain about the long set of options in PhotoShop and people being intimidated about that.

My mindset is... if you're intimidated by the options, don't touch them... use the built-in defaults. Options are what make an application flexible and usable by the needs of an individual.


David C.
Equipment: Canon Dig. Rebel XT; 18-55mm EF-S; 28-105mm EF; 50mm 1.8 EF
Sigma ef-500 DG ST, Elements, Gimp, Lightroom
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dcrebelxt (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jannie
Goldmember
4,936 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Mar 12, 2008 13:44 |  #10

I thought it was just me, yeah this drives me a little crazy too.


Ms.Jannie
"When you come to a fork in the road, take it"!
1DMKIII, 85LII, 24-70L, 100-400L

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Mar 12, 2008 14:46 |  #11

So you're saying you always export to a default folder, is that right? Or am I misunderstanding?

Click the little arrow to the left of the choose button - it'll show you a list of recent export folders, so your default folder should be in the list. That'll save you navigating through the folder structure.


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Mar 12, 2008 16:13 |  #12

No never export to a default folder. I would bet that 90% of photogs always export the converted images to the same main folder as the RAW images that were imported.

What should happen, and does happen w/most products is when I want to export/convert my images the window will "assume" I want to export them to the same folder I imported them from. This does not happen with Lightroom. I'm forced to go through the chose option and locate the folder than I am technically "in" (lightroom folder that the images are in).

As in most tools it then gives me an option to export them there or gives me an option to put them in a subfolder of the folder they were imported from.

Make sense?


www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
davidcrebelxt
Goldmember
Avatar
3,016 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Missouri, USA
     
Mar 12, 2008 16:15 |  #13

Just a thought... they released the portion of the SDK for Exporting, haven't they?

I wonder if it would be possible to build an export plugin that does what you ask... (such as export to same location as original.)

I don't have the time myself to look into it. Or currently have the time to learn the language right now either.


David C.
Equipment: Canon Dig. Rebel XT; 18-55mm EF-S; 28-105mm EF; 50mm 1.8 EF
Sigma ef-500 DG ST, Elements, Gimp, Lightroom
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dcrebelxt (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
taygull
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,091 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Location: McKinney, TX
     
Mar 12, 2008 16:25 |  #14

Here is a screen shot from Raw Shooter Pro. What Adobe did was buy them out, shut them down and then built Lightroom.

If you will look at the box you will see it says "save the file along side the raw file" or put in a sub-folder or I can select to save in another location. So it is not that difficult to do and it saves a ton of time!

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i100.photobucke​t.com/albums/m16/taygu​ll/RSP.jpg (external link)

www.chrisfritchiestudi​os.com (external link)
McKinney, TX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Mar 12, 2008 17:15 |  #15

Ah ok, yes, I'm with you. I've specifically asked about this in the past, as I work the same way (either to the source folder or a new subfolder within the source folder).

The reasoning, at the time, was that exported images could be in numerous different source folders, and therefore the export would have to go to multiple different folders too. That would also have implications for those wanting to automatically import the exported files back into LR, so there was potential for a LOT of bugs. The way it was set up at the time, it was going to be really complicated to do, and therefore was acknowledged as a request, but put on the backburner until it could be given the attention it needed to do it properly.

The team gets thousands of requests, and they all have to be weighed up as to priorities at the time, and how realistic they are to include in each release - they could try and add everything, but then there would be even more bugs and ..... well, you can't please everyone!

BTW, Lightroom was already well underway looooong before they bought raw shooter, and some of the technology has already been included - and that doesn't mean we won't see more inclusions in the future. But as LR was already at a late design stage, it wasn't just a case of 'borrowing code' from RawShooter to be able to add the features in - the basic structure was entirely different.

The Export SDK - yes, I would expect that to be a possibility.


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,113 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom - This Drives Me Nuts!
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Shawvon
971 guests, 340 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.