Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 19 Mar 2008 (Wednesday) 11:02
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Extreme III card and photoshop CS2/40D

 
P226kc
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
19 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Dakota
     
Mar 19, 2008 11:02 |  #1

I will throw this out for any comments:
Just purchased a 40D and new Extreme III Sandisk card. Took some photos, in Raw, then removed card to insert into computer slot for CF cards.
I am running a Dell w\XP and photoshop CS2 w\bridge.
Could not open the raw files w\bridge. Showed the files were there but would not open to see photos. Checked for updates for photoshop and bridge, but none available. Inserted card back into camera and used usb cord to computer to see photos, but could not. The files are there but will not open. Wife used her card reader and plugged into Imac, and she could open and download all the photos to her laptop, but I still cannot open them with my Dell.
I have not loaded the eos solution disks that came with the camera yet, would that be whats preventing me from opening and seeing these photos?
I used 40D to format CF card then took a couple more photos, some in jpeg and some in Raw. I can open and see the jpegs but still cannot see the raw photos.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.


7D, 70-200 IS 2.8 USM, 17-55 IS 2.8 USM, 18-55 3.5-5.6, 2 AB400 strobes

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
T.Hogan
Senior Member
Avatar
309 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2006
Location: North Alabama
     
Mar 19, 2008 11:09 |  #2

I just finished updating my CS2. I had the same problem, unable to open any raw files. Update through Adobe for your setup and you will be good to go.


7d gripped, canon 10-22. canon 50 1.4, canon 135L, Mamiya equipment.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 226
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Mar 19, 2008 11:12 |  #3

CS2 doesn't support (and never will, directly) 40D RAW. Get the latest version of Adobe's stand-alone DNG converter, or use DPP, to convert your RAW files to DNG, TIFF, or something else that CS2 can recognize. If you upgrade to CS3, it'll work too.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
P226kc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
19 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Dakota
     
Mar 19, 2008 11:39 as a reply to  @ Jon's post |  #4

Hogan:
So if I go directly to Adobe site, there is an update for CS2 that I can dL that will allow me to open and view these raw photos with my CS2 program?

Jon:
If I load the EOS software that came with the 40D, will I be able to open these
raw files with CS2 program or will I have to use the canon software?

Sorry, I'm not to bright when it come to sfuff like this.
Thanks for your replies as I am still learning.


7D, 70-200 IS 2.8 USM, 17-55 IS 2.8 USM, 18-55 3.5-5.6, 2 AB400 strobes

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 226
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Mar 19, 2008 12:01 |  #5

You'll need to use Canon's software to convert the CR2 RAW files to something that you can then open in CS2. Or get Adobe DNG Converter to convert the files to Adobe's Digital Negative, which you'll then open in CS2.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
T.Hogan
Senior Member
Avatar
309 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2006
Location: North Alabama
     
Mar 19, 2008 12:09 |  #6

Thanks for the info Jon, I had forgot about the 40d with CS2.


7d gripped, canon 10-22. canon 50 1.4, canon 135L, Mamiya equipment.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
Avatar
15,894 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
     
Mar 19, 2008 12:16 |  #7

Jon wrote in post #5147587 (external link)
CS2 doesn't support (and never will, directly) 40D RAW. Get the latest version of Adobe's stand-alone DNG converter, or use DPP, to convert your RAW files to DNG, TIFF, or something else that CS2 can recognize. If you upgrade to CS3, it'll work too.

Yea I had the same problem when I owned the 40D. It was then that I made the permanent switch to DNG. Now I dont even keep my cr2 files.


[Gear List | Flickr (external link) | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection (external link) /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
P226kc
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Avatar
19 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Joined Mar 2008
Location: South Dakota
     
Mar 19, 2008 12:21 as a reply to  @ T.Hogan's post |  #8

So, if I just upgrade to CS3 then I don't need to convert them, just use photoshop w\bridge to open them, is this correct?


7D, 70-200 IS 2.8 USM, 17-55 IS 2.8 USM, 18-55 3.5-5.6, 2 AB400 strobes

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RandyMN
Goldmember
3,131 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Aug 2005
     
Mar 19, 2008 12:30 |  #9

P226kc wrote in post #5148001 (external link)
So, if I just upgrade to CS3 then I don't need to convert them, just use photoshop w\bridge to open them, is this correct?

That's what I did but it wasn't a cheap upgrade when you already have CS2.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,112 views & 0 likes for this thread
Extreme III card and photoshop CS2/40D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is kazali
936 guests, 262 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.