Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 29 Mar 2008 (Saturday) 15:41
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flash question

 
awwdra
Mostly Lurking
15 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Mar 29, 2008 15:41 |  #1

I picked up a flash today at the local good will. it's the Maxwell m500C-zoom.
I have a 40-D and wanted to see if anyone knows if this flash is compatible... i would hate to stick it on there and it screw something up lol.
thanks in advance
Audra




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Canon400
Member
Avatar
220 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Location: yorkshire uk
     
Mar 29, 2008 16:17 |  #2

as far as i know you can only use the ( EX speedlights )not sure


CANON 400D , CANON 20D EFS 17-85 IS EF 70 210 EF 50MM F1.8 380EX 17-135IS

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
timmyeatchips
Senior Member
Avatar
336 posts
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
     
Mar 29, 2008 16:20 as a reply to  @ Canon400's post |  #3

No, there are all kinds of flashes you can use on EOS cameras. The problem with non-EX speedlites (or 3rd party specifically designed for E-TTL-II) is that they will not work with the metering system so you're stuck to either the manual power settings if available or maybe just firing at full power (don't know the unit you're talking about)

However, some older flashes have very high trigger voltages which can damage cameras. I doubt this will be a problem with the 40D but do some googling on the trigger voltage of the flash and what your camera can take before you try it out.


Canon EOS 450D | Canon 18-55mm, 55-250mm, 50mm | 430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flyingwolf
Member
66 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Batavia Ohio
     
Mar 29, 2008 17:41 |  #4

I put a couple of test leads across the cable, once it charges up there is 240 volts across that cable.

Accidentally grounded out the center pin to the outer sleeve and instant flash, so we are looking at a 240 volt trigger voltage.

Should this be used on the 40d? Or did I measure that completely wrong.


Semper Fi.
Little box that holds light.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Calicajun
Goldmember
Avatar
2,944 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 109
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Quartz Hill, CA
     
Mar 29, 2008 17:57 |  #5

flyingwolf wrote in post #5219217 (external link)
I put a couple of test leads across the cable, once it charges up there is 240 volts across that cable.

Accidentally grounded out the center pin to the outer sleeve and instant flash, so we are looking at a 240 volt trigger voltage.

Should this be used on the 40d? Or did I measure that completely wrong.

Canon 40D can not handle 240 volts, at least not more than once. Search the Flash forum there are threads there with links to sites showing compatibility of camera to flashes.


Remember, Stressed spelled backward is Desserts.:)
Suggestions welcome.
5DIII, EF 50 1.4, EF 40 f2.8, EF 24-105L IS , EF 70-200 f4L IS, 580EX ll

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flyingwolf
Member
66 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Batavia Ohio
     
Mar 29, 2008 18:11 |  #6

Was I measuring this right?
I was measuring across the sync cord.
I was assuming the outer sleeve was ground and the inner pin was hot.

When the flash was ready to fie it measured 240 volts, is that the correct way of measuring it.


Semper Fi.
Little box that holds light.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Calicajun
Goldmember
Avatar
2,944 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 109
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Quartz Hill, CA
     
Mar 29, 2008 18:30 |  #7

flyingwolf wrote in post #5219397 (external link)
Was I measuring this right?
I was measuring across the sync cord.
I was assuming the outer sleeve was ground and the inner pin was hot.

When the flash was ready to fie it measured 240 volts, is that the correct way of measuring it.

Yes, that should be the correct place to measure for voltage. I measured from the hot shoe connectors on the bottom of the flash, as it was easier than the sync cord.


Remember, Stressed spelled backward is Desserts.:)
Suggestions welcome.
5DIII, EF 50 1.4, EF 40 f2.8, EF 24-105L IS , EF 70-200 f4L IS, 580EX ll

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
flyingwolf
Member
66 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Batavia Ohio
     
Mar 29, 2008 18:54 as a reply to  @ Calicajun's post |  #8

Ok after somemore testing it is an older flash and it is indeed powering up to 240 volts.
So with that in mind its time to grab remote trigger and use it for all its worth :cool:


Semper Fi.
Little box that holds light.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Calicajun
Goldmember
Avatar
2,944 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 109
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Quartz Hill, CA
     
Mar 29, 2008 20:06 |  #9

flyingwolf wrote in post #5219696 (external link)
Ok after somemore testing it is an older flash and it is indeed powering up to 240 volts.
So with that in mind its time to grab remote trigger and use it for all its worth :cool:

That's what I use mine for, just need one more remove trigger for the second flash.


Remember, Stressed spelled backward is Desserts.:)
Suggestions welcome.
5DIII, EF 50 1.4, EF 40 f2.8, EF 24-105L IS , EF 70-200 f4L IS, 580EX ll

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
...winded
Avatar
54,657 posts
Gallery: 60 photos
Likes: 546
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
     
Mar 30, 2008 01:03 |  #10

flyingwolf wrote in post #5219217 (external link)
I put a couple of test leads across the cable, once it charges up there is 240 volts across that cable.

Accidentally grounded out the center pin to the outer sleeve and instant flash, so we are looking at a 240 volt trigger voltage.

Should this be used on the 40d? Or did I measure that completely wrong.

You need an adapter to safely uses flashes like this on a Canon DSLR. The high trigger voltages can damage the camera electronics.


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase (external link)
Wildlife project pics here (external link), Biking Photog shoots here (external link), "Suburbia" project here (external link)! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,643 views & 0 likes for this thread
Flash question
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Geoffreys123
1351 guests, 207 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.