Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 13 Apr 2008 (Sunday) 10:28
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help!! Problem with Printing Lab

 
Jam71868
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Apr 13, 2008 10:28 |  #1

I need help.

I took almost 200 tifs to the local photo lab yesterday at approximately 2 PM. They have always processed my photos within 4 hours. The photos were on two separate DVD's. Both were extremely important for the sale of the photos which was to take place at 7 PM.

The owner of the lab wasn't there, so his "assistants" took my dvd and the order. I kindly begged them to please have them done by the time they close at 6 PM. I did everything that I could except to flat out tell them they will ruin my weeks business if they don't get them done. Included in the order were 2 8x10's.

At about 5 PM I get a phone call saying that the files are too large and that their system "bogs down" when trying to load them. JUST LOAD THEM!!!
They told me that they wouldn't have ANY of them done at 6:00. I strongly told them that wasn't acceptable and that it is not acceptable that after 4 hours they don't have one image printed. They agreed to get one dvd printed and also the 8x10's.

I had another errand to run and so my wife went to pick up the photos. They didnt' have one photo done. Not one. I lost probably $300.00 in sales for not having those photos. And please note that I am an advanced amateur... $300.00 was a big deal for this shoot.

Anyway... they said something about the files being too large. The files were tifs and were approximately 17 MB each. Is there some way for me to make those files smaller for them that won't degrade the quality of the print? I am not going to submit jpegs, so that isn't an option.

Thanks for reading this, I am sure I could have made it shorter. Thank you also for your answer.


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Zvon
Member
Avatar
102 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario
     
Apr 13, 2008 11:23 |  #2

I would quickly find a lab that has reasonably new equipment or if not an equipment issue - staff that knows how to operate the systems, and if you know the owner I would express my issue with what happened.


_______________
Canon 40D w/ BGrip
24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Online Gallery .:: http://photos.zvon.ca (external link) ::.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gipetto
Senior Member
Avatar
482 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
     
Apr 13, 2008 11:28 |  #3

Not to be a jerk, but don't run that late on printing.

Whenever you choose to outsource anything (and, yes, I know most of us, including me, don't have any professional printing equipment at our houses) you must allot time for screw ups. Its just a fact of business. They may do an average 4 hour turn for you but the one time, like this one, it bites you and YOU lose. Just don't rely on it. Ever.


blog (external link) | gear | photos: zenfolio (external link), flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jam71868
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Apr 13, 2008 13:25 as a reply to  @ Gipetto's post |  #4

I appreciate the responses. However, I shot the photos the night before and they have done this job for me many times. I spent 6 hours processing and editing the photos and they couldn't print one?

I just talked to the owner, he said it was my fault. He also printed the photos when they said they wouldn't until the owner called. I told them to keep the photos. I lost money on this job, so I don't need to go back there.


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Gipetto
Senior Member
Avatar
482 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
     
Apr 13, 2008 13:31 |  #5

Why did he say it was your fault? What was the reasoning?


blog (external link) | gear | photos: zenfolio (external link), flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Apr 13, 2008 14:03 |  #6

What exactly do you need help with?


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Apr 13, 2008 14:36 |  #7

Jam71868 wrote in post #5319363 (external link)
Is there some way for me to make those files smaller for them that won't degrade the quality of the print? I am not going to submit jpegs, so that isn't an option.

jpg is the option.
tiff with LZW compression another, but that won't help much.

Why not jpg? I wager you won't see the difference between a max quality jpg and the tiff.


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Damo77
Goldmember
Avatar
4,638 posts
Likes: 97
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
     
Apr 13, 2008 17:37 |  #8

Jam71868 wrote in post #5319363 (external link)
I am not going to submit jpegs, so that isn't an option.


LOL ... I used to be like you - thankfully I've mellowed a bit.

René is absolutely right - jpegs are the best option for you.

Honestly, you won't be able to distinguish the difference between a printed tiff and printed level 10 jpeg. So for your own peace of mind, save your jpegs as Level 12, just to be safe. The files will be considerably smaller, and hopefully your problem won't occur again.


Damien
Website (external link) | Facebook (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EOS_JD
Goldmember
2,925 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Lanarkshire, Scotland
     
Apr 13, 2008 18:10 |  #9

Surprised the lab took tifs as most now request jpgs. Save the files as quality (10 or higher) jpg and the image size will be reduced drastically. You will not see a difference in a Q10 jpg and the tif.


All My Gear
5D MkIII & 5D MKII + Grips | 24-70 f2.8L IS | 24-105 f4L IS | 70-200 f2.8L IS MkII | 50 f/1.4 | 85 f1.8 | 100 f2.8 | 1.4x MkII | Tamron 17-35 f2.8-4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SlowBlink
"I like dog butts"
Avatar
1,926 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver B.C.
     
Apr 13, 2008 19:26 |  #10

I don't know of any lab that can set up 200 tif's in four hours. Then again I don't know why you'd use a tif for an 8x10 either. I won't rely on overnight for a project so I make sure a client knows that at the time of the shoot or job.


Rob
Anatidaephobia - The Fear That You are Being Watched by a Duck.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,981 posts
Likes: 358
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 13, 2008 23:01 |  #11

You left printing too late, it's your own fault. I wouldn't promise to have photos taken one night ready for the next night, and if I did i'd certianly have the payment in advance. If you were printing hoping to sell them maybe you need a new business model.

TIFFs are unnecessary and slow things down for no additional quality, this would've solved your problem. Print from JPGs, I print 50" images from JPGs no worries.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jam71868
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
536 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2006
     
Apr 14, 2008 07:17 |  #12

tim wrote in post #5323841 (external link)
You left printing too late, it's your own fault. I wouldn't promise to have photos taken one night ready for the next night, and if I did i'd certianly have the payment in advance. If you were printing hoping to sell them maybe you need a new business model.

TIFFs are unnecessary and slow things down for no additional quality, this would've solved your problem. Print from JPGs, I print 50" images from JPGs no worries.

I appreciate your responses, but again, they have done this job for me many, many times. I told them I needed them and they agreed to print. As with any business, you can't promise the customer something, especially when it is explained how important it is, and then not even deliver 1% of the transaction.


Gear:
Canon 5d MKII, Canon 40d, Canon 30d, Canon XTi
Canon 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 2.8 L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8
(2) Canon 580 EXII Flash
(2) Alien Bee 800's

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
freebird
Goldmember
1,346 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Iowa
     
Apr 14, 2008 07:24 as a reply to  @ Jam71868's post |  #13

I think you learned a lesson here it sounds like. Its not a perfect world. Things happen out of our control.

Chuck




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,981 posts
Likes: 358
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 14, 2008 07:24 |  #14

Use JPGs, not TIFFs, that would've avoided the problem.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
egordon99
Cream of the Crop
10,247 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Philly 'burbs
     
Apr 14, 2008 08:15 as a reply to  @ tim's post |  #15

Use JPGs. Problem solved. So you are saying that they have been able to print out a DVD worth of TIFFs in four hours on prior occasions?

JPGs are FINE for prints (even large ones!)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,757 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help!! Problem with Printing Lab
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is svakomnet
896 guests, 243 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.