Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Jun 2008 (Wednesday) 19:04
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1d III owners

 
Joe ­ Cyr
Senior Member
Avatar
989 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Maine
     
Jun 04, 2008 19:04 |  #1

How many of you have set your camera up to use the * for focusing, similar to the way the MKII and MKI performed? I found out how to do it on here. And have done so, because it seemed more natural for me. But I wonder how many others are doing this, and am I losing something in the process? Still so much to learn....


Canon 1D (Mark III) (Mark IV),
10d, Elan IIE (old school), 580exII
70-200 f/2.8L, 17-40 f/4L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8 (nifty)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
defordphoto
MKIII Aficionado
9,888 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest
     
Jun 04, 2008 19:23 |  #2

That was the first setting I setup. The AF button is placed wrong for my fingers to reach. Doesn't matter which button you assign.


defordphoto | Celebrating the art of photography®
SD500, 10D, 20D, 30D, 5D, 1DMKII, 1DMKIII
www.ussbaracing.com (external link) | www.rfmsports.com (external link) | www.nwfjcc.com (external link)
An austere and pleasant poetry of the real. Ansel Adams

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
remixity
Senior Member
Avatar
386 posts
Joined May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
     
Jun 04, 2008 19:54 |  #3

You don't lose much since there's already a FEB button and the option to AE lock with a half-press of the shutter button.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,899 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Jun 04, 2008 20:05 |  #4

remixity wrote in post #5661417 (external link)
You don't lose much since there's already a FEB button and the option to AE lock with a half-press of the shutter button.

You don't lose much? You don't lose anything at all because, with the Mark III, you can switch the functions of the AF-ON and the "*" buttons.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
roaming ­ oregon
Member
Avatar
157 posts
Joined Feb 2007
Location: SOCAL
     
Jun 04, 2008 20:17 |  #5

I did it and don't miss a thing.


www.jakespointofview.c​om (external link)
Gear List
https://photography-on-the.net …?p=1193134&post​count=1020

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Zivnuska
Goldmember
Avatar
3,674 posts
Gallery: 72 photos
Likes: 630
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Wichita, Kansas
     
Jun 04, 2008 20:18 |  #6

Joe Cyr wrote in post #5661147 (external link)
How many of you have set your camera up to use the * for focusing, similar to the way the MKII and MKI performed? I found out how to do it on here. And have done so, because it seemed more natural for me. But I wonder how many others are doing this, and am I losing something in the process? Still so much to learn....

I use the AF-ON button to back button focus the 1D Mark III. I always back button focus.

I'm a little unclear because of the wording of your question. Are you asking; how many of us back button focus? Or, are you asking how many of us use the AF-ON button to back button focus- vs - using the * button to do the same?


www.zivnuska.zenfolio.​com/blog (external link) = My Blog
Gear List
www.zivnuska.zenfolio.​com (external link)

"It's not tight until you see the color of the irides."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mr. ­ Clean
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,002 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jul 2005
Location: Olympia, Washington
     
Jun 04, 2008 21:26 |  #7

I use the AF-ON button to focus, it's very quick and natural. I thought it would be tougher but it's not. I go between a gripped 40D and the Mark III and it's pretty easy.
Besides, I've got my super secret backup mode and aperture set to the * button.


Mike
some shots @ Zenfolio (external link)
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
GyRob
Cream of the Crop
10,203 posts
Likes: 1385
Joined Feb 2005
Location: N.E.LINCOLNSHIRE UK.
     
Jun 05, 2008 06:27 |  #8

SHUTTER button for me im a bumper and find it easier and lets me have a better grip when hand holding large lenses.
Rob.


"The LensMaster Gimbal"
http://www.lensmaster.​co.uk/rh1.htm (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Joe ­ Cyr
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
989 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Maine
     
Jun 05, 2008 06:42 |  #9

I was asking how many switched the AF-On button with the * button. I believe it did it properly so that I merely switched the two. CFn IV: No. 2 switched to Enabled; and CFnIV: No. 1 switched to 3-AE lock/Metering + AF start.

Is that the correct procedure?


Canon 1D (Mark III) (Mark IV),
10d, Elan IIE (old school), 580exII
70-200 f/2.8L, 17-40 f/4L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8 (nifty)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JC4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,610 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
     
Jun 05, 2008 07:15 |  #10

GyRob wrote in post #5664124 (external link)
SHUTTER button for me im a bumper and find it easier and lets me have a better grip when hand holding large lenses.
Rob.

+1

I find it a lot easier to bump the focus with the shutter button on moving subject(cars, birds, people, bikes....). Like Rob, my thumb is better used as leverage to balance/steady the camera.


John Caputo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Pekka
El General Moderator
Avatar
18,005 posts
Gallery: 36 photos
Best ofs: 7
Likes: 1886
Joined Mar 2001
Location: Hellsinki, Finland
     
Jun 05, 2008 07:20 |  #11

I use * because my thumb does not work well with AF/ON button and I want to lock metering with shutter release button.


The Forum Boss, El General Moderator
AMASS 2.1 Changelog (installed here now)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,899 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Jun 05, 2008 07:21 |  #12

JC4 wrote in post #5664285 (external link)
+1

I find it a lot easier to bump the focus with the shutter button on moving subject(cars, birds, people, bikes....). Like Rob, my thumb is better used as leverage to balance/steady the camera.

If you use a wrist strap (like the E-1), this issue would be a moot one. :)


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JC4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,610 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
     
Jun 05, 2008 07:42 |  #13

PacAce wrote in post #5664315 (external link)
If you use a wrist strap (like the E-1), this issue would be a moot one. :)

Then I'd have to solve my thumb coordination issues :).

I've actually become pretty quick at bumping(or locking on when appropriate) with the shutter button. I never need to turn-off AF prior to shutter release, so I've yet to find a need for a separate button. I'm probably just too new at this, and too many other things to learn, that throwing in an extra trick just isn't required yet.


John Caputo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thatkatmat
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,342 posts
Gallery: 41 photos
Likes: 201
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, don't move here, it's wet and cold
     
Jun 05, 2008 09:56 |  #14

I have tried using the back buttons for focus no less than three times (each for about a week) Eventually I drift back to the shutter button. "Different strokes" I guess:)


My Flickr (external link)
Stuff
"Never rat on your friends and always keep your mouth shut." -Jimmy Conway
a9, 12-24/4G, 24-70/2.8GM, 100-400GM, 25/2 Batis, 55/1.8ZA, 85 /1.8FE, 85LmkII, 135L...a6300,10-18/4, 16-50PZ, 18-105PZ

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Joe ­ Cyr
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
989 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Maine
     
Jun 05, 2008 10:09 |  #15

I have always just preferred to use the back * focus button on all the cameras as it allows me to subtly tweak the focusing manually with the lenses I use. I was just wondering if I had it set up the proper way in the custom functions since it is significantly different in the MKIII menu.


Canon 1D (Mark III) (Mark IV),
10d, Elan IIE (old school), 580exII
70-200 f/2.8L, 17-40 f/4L, 85 1.8, 50 1.8 (nifty)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,544 views & 0 likes for this thread
1d III owners
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is jopuck
588 guests, 255 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.