Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 23 Jun 2008 (Monday) 19:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Triggering 2 flashes simultaneously

 
shutter_blitz
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Jun 23, 2008 19:07 |  #1

I am trying to trigger 2 flashes simultaneously with one transmitter and 2 receivers (all Cactus V2). But I can only trigger one reciever at a time on seperate channels. Can the 2 receivers fire on the same channel?

SB


Gear:
Canon 50D
EF 50mm f1.4 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM
Sunpak 383
Quantaray QSX-9500

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
FlashZebra
This space available
Avatar
4,427 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Northern Kentucky
     
Jun 23, 2008 19:14 |  #2

If they are identical radio slave sets, just set both receivers to the same so called "channel".

Enjoy! Lon


*
http://flashzebra.com/ (external link)
*

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutter_blitz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Jun 23, 2008 20:21 |  #3

I bought a brand new cactus V2 set (transmitter and receiver) and a second used receiver.
I tried all the possible channel settings. I can't get the two receivers to trigger simultaneously.


Gear:
Canon 50D
EF 50mm f1.4 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM
Sunpak 383
Quantaray QSX-9500

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Jun 23, 2008 20:28 |  #4

Have you tried moving the receivers far apart from each other? Maybe they're both interfering with each other. Also, make sure the transmitter isn't close to either one of them, either.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bob ­ D.
Member
141 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Location: NJ, USA
     
Jun 23, 2008 21:43 |  #5

shutter_blitz wrote in post #5779040 (external link)
I bought a brand new cactus V2 set (transmitter and receiver) and a second used receiver.
I tried all the possible channel settings. I can't get the two receivers to trigger simultaneously.

Are they all the same make or do they just 'look' the same. There are a couple different vendors of these so-called eBay triggers, they all may not have compatible channels (or codes if they are using DCS or some other encoding scheme). There are a number of available channels in the 433 MHz band for these low-power devices.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lotto
Goldmember
Avatar
2,702 posts
Likes: 164
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Southern California
     
Jun 24, 2008 03:02 |  #6

From what I read, the V2 Tx can not trigger V1 Rx. How about use a optical slave on the second flash?


5D, 24-105L, 70-200L IS, 85mm Art, Godox

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutter_blitz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Jun 24, 2008 08:30 |  #7

PacAce,
I will try moving the units apart.
Bob D.
I am pretty sure they are the same brand. I'll check just to be sure.
Lotto,
Which brand do u suggest for an optical slave for a sunpak 383?


Gear:
Canon 50D
EF 50mm f1.4 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM
Sunpak 383
Quantaray QSX-9500

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Lotto
Goldmember
Avatar
2,702 posts
Likes: 164
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Southern California
     
Jun 24, 2008 15:02 |  #8

The Sonia optical slave From FlashZ works fine with my 383.

http://flashzebra.com/​opticalslaves/0003.sht​ml (external link)


5D, 24-105L, 70-200L IS, 85mm Art, Godox

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutter_blitz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Jun 24, 2008 17:26 |  #9

Thanks.
Will I lose shutter speed by using an optical slave? I am thinking the delay in the optical slave detecting a flash burst will be a factor.


Gear:
Canon 50D
EF 50mm f1.4 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM
Sunpak 383
Quantaray QSX-9500

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
psxindo
Senior Member
419 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Location: So Cal
     
Jun 24, 2008 18:01 |  #10

shutter_blitz wrote in post #5779040 (external link)
I bought a brand new cactus V2 set (transmitter and receiver) and a second used receiver.

what do you mean by a second used receiver?

could it be that the second receiver is V2 not V2s?

from what I heard V2 and V2s is not compatible.

I used 3 V2 receiver to trigger 3 flashes and it works perfectly.


5D mkIII | 5D mkII | 6D | EOS M | 16-35L | 24-70L | 70-200L 2.8 IS mkII | EF-M 22 | 50 1.4 | 85L | 100 2.8 macro | Tamron 17-50 2.8 | 2x 580 ex II | 580 ex | 2x sunpak 383 | 134GB CF |
Wishlist | 14L | 24L | 35L | 50L | 100L macro | 135L | 15 2.8 FE | 17L 4 TS | 45 2.8 TS | 90 2.8 TS |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutter_blitz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Jun 24, 2008 18:19 |  #11

Nope, they are both V2s.


Gear:
Canon 50D
EF 50mm f1.4 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM
Sunpak 383
Quantaray QSX-9500

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutter_blitz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Jun 24, 2008 18:29 |  #12

Ok, so I tried placing the receivers about 5 feet apart. I am not sure if thats far enough, but no dice.
The new receiver triggers on channel 3 and the used one triggers on 4. The first 2 channels don't trigger either receiver.


Gear:
Canon 50D
EF 50mm f1.4 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM
Sunpak 383
Quantaray QSX-9500

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutter_blitz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Joined Apr 2007
     
Jun 24, 2008 18:39 |  #13

All fixed!
I contacted the seller of the used receiver. The seller had changed the switches inside the receiver to trigger on the 4th channel. Turns out the receiver has the same set of switches as the transmitter, inside. Just need to flip them and I am all set.
Both work great now.


Gear:
Canon 50D
EF 50mm f1.4 USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM
Sunpak 383
Quantaray QSX-9500

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,544 views & 0 likes for this thread
Triggering 2 flashes simultaneously
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Badgergirl
827 guests, 274 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.