Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 18 Sep 2008 (Thursday) 19:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Photoshop CS3 install on Vista 64bit

 
Michael_Lambert
-ColdMember-
Avatar
2,426 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Bradford, Ontario, Canada
     
Sep 18, 2008 19:23 |  #1

Hey guys,

So i bought Vista Ultimate 64 bit, installed it no issues ran all the updates i could find ect..

Also bought Office 2007 and Photoshop CS3.

No issues installing Office however i am trying to install Photoshop.

When i put my disk in it loads normally i get the "Adobe Setup Installer" and it goes to install two programs i assme it needs to install photoshop it installs "Adobe Anchor Service CS3" with no issues shows the green check mark but then trys to install "Adobe Asset Services CS3" but gets a "Component install failed"

At this point i click finish and nothing happens.. No more install. So i take the disk out put it back it starts up asks me to do the reinstall and does the same crap all over.

I spent 3 hours on the phone with Adobe who claim i meet the requirements for the software, claim i have the nessary updates installed.. and have now burshed me off to Microsoft, claiming its an OS issue and the dink i was on the phone with suggested i reinstall my OS and suggested that it could be an issue with my RAID0 Setup.

Does anyone have any idea what could be wrong here?? I deal with Microsoft often at work and don't want to spend the rest of my night on the phone with there tech support if i dont have to.


My Canon Gear
Michael Lambert Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Michael_Lambert
THREAD ­ STARTER
-ColdMember-
Avatar
2,426 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Bradford, Ontario, Canada
     
Sep 18, 2008 20:04 |  #2

Humm..

Well not sure what happened.. lol, While on the phone with the Adobe Helpdesk they had me to go microsofts website and do the software update it verified i was genuine and then ran through some updates rebooted and same issues.

So - Wen't downstairs grabbed a beer relaxed and chatting with the wife and played with my baby before we put her down.

Came back upstairs searched google alittle got frusterated..

Decided to just putz around this new OS as i really have no idea about it coming from XP found a little icon on the bottom task bar that said "new updates are availible" thought humm... we just did them but screw it let it do its thing..

Found 52 updates!!!! Took 20 mins to download them and install them.. rebooted the computer.

Though WTF put the adobe DVD back in and to my surprise the dam software installed!! I almost fell off my chair :D

Now i just gotta find the new RAW software to support the 1D MarkIII and i am back in business... With out destroying my new computer or spending 3 hours on the phone with MS Beating my keyboard over my head!


My Canon Gear
Michael Lambert Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Richard_Miami
the windbag plateau
Avatar
1,367 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Paradise
     
Sep 19, 2008 10:28 |  #3

This codec works perfectly for me on my Vista 64 bit PC. Windows explorer now "sees" CR2 files perfectly. I think this what you are asking for?

http://www.ardfry.com/ (external link)


I am the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

Gear

RSPhotoGallery.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Michael_Lambert
THREAD ­ STARTER
-ColdMember-
Avatar
2,426 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Bradford, Ontario, Canada
     
Sep 19, 2008 10:39 |  #4

I was meaning Camera Raw 4.5 for photoshop to view the Canon Mark III Raw files.

But i am going to check out that codec too.


My Canon Gear
Michael Lambert Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chrisjlocke
Junior Member
Avatar
27 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Denver, CO
     
Sep 19, 2008 13:29 |  #5

I ran into a similar case, but the 32bit version of Vista. My CS3 didn’t load only PS7 (don’t laugh please) so in an effort to not go crazy I just used 7 for the longest time. Then one day (many updates later) I decided why not try again. and wa-la. it loaded.

I guess patience is a virtue.


a Rebel xti 18-55mm | 50mm 1.8| 28-105 3.5 | and a spare battery laying around.
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
prime80
Goldmember
Avatar
2,394 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 83
Joined Mar 2005
Location: Harmony, FL
     
Sep 19, 2008 14:04 |  #6

Richard_Miami wrote in post #6340440 (external link)
This codec works perfectly for me on my Vista 64 bit PC. Windows explorer now "sees" CR2 files perfectly. I think this what you are asking for?

http://www.ardfry.com/ (external link)

It's really pretty crappy that we have to pay for a 3rd party company to give us the functionality that Canon should be giving us. If they can build a 64-bit capable codec, Canon darn well should be able to.


John
R6, EF 100-400 L IS II, EF 24-70 L II, EF 85 f/1.8
Full Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Richard_Miami
the windbag plateau
Avatar
1,367 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Paradise
     
Sep 19, 2008 15:05 |  #7

prime80 wrote in post #6341793 (external link)
It's really pretty crappy that we have to pay for a 3rd party company to give us the functionality that Canon should be giving us. If they can build a 64-bit capable codec, Canon darn well should be able to.


I agree 100%.. but, after searching the web a LOT for a free codec, and otherwise going crazy, I decided to bite the bullet and buy this solution. Hey, it works. I am not happy about paying, but what alternative is there?

BTW - I am in Milton ON these days.. hello neighbour!


I am the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

Gear

RSPhotoGallery.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Michael_Lambert
THREAD ­ STARTER
-ColdMember-
Avatar
2,426 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2005
Location: Bradford, Ontario, Canada
     
Sep 19, 2008 16:08 |  #8

And you are calling Milton Ontario, Pradise :D


My Canon Gear
Michael Lambert Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Richard_Miami
the windbag plateau
Avatar
1,367 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Paradise
     
Sep 20, 2008 05:53 |  #9

Michael_Lambert wrote in post #6342432 (external link)
And you are calling Milton Ontario, Pradise :D

:D only because my fiance lives here!


I am the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

Gear

RSPhotoGallery.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
HillelK
Member
40 posts
Joined Dec 2005
     
Sep 20, 2008 09:15 |  #10

If I recall correctly you may need to run the install with elevated privileges -- runas administrator or something like that.

While I haven't installed CS3 under Vista I do have it running under Server 2008 64-bit which is very similar.

As others have said make sure that you run the Windows Update -- I would suggest manually and using the custom option to install optional updates.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,829 views & 0 likes for this thread
Photoshop CS3 install on Vista 64bit
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Lousyboy
446 guests, 133 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.