Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 29 Sep 2008 (Monday) 11:12
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Adobe flash player not installing?

 
DerekRob
Goldmember
2,535 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: no where
     
Sep 29, 2008 11:12 |  #1
bannedPermanent ban

I've been trying to install the adobe flash player in all three of my browsers and it will not install.

Ok I go to youtube to listen and watch some of my favorite musicians and even post some of my own guitar skillz and it says I need to install the adobe flash player so I do and it seems to install good "it seems anyways" I go back to youtube and it says I need to install the player again.

So what's going?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Oneslowz28
Senior Member
Avatar
621 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Aiken, SC
     
Sep 29, 2008 12:17 |  #2

look for it in the add-ons app in firefox 3


60D, 50 f/1.8 Metal Mount, 28-135 IS. Lost a 1D Mk III, and several L's in a home fire last summer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DerekRob
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,535 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: no where
     
Sep 29, 2008 12:39 |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

Oneslowz28, It shows up in the add ons but this is the funny part.

If you direct like and embed a youtube video here in your next post I could click play and it would play, However if I go to the video in it's native site youtube I would see this.

"Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player."




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Oneslowz28
Senior Member
Avatar
621 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Aiken, SC
     
Sep 29, 2008 13:34 |  #4

hmmm. you got me then. wish I could help.


60D, 50 f/1.8 Metal Mount, 28-135 IS. Lost a 1D Mk III, and several L's in a home fire last summer.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DerekRob
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,535 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: no where
     
Sep 29, 2008 13:36 |  #5
bannedPermanent ban

Oneslowz28 wrote in post #6403777 (external link)
hmmm. you got me then. wish I could help.

Thanks mate, I know you tried.

Hmm I wonder if some one else could chime in?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonloader
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
52,880 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 50
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Behind A Camera
     
Sep 30, 2008 06:04 |  #6

Where are you getting the player from? Try here. (external link)


Mitch- ____...^.^...____
My Microscope Stuff (external link)
Gear List, My You Tube (external link)
War is not about who's right, it's about who's left.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
cdifoto
Don't get pissy with me
Avatar
34,090 posts
Likes: 43
Joined Dec 2005
     
Sep 30, 2008 06:06 |  #7

Reboot your computer if you haven't already.


Did you lose Digital Photo Professional (DPP)? Get it here (external link). Cursing at your worse-than-a-map reflector? Check out this vid! (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DerekRob
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,535 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: no where
     
Sep 30, 2008 09:19 |  #8
bannedPermanent ban

cdifoto wrote in post #6408495 (external link)
Reboot your computer if you haven't already.

That's not the problem I had to reboot it when I was installing other updates.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iof
Senior Member
Avatar
428 posts
Joined Mar 2004
Location: Nebraska
     
Oct 01, 2008 12:06 |  #9

What OS? I had that problem with XP pro and found this helpful:
http://kb.adobe.com …rnalId=fb1634cb​&sliceId=2 (external link)

I downloaded and installed the subinacl utility from microsoft, ran the file from adobe with it, and it fixed the problem for awhile. I had to run this several times over the next few months to fix various registry permission problems involving script errors. A complete re-install of windows finally provided a permanent fix.


Ron.
5D,20D, D60, Elan 7, Canon stuff from the 70's, Pentax stuff from the 60's, other stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DerekRob
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,535 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: no where
     
Oct 14, 2008 20:17 |  #10
bannedPermanent ban

I'm still getting the same issue.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark1
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
6,725 posts
Likes: 7
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Maryland
     
Oct 14, 2008 20:42 |  #11

It is better to use the "download to install later" option. Whe the browser does its own install it fail a lot of the times. So click the download, when done close the browser then install. This way has a much better histort for sucessfull installs.


www.darkslisemag.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
marjnap
Goldmember
Avatar
1,508 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Florida
     
Oct 14, 2008 21:06 |  #12

Mark1 wrote in post #6497038 (external link)
It is better to use the "download to install later" option. Whe the browser does its own install it fail a lot of the times. So click the download, when done close the browser then install. This way has a much better histort for sucessfull installs.

Ditto on this. I'm assuming since it is happening on multiple browsers it not a browser setting unless you set them all to high or some strange custom settings. The only other thing I can think is a permission issue. Is it a Windows box and if yes which version?


Marjorie
Canon 7D/ 24-105 / 400 5.6 / Tokina 12-24/ 200 2.8/ 85 1.8
All C&C is appreciated, so feel free to be candid.
http://www.sknappshots​.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DerekRob
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,535 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: no where
     
Oct 14, 2008 21:23 |  #13
bannedPermanent ban

marjnap wrote in post #6497156 (external link)
Ditto on this. I'm assuming since it is happening on multiple browsers it not a browser setting unless you set them all to high or some strange custom settings. The only other thing I can think is a permission issue. Is it a Windows box and if yes which version?

Thanks guys and yes it's happening in all browsers.

and I've tried to down load and install later option and it's the same.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Oct 14, 2008 22:15 |  #14

Uninstall Flash, install CCleaner, reboot open CCleaner, click Registry > Scan Registry > Fix Selected Issues (save backup) then re-install Flash... I'll bet $10 that will fix it.

You really need to clean up after programs these days. Programs constantly break in Windows and OS 10 and you need to clean up after them. Always use the above method after uninstalling programs regardless of how big you think they may be. They all leave behind crud.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DerekRob
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,535 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Location: no where
     
Oct 14, 2008 22:19 |  #15
bannedPermanent ban

MaxxuM wrote in post #6497526 (external link)
Uninstall Flash, install CCleaner, reboot open CCleaner, click Registry > Scan Registry > Fix Selected Issues (save backup) then re-install Flash... I'll bet $10 that will fix it.

You really need to clean up after programs these days. Programs constantly break in Windows and OS 10 and you need to clean up after them. Always use the above method after uninstalling programs regardless of how big you think they may be. They all leave behind crud.

Thanks max, I'll give that a shot sionce I have cc cleaner some where.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,926 views & 0 likes for this thread
Adobe flash player not installing?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is tushrk
920 guests, 263 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.