Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 19 Nov 2008 (Wednesday) 13:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Problem with CS4 Plugins

 
John ­ E
Goldmember
Avatar
1,025 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2006
Location: Amarillo, TX
     
Nov 19, 2008 13:57 |  #1

Do CS3 plugins work with CS4? I copied them from the CS3 plugin directory into the CS4 directory. However, when I open CS4, and look in the filter tab, none are listed? Can anyone help?


John Elser
Canon 5D MK II; 30D; EF 85 f/1.8; EF 70-200L f/2.8 IS II; EF 24-105L f/4; EF 135L f/2; EF 24-70L; Canon 580 EX II(x3).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Nov 19, 2008 13:59 |  #2

What specific plug-ins are you referring to?


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ E
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,025 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2006
Location: Amarillo, TX
     
Nov 19, 2008 14:11 |  #3

Nik Color efex Pro, Pictorcolor iportrait, Tiffen Dfx, Topaz adjust, Imagenomics Portraiture, Vertus Fluid Mask, Noise Ninja, are a few.


John Elser
Canon 5D MK II; 30D; EF 85 f/1.8; EF 70-200L f/2.8 IS II; EF 24-105L f/4; EF 135L f/2; EF 24-70L; Canon 580 EX II(x3).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Nov 19, 2008 14:26 |  #4

Hmmm.... There was a problem with the Nik Software plug-ins where the Nik Selective Tool caused Photoshop CS4 to lose focus resulting in all the menus becoming "greyed out" on startup. This was fixed in a November 6 release...in fact all the Nik plugins were updated on that date to fix CS4 compatibility problems so it would be worthwhile to download the latest versions.

I have all the others listed except the Pictocolor and they work fine under CS4. Are you sure you copied them to the correct folder?


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ E
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,025 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2006
Location: Amarillo, TX
     
Nov 19, 2008 15:00 |  #5

I copy them to the "Plug-ins" folder, correct?


John Elser
Canon 5D MK II; 30D; EF 85 f/1.8; EF 70-200L f/2.8 IS II; EF 24-105L f/4; EF 135L f/2; EF 24-70L; Canon 580 EX II(x3).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
     
Nov 19, 2008 15:30 |  #6

Yes, they should be placed in the C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS4\Plug-ins folder (assuming you're a Windows user).

It shouldn't make a difference but whenever a new version of Photoshop is released I reformat my hard drive and reinstall everything from scratch. Its a tedious project but I've managed not to have all the problems so many people report.


Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iof
Senior Member
Avatar
428 posts
Joined Mar 2004
Location: Nebraska
     
Nov 19, 2008 17:22 |  #7

Are you on a 64bit system? Are you trying to make them work with the 64bit version of CS4?


Ron.
5D,20D, D60, Elan 7, Canon stuff from the 70's, Pentax stuff from the 60's, other stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
slicjoc1
Member
37 posts
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Blanco, Texas
     
Nov 19, 2008 17:38 |  #8

I had the problem with Imagenomics Portraiture and Noiseware. I copied the Imagenomics folder (under Plug-ins) in CS3 into the CS4 Plug-ins folder. The problem was solved after rebooting CS4.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gmitchel850
Senior Member
279 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
     
Nov 19, 2008 18:12 |  #9

slicjoc1 wrote in post #6720887 (external link)
I had the problem with Imagenomics Portraiture and Noiseware. I copied the Imagenomics folder (under Plug-ins) in CS3 into the CS4 Plug-ins folder. The problem was solved after rebooting CS4.

Yes, Slicjoc raises an important point.

Did you leave CS4 after you copied the plug-ins?

Photoshop looks for plug-ins (and for scripts) at start-up. That's it. If you add them while Phjotoshop is running, it will not see them.

Always close Photoshop and start it again after adding a plug-in or script.

Cheers,

Mitch


http://www.thelightsri​ght.com (external link)
http://www.thelightsri​ghtstudio.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gnirtS
Member
232 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: South Wales for now
     
Nov 19, 2008 18:45 |  #10

This could be 32 bit plugins in the 64 bit photoshop.

Try loading photoshop manually (not via bridge) and load "Photoshop CS4" NOT the (64 bit) one. Then see if they appear or can be loaded. I know noise ninja will only work via 32 bit PS launched this way - it wont appear on 64bit.


flickr: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/whitcomberd/ (external link)
http://www.hvsac.co.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tsmith
Formerly known as Bluedog_XT
Avatar
10,429 posts
Likes: 26
Joined Jul 2005
Location: South_the 601
     
Nov 19, 2008 19:52 |  #11

I would try any CS3 Plug-ins one at a time for compatibility issues. A common CS4 Plug-in error will sometimes bring up an error box with, Owl Orphanage: Photoshop.exe unable to locate compionent _ CoreFoundation.dll




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ E
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,025 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2006
Location: Amarillo, TX
     
Nov 20, 2008 07:55 |  #12

Yes, my machine is 64-bit Windows Vista, and I have tried copying the plug-ins one at a time in the "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS4\Plug-ins" folder, and I've also tried re-booting the machine, but they still don't show up under the filters menu. It's got me baffled. By the way, I'm using the CS4 "Extended" try out version. Would this make a difference?


John Elser
Canon 5D MK II; 30D; EF 85 f/1.8; EF 70-200L f/2.8 IS II; EF 24-105L f/4; EF 135L f/2; EF 24-70L; Canon 580 EX II(x3).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iof
Senior Member
Avatar
428 posts
Joined Mar 2004
Location: Nebraska
     
Nov 20, 2008 08:41 |  #13

32bit plug-ins will not work in the 64bit version of photoshop. However, if you installed with default options, you should have installed both a 64bit version and a 32bit version(If you installed from CD as I did). The 64bit version is in C:\Program Files and the 32bit version is in C:\Program Files(x86). 32bit plug-ins should work in the (x86) version of photoshop. Venders will have to write 64bit versions of their plug-ins to work with photoshop(64).


Ron.
5D,20D, D60, Elan 7, Canon stuff from the 70's, Pentax stuff from the 60's, other stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
iof
Senior Member
Avatar
428 posts
Joined Mar 2004
Location: Nebraska
     
Nov 20, 2008 08:59 |  #14

Found this in Adobe kb404439:

Allocating memory with 64-bit processors
Photoshop CS4 installs both a 32-bit and a 64-bit version when you install on a 64-bit version of Windows Vista and Windows XP. If you use the 32-bit version of Windows, Photoshop only installs the 32-bit version.

If you run Windows Vista, upgrade to Service Pack 1 for better performance.

Note: Although 64-bit Photoshop CS4 was not thoroughly tested under Windows XP64, and therefore is not supported, it should run.

Photoshop installs a 32-bit and a 64-bit shortcut into the Start Menu. If you need to manually run the application, the 32-bit version is the photoshop.exe file, in the Program Files (x86)/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop CS4 folder, and the 64-bit version is the photoshop.exe file in the Program Files/Adobe/Adobe Photoshop CS4 folder.

Third party plug-ins written for 32-bit versions of Windows will not work when you run the 64-bit version of Photoshop. If you need to use plug-ins that haven't been updated, run the 32-bit version of Photoshop. When you are done using the plug-ins, close the 32-bit version, and run the 64-bit version. Contact the plug-in manufacturer for information about any updates.


Ron.
5D,20D, D60, Elan 7, Canon stuff from the 70's, Pentax stuff from the 60's, other stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ E
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,025 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2006
Location: Amarillo, TX
     
Nov 20, 2008 09:25 |  #15

Thanks a million for all your comments. A special thanks to "iof" who finally solved my problem. I love this forum!


John Elser
Canon 5D MK II; 30D; EF 85 f/1.8; EF 70-200L f/2.8 IS II; EF 24-105L f/4; EF 135L f/2; EF 24-70L; Canon 580 EX II(x3).

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7,348 views & 0 likes for this thread
Problem with CS4 Plugins
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is xbambam
1437 guests, 252 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.