Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 16 Feb 2009 (Monday) 01:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

so why did this happen?

 
azpix
Goldmember
Avatar
3,335 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
     
Feb 16, 2009 01:21 |  #1

snapping some shots tonights of my daughter, I have this black area creeping into the photos?

Now I've seen this before when I bump the camera past my sync speed to 1/320 or more, but these were all at 1/250th. Why would these be appearing?

much thanks!

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE


IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE

Gear- 7d, 24-70L, sigma 70-200, Sigma 120-400, canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.0,sigma 10-20 and a DJI Mavic Pro Drone

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,567 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Feb 16, 2009 01:24 |  #2

what are you triggering the flash with?


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
azpix
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,335 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
     
Feb 16, 2009 01:38 |  #3

elichrom skyports firing an alien bee 800.


Gear- 7d, 24-70L, sigma 70-200, Sigma 120-400, canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.0,sigma 10-20 and a DJI Mavic Pro Drone

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,567 posts
Likes: 18
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Utah, USA
     
Feb 16, 2009 02:36 |  #4

Well that is the shutter you are seeing. You've obviously passed the sync speed limit for this setup. The 1/250 max sync speed is only guaranteed for Canon shoe flashes, so back off the shutter speed a bit. Maybe run some tests and see what your reliable max is.

I have heard of issues running at max sync with wireless triggers of all kinds, so this is not unusual.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickr (external link)
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
50,981 posts
Likes: 358
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Feb 16, 2009 03:36 |  #5

Shutter's too fast, use 1/125th. Mostly I get 1/250th with skyports and speedlites, but with studio strobes sometimes I need to go slower.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Damian75
Goldmember
Avatar
1,623 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Dec 2006
Location: PA
     
Feb 16, 2009 04:23 |  #6

Agreed sync speed issue and unless there is some ambient light creeping into your shots there is no need to crank the shutter up that high if your strobes are providing all the light then your flash duration is effectively your shutter speed when it come to freezing action so you should not have a problem.


Canon EOS 40D,30D, Canon 70-200 2.8L, 24-70 2.8L, 85 1.8, Canon extension tube, Elinchrom Lighting gear, 
Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
baw5t0n
Senior Member
270 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
     
Feb 16, 2009 04:31 |  #7

your camera can only sync at a certain speed - my 5D is only at 1/200. so if your camera's set at anything faster, it'll only capture a portion of the frame lit by flash. if you have ambient light in the frame that's properly exposed, you won't get that black box.


5D/BG-E4 || 28/1.8, 50/1.4, 85/1.8, 100/2.8 Macro, Sigma 17-35/2.8-4.0, 24-70/2.8L, 70-200/2.8L IS
COMPLETE GEAR LIST
My images. (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jacuff
Goldmember
Avatar
2,581 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Apr 2008
Location: Searcy, AR
     
Feb 16, 2009 04:34 |  #8

Yeah, it's the shutter you are seeing. Start your shutter speed at 1/60 and work your way up to a faster shutter speed. This will help you determine the sync speed for this particular setup. The sync speed rating given by Canon is only for Canon Speedlites.


Gear, Feedback (eBay (external link)), Web (external link), Blog (external link), FB (external link), Twitter (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobbyM
Senior Member
280 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Feb 16, 2009 06:23 as a reply to  @ jacuff's post |  #9

yep, what they said about sync speed...

https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=429444 seems to be somewhat of a common problem.

http://photo.net …t-techniques-forum/00KHiP (external link) << this guy came up with a DIY solution.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Feb 16, 2009 07:01 |  #10

BobbyM wrote in post #7335129 (external link)
yep, what they said about sync speed...

https://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=429444 seems to be somewhat of a common problem.

http://photo.net …t-techniques-forum/00KHiP (external link) << this guy came up with a DIY solution.

That DIY solution is not to fixed a syncing problem as described in this thread. That DIY is for a junction box which distributes a sync signal from a single receiver to multiple strobes via cables.


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,898 posts
Likes: 39
Joined Feb 2003
Location: Keystone State, USA
     
Feb 16, 2009 07:03 |  #11

azpix wrote in post #7334399 (external link)
snapping some shots tonights of my daughter, I have this black area creeping into the photos?

Now I've seen this before when I bump the camera past my sync speed to 1/320 or more, but these were all at 1/250th. Why would these be appearing?

much thanks!

http://www.coreyschimm​el.com/why-1.jpg (external link)

http://www.coreyschimm​el.com/why-2.jpg (external link)

Are you having the syncing issue even after your Skyport receivers have been fully charged?


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BobbyM
Senior Member
280 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Feb 16, 2009 07:03 |  #12

PacAce wrote in post #7335223 (external link)
That DIY solution is not to fixed a syncing problem as described in this thread. That DIY is for a junction box which distributes a sync signal from a single receiver to multiple strobes via cables.

thanks for clearing that up then :oops:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jim ­ M
Goldmember
1,656 posts
Likes: 37
Joined Aug 2006
     
Feb 16, 2009 10:59 |  #13

Since the band is at different locations in each photo, I presume the delay varied. Looks suspiciously like a battery issue. I don't know for sure about Skyports, but most radio triggers slow down and get kind of hinky with weak batteries.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jimconnerphoto
Goldmember
Avatar
2,165 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Southern California
     
Feb 16, 2009 14:46 |  #14

Strange shape for a sync issue. Should be a pretty straight edge to it.

I can sync with my 30D, AB, and Skyports at 250th. I get a little black but nowhere near that.


Wedding and Portraits www.jimconnerphoto.com (external link)
Commercial Work www.jamesdconner.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
azpix
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,335 posts
Likes: 19
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, Arizona USA
     
Feb 16, 2009 15:27 |  #15

PacAce wrote in post #7335231 (external link)
Are you having the syncing issue even after your Skyport receivers have been fully charged?

yes,
of the 20 shots, about 6 had the shutter creeping into them. i've used to exact same set up many times before at 250 without issue.


Gear- 7d, 24-70L, sigma 70-200, Sigma 120-400, canon 50 1.4, Canon 100 2.0,sigma 10-20 and a DJI Mavic Pro Drone

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,717 views & 0 likes for this thread
so why did this happen?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is quadrentau
2075 guests, 300 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.