Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 22 Apr 2009 (Wednesday) 11:11
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 40D + Dlite 4

 
pallopelle
Member
96 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 22, 2009 11:11 |  #1

Ok so what im gonna need to flash those babes with 40D?

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com …niversal_Radio_​Slave.html (external link)

Is this enough? Transmitter on camera, Transceiver on first flash and cabel from 1. to 2. flash?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
hawk911
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,423 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 886
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
     
Apr 22, 2009 12:40 |  #2

how many lights? but yes it will. You can set the additional lights to be optically triggered, using the 1 receiver to set the rest off. Ideally, you'd have a receiver on each unit but if this is all studio work, then there shouldn't be other light sources setting off your lights.

If you want cheap for studio with the Dlite set, check out Interfit. I paid $125 for 1 trigger and 2 receivers. Each additional receiver is only $45.


HAWK Photography Gallery (external link) FB Fan page (external link)|_My gear: 5d3, 70D & 40D (all gripped), 580exII, 550ex, Canon 24-70 L & 85 f1.8, 50mm f1.4; Tamron 70-200 SP Di VC, Canon 18-55, Sigma 1.4xtc; Elinchrom Whore, Skyport triggers, Speedotron BD and Kacey Grid, Vagabond minis

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,009 posts
Likes: 369
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 22, 2009 19:50 |  #3

Get one of these cables (external link) for each flash, they work better than PC cables IMHO. Also if you want a flash on the hotshoe get a locking PC to 2.5mm cable from FlashZebra.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pallopelle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
96 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 23, 2009 12:13 |  #4

2 lights, third coming later.

Ya ok, if i get EL Skyport and cables that Tim told, is it good? Or can i use only cables?

And also, should i get flash for background or something like Elinchrom Minilite 250w? (straight light, not flash)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hawk911
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,423 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 886
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
     
Apr 23, 2009 14:48 |  #5

You could use cables only if they are close, meaning within the 15 foot cable length. If you need to shoot and the light is farther away, I'd suggest radio triggers.


HAWK Photography Gallery (external link) FB Fan page (external link)|_My gear: 5d3, 70D & 40D (all gripped), 580exII, 550ex, Canon 24-70 L & 85 f1.8, 50mm f1.4; Tamron 70-200 SP Di VC, Canon 18-55, Sigma 1.4xtc; Elinchrom Whore, Skyport triggers, Speedotron BD and Kacey Grid, Vagabond minis

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pallopelle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
96 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 23, 2009 15:24 |  #6

Right now i have small space to work with, so cables would be better? And does'nt Skyport anyway have atleast 1 cable (flash to flash) ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,009 posts
Likes: 369
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 23, 2009 16:20 |  #7

Cables are a pain in the butt, but work especially if you're on a tripod. Yes there always has to be a cable between the radio receiver and the flash.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hawk911
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,423 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 886
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
     
Apr 23, 2009 20:48 |  #8

tim wrote in post #7790372 (external link)
Cables are a pain in the butt, but work especially if you're on a tripod. Yes there always has to be a cable between the radio receiver and the flash.

and it's probably about 8 inches long.


HAWK Photography Gallery (external link) FB Fan page (external link)|_My gear: 5d3, 70D & 40D (all gripped), 580exII, 550ex, Canon 24-70 L & 85 f1.8, 50mm f1.4; Tamron 70-200 SP Di VC, Canon 18-55, Sigma 1.4xtc; Elinchrom Whore, Skyport triggers, Speedotron BD and Kacey Grid, Vagabond minis

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,009 posts
Likes: 369
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Apr 23, 2009 21:24 |  #9

hawk911 wrote in post #7791837 (external link)
and it's probably about 8 inches long.

Said the bishop to the actress.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pallopelle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
96 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 29, 2009 14:55 |  #10

Okk.. soo what kinda cable i need between flash & flash?
I just realized that i can use one of those elinchrom cables to sync my Canon to first flash.

But what for that another one is?

And yes, im not going for Wireless thing yet. We'll see that later ...

hawk911 wrote in post #7791837 (external link)
and it's probably about 8 inches long.

wut :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shooterman
village idiot, actually a genius!
Avatar
1,295 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 385
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
     
Apr 29, 2009 15:41 |  #11

Just run a PC cord from camera to one of the D-Lites and set the other one to fire off the built in optical slave and be done with it. Don't make things harder than they need to be. :)


Randy
| Canon 5D Classic | Canon 30D | Canon EF 40mm F2.8 | Canon 70-200 L F4 | Tamron XR DiII SP 17-50 F2.8 | Elinchrom D-Lites | Calumet Genesis 200 | Elinchrom EL Skyports | 27" 5K iMac |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pallopelle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
96 posts
Joined Apr 2009
     
Apr 30, 2009 11:55 |  #12

Ah, first when i red your post i was'nt sure what you ment. But today i got really close look at those babes and i realize that we really dont need cable betweend two dlites, huh? Just awesome!

Anyhow.. if i later get that Skyport for camera, does it work same way than now?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shooterman
village idiot, actually a genius!
Avatar
1,295 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 385
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
     
Apr 30, 2009 13:57 |  #13

pallopelle wrote in post #7832369 (external link)
Ah, first when i red your post i was'nt sure what you ment. But today i got really close look at those babes and i realize that we really dont need cable betweend two dlites, huh? Just awesome!

Anyhow.. if i later get that Skyport for camera, does it work same way than now?

:) Yes, you can plug a Skyport receiver into one of the D-Lites, fire it with the Skyport transmitter that's mounted on the camera, and the other D-Lite will fire via it's built in optical slave. Thats how I fire mine. :)


Randy
| Canon 5D Classic | Canon 30D | Canon EF 40mm F2.8 | Canon 70-200 L F4 | Tamron XR DiII SP 17-50 F2.8 | Elinchrom D-Lites | Calumet Genesis 200 | Elinchrom EL Skyports | 27" 5K iMac |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hawk911
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,423 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 886
Joined Jul 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
     
Apr 30, 2009 15:07 |  #14

That's cuz Randy's a cheap bastard :)


HAWK Photography Gallery (external link) FB Fan page (external link)|_My gear: 5d3, 70D & 40D (all gripped), 580exII, 550ex, Canon 24-70 L & 85 f1.8, 50mm f1.4; Tamron 70-200 SP Di VC, Canon 18-55, Sigma 1.4xtc; Elinchrom Whore, Skyport triggers, Speedotron BD and Kacey Grid, Vagabond minis

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shooterman
village idiot, actually a genius!
Avatar
1,295 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 385
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
     
Apr 30, 2009 15:15 |  #15

hawk911 wrote in post #7833381 (external link)
That's cuz Randy's a cheap bastard :)

LOL, thanks Geoff! :D


Randy
| Canon 5D Classic | Canon 30D | Canon EF 40mm F2.8 | Canon 70-200 L F4 | Tamron XR DiII SP 17-50 F2.8 | Elinchrom D-Lites | Calumet Genesis 200 | Elinchrom EL Skyports | 27" 5K iMac |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,418 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 40D + Dlite 4
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is henry65
833 guests, 246 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.