Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 24 Aug 2009 (Monday) 15:23
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Firmware hack Rebel XTi /400D enables ISO 3200, Spot metering!

 
BenJohnson
Goldmember
Avatar
1,811 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
     
Sep 12, 2009 22:50 as a reply to  @ post 8633754 |  #181

Well, I finished off that 8GB "hacked" card, and once the counter gets to 0 it's done:

FULL CF
The CF card is full.
Replace the CF card.

I got 1467 shots onto that card (Large, Fine, JPG's).

When I view the card properties with Windows Explorer it says:

Used space: 5.70 GB
Free space: 1.89 GB
Capacity: 7.60 GB

I must have done something wrong, because the camera won't let me access the last ~2 GB.

So, I put the card in my camera and formatted it.
Then it said I could take 2086 ISO100, Large, Fine, JPG's (this is the correct amount).

Oh well. I guess I lost ISO3200 and spot metering on my XTi (for now).
I will have to put it back on sometime and see if I can get it to use all 8GB.


|Ben Johnson Photography (external link)|
|Gear List|

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
porky1011
Member
36 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2007
     
Sep 13, 2009 01:25 |  #182

explr1 wrote in post #8633754 (external link)
How did you get an 8gb card to work? I tried using an Sandisk 8gb extreme III and cardtricks wouldn't let me make it bootable. I had to use an extra 1 gb card I had hanging around.

8gb cards are formatted in the fat32 system. u won't be able to use cardtricks. instead, you'll have to use a hex editor instead. here are the instructions from the first post:

ELSE IF card > 4GB (fat32)

use HxD : http://mh-nexus.de/en/downloads.​php?product=HxD (external link) run as administrator, goto extras -> options -> security -> uncheck "open disk as readonly by default", then open CF card using the 5th button (cd, floppy and HDD icon) in the toolbar, then carefully write "EOS_DEVELOP" at 0x47 and "BOOTDISK" at 0x5C. save and exit.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xxmxaxrxyxx
Senior Member
Avatar
781 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
     
Sep 13, 2009 01:59 |  #183

explr1 wrote in post #8633754 (external link)
How did you get an 8gb card to work? I tried using an Sandisk 8gb extreme III and cardtricks wouldn't let me make it bootable. I had to use an extra 1 gb card I had hanging around.

i believe the instructions posted states that if the is more than 4 gigs you have to use th other tool....cardtricks is only for cf that is 4 gbs or under...


Sony a7ii || MC Tele Rokkor-PF 135 f2.8 || MC Rokkor-PG 58 f1.2 || MC Rokkor-PF Macro 55 f/1.7 || MD Rokkor-X 50 f1.7 || MD 50 f2 || MD Rokkor-X 45 f2 || MC W.Rokkor-SG 28 f3.5 || MD W.Rokkor-X 24mm 2.8 || MC Rokkor-OK 16mm f/2.8 Fisheye || FotoDiox EF NEX Adapter || Fotasy A7MD PRO MD NEX adapter || 40 f2.8 Pancake || ∑ 50 1.4 ///// ∑ 17-50 f/2.8 || ∑ 30 f1.4 || 60 f2.8 USM || || 580 EX II || Tamron 70-300 f/4-5.6 VC ///// S95

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
paulle
Member
125 posts
Joined Apr 2008
     
Sep 13, 2009 07:14 |  #184

Can I use any kind of CF card reader? :/




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ryan.
Member
108 posts
Joined Sep 2007
     
Sep 13, 2009 14:09 as a reply to  @ paulle's post |  #185

Sorry for posting again, but can it be done on an XT?


---- ----- ----

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xxmxaxrxyxx
Senior Member
Avatar
781 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
     
Sep 13, 2009 15:33 |  #186

Ryan. wrote in post #8636916 (external link)
Sorry for posting again, but can it be done on an XT?

i don't believe so


Sony a7ii || MC Tele Rokkor-PF 135 f2.8 || MC Rokkor-PG 58 f1.2 || MC Rokkor-PF Macro 55 f/1.7 || MD Rokkor-X 50 f1.7 || MD 50 f2 || MD Rokkor-X 45 f2 || MC W.Rokkor-SG 28 f3.5 || MD W.Rokkor-X 24mm 2.8 || MC Rokkor-OK 16mm f/2.8 Fisheye || FotoDiox EF NEX Adapter || Fotasy A7MD PRO MD NEX adapter || 40 f2.8 Pancake || ∑ 50 1.4 ///// ∑ 17-50 f/2.8 || ∑ 30 f1.4 || 60 f2.8 USM || || 580 EX II || Tamron 70-300 f/4-5.6 VC ///// S95

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Sep 15, 2009 10:25 |  #187

Has anyone taken their hacked CF card and (accidentally) put it in a none xTi camera?

The question was asked earlier if this hack could damage a camera if you use the same card in 2 cameras and no-one has answered yet. I'd love to try it myself but really don't want to test it on my nearly-new 5D!!!!!

Anyone?


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drummerhc
Senior Member
Avatar
301 posts
Joined Jul 2008
Location: City of Angels
     
Sep 15, 2009 11:15 |  #188

WaltA wrote in post #8648270 (external link)
Has anyone taken their hacked CF card and (accidentally) put it in a none xTi camera?

The question was asked earlier if this hack could damage a camera if you use the same card in 2 cameras and no-one has answered yet. I'd love to try it myself but really don't want to test it on my nearly-new 5D!!!!!

Anyone?

Believe me, nothing is going to happen.


Canon EOS 5D Mark II
-HC
Flickr  (external link)Gears

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
Avatar
15,894 posts
Likes: 13
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
     
Sep 15, 2009 13:24 |  #189

Wow that is VERY cool! I might consider picking up an old good condition Xti now!


[Gear List | Flickr (external link) | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection (external link) /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xxmxaxrxyxx
Senior Member
Avatar
781 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
     
Sep 15, 2009 14:15 |  #190

RAYJAY wrote in post #8579284 (external link)
Please, can anyone show exactly where to type "EOS_DEVELOP" and "BOOTDISK" in HxD program. I have tried to doe this modification 4 times and I cannot get it to work. Thank you.

I just got my 8fb CF in today and trying to do this also. And I am quite lost. Can someplease show me where I need to be typing this also? Thank you in advance.


Sony a7ii || MC Tele Rokkor-PF 135 f2.8 || MC Rokkor-PG 58 f1.2 || MC Rokkor-PF Macro 55 f/1.7 || MD Rokkor-X 50 f1.7 || MD 50 f2 || MD Rokkor-X 45 f2 || MC W.Rokkor-SG 28 f3.5 || MD W.Rokkor-X 24mm 2.8 || MC Rokkor-OK 16mm f/2.8 Fisheye || FotoDiox EF NEX Adapter || Fotasy A7MD PRO MD NEX adapter || 40 f2.8 Pancake || ∑ 50 1.4 ///// ∑ 17-50 f/2.8 || ∑ 30 f1.4 || 60 f2.8 USM || || 580 EX II || Tamron 70-300 f/4-5.6 VC ///// S95

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drummerhc
Senior Member
Avatar
301 posts
Joined Jul 2008
Location: City of Angels
     
Sep 15, 2009 14:34 |  #191

xxmxaxrxyxx wrote in post #8649703 (external link)
I just got my 8fb CF in today and trying to do this also. And I am quite lost. Can someplease show me where I need to be typing this also? Thank you in advance.

Did you read the whole thread?


Canon EOS 5D Mark II
-HC
Flickr  (external link)Gears

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xxmxaxrxyxx
Senior Member
Avatar
781 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
     
Sep 15, 2009 15:15 |  #192

drummerhc wrote in post #8649805 (external link)
Did you read the whole thread?

yes i did but not sure how to find 0x47 to carefully write "EOS Digital" and "BOOTDISK" at 0x5c. Sorry not comfortable with messing with HEX codes.


Sony a7ii || MC Tele Rokkor-PF 135 f2.8 || MC Rokkor-PG 58 f1.2 || MC Rokkor-PF Macro 55 f/1.7 || MD Rokkor-X 50 f1.7 || MD 50 f2 || MD Rokkor-X 45 f2 || MC W.Rokkor-SG 28 f3.5 || MD W.Rokkor-X 24mm 2.8 || MC Rokkor-OK 16mm f/2.8 Fisheye || FotoDiox EF NEX Adapter || Fotasy A7MD PRO MD NEX adapter || 40 f2.8 Pancake || ∑ 50 1.4 ///// ∑ 17-50 f/2.8 || ∑ 30 f1.4 || 60 f2.8 USM || || 580 EX II || Tamron 70-300 f/4-5.6 VC ///// S95

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
drummerhc
Senior Member
Avatar
301 posts
Joined Jul 2008
Location: City of Angels
     
Sep 15, 2009 15:21 |  #193

xxmxaxrxyxx wrote in post #8649989 (external link)
yes i did but not sure how to find 0x47 to carefully write "EOS Digital" and "BOOTDISK" at 0x5c. Sorry not comfortable with messing with HEX codes.

Check my post again on Page. 7
I was having trouble inputing the Text on the right side. Instead, I input the HEX codes (shown in red text) myself. If you mess it up, just re-formated and do it again.

IMAGE NOT FOUND
IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'

Canon EOS 5D Mark II
-HC
Flickr  (external link)Gears

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
WaltA
Goldmember
Avatar
3,868 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 119
Joined Feb 2006
Location: Ladysmith, BC, Canada
     
Sep 15, 2009 15:49 |  #194

:rolleyes:

bw!

drummerhc wrote in post #8648619 (external link)
Believe me, nothing is going to happen.


Walt
400D, 5D, 7D and a bag of stuff

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
xxmxaxrxyxx
Senior Member
Avatar
781 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Wichita, KS
     
Sep 15, 2009 19:18 |  #195

drummerhc wrote in post #8650020 (external link)
Check my post again on Page. 7
I was having trouble inputing the Text on the right side. Instead, I input the HEX codes (shown in red text) myself. If you mess it up, just re-formated and do it again.

IMAGE NOT FOUND
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'

wow thank you! i knew i seen a screen shot of red but couldn't find it this last 3 times going through the thread!


Sony a7ii || MC Tele Rokkor-PF 135 f2.8 || MC Rokkor-PG 58 f1.2 || MC Rokkor-PF Macro 55 f/1.7 || MD Rokkor-X 50 f1.7 || MD 50 f2 || MD Rokkor-X 45 f2 || MC W.Rokkor-SG 28 f3.5 || MD W.Rokkor-X 24mm 2.8 || MC Rokkor-OK 16mm f/2.8 Fisheye || FotoDiox EF NEX Adapter || Fotasy A7MD PRO MD NEX adapter || 40 f2.8 Pancake || ∑ 50 1.4 ///// ∑ 17-50 f/2.8 || ∑ 30 f1.4 || 60 f2.8 USM || || 580 EX II || Tamron 70-300 f/4-5.6 VC ///// S95

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

596,918 views & 0 likes for this thread
Firmware hack Rebel XTi /400D enables ISO 3200, Spot metering!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Flo29
843 guests, 245 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.