Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Oct 2009 (Monday) 08:30
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Q: 7D, 400mm f.5.6 and Canon 1.4xTC AF

 
wayne_eddy
Goldmember
Avatar
1,931 posts
Gallery: 2 photos
Likes: 15
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Perth, 'straya
     
Oct 05, 2009 08:30 |  #1

I'm considering the 7d as my next body.

I have a 400mm f.5.6 and the Canon 1.4TC and am wondering if the 7D will AF as well as some of the full framers with the TC mounted.

Any links or knowledge base I might access?


wayne eddy
[I'm calibrated - are you?]
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
rakesh
Member
225 posts
Likes: 43
Joined Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore, India
     
Oct 05, 2009 08:34 |  #2

Hi Wayne

I doubt that any crop factor DSLR will auto focus at F8. If 7D does not detect your TC then it will work.

I'm using 300 /2.8 with 2X + 1.4X TC stacked and it auto focus as it is detecting only 2x TC.


Gears:
My WildLife Gallery :
http://www.justwildlif​e.com (external link)
My Kids Project Galleries : http://www.facebook.co​m …otography/15851​1907574485 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
packpe89
Senior Member
Avatar
731 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2007
Location: North Carolina
     
Oct 05, 2009 09:36 |  #3

Doesn't a 2x and a 1.4x still report f8 to the camera? I've been wondering this as well. Can someone confirm?


Canon 7D, 40D, 300f2.8L, 70-200f2.8L IS, Sigma 30f1.4, 60EF-S 2.8 Macro, 15-85EF-S , Sigma 10-20, A couple of flashes, strobes and stuff.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nicksan
Man I Like to Fart
Avatar
24,729 posts
Likes: 51
Joined Oct 2006
Location: NYC
     
Oct 05, 2009 09:43 |  #4

1 series bodies will AF until f8. Otherwise f5.6.
So the answer is NO, it will not AF.
Some have had luck with the tape method, but that's a hit or miss...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Juan ­ Zas
Goldmember
Avatar
1,511 posts
Joined Aug 2005
Location: Madrid - ESP
     
Oct 05, 2009 09:46 as a reply to  @ nicksan's post |  #5

Or use a TC that doesn´t report to the camera ....


Cheers
Juan
_______________
My Gear
My Photo Gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ray.Petri
Goldmember
Avatar
2,939 posts
Gallery: 997 photos
Likes: 8134
Joined Mar 2005
Location: North Kent UK
     
Oct 05, 2009 10:15 as a reply to  @ Juan Zas's post |  #6

I just tried 100-400 with 1.4X MkII telecon.

It does not work and the top screen of the camera does not show A1 Servo either.

I have not tried with the contacts taped yet.


Ray-P

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Roy ­ C
Goldmember
Avatar
2,088 posts
Likes: 21
Joined Aug 2005
Location: N.Devon, UK
     
Oct 05, 2009 10:31 |  #7

packpe89 wrote in post #8763691 (external link)
Doesn't a 2x and a 1.4x still report f8 to the camera? I've been wondering this as well. Can someone confirm?

No, when you stack a 2x and 1.4x the camera only sees the 2x so shows f5.6 and 600mm with the 300/2.8.


TOP BIRD SHOTS (external link)
MY PHOTOSTREAM (external link)

500px gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
Avatar
37,666 posts
Gallery: 111 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 6308
Joined May 2002
Location: Midwest
     
Oct 05, 2009 10:36 |  #8

7D w/100-400 and Kenko 2x taped allowed the 7D to AF in good lighting (for me anyways) this past weekend.


Past Equipment | My Personal Gallery (external link) My Business Gallery (external link)
For Sale: Sigma USB Dock

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Ray.Petri
Goldmember
Avatar
2,939 posts
Gallery: 997 photos
Likes: 8134
Joined Mar 2005
Location: North Kent UK
     
Oct 05, 2009 10:39 as a reply to  @ Roy C's post |  #9

Just tried 7D - 100-400 IS with 1.4X telecon contacts taped.

It works - sort of - It's a bit slow and jumpy and I reckon it will need lots of light. It is a dull day here today.

Oh well! An excuse to buy a faster lens - I suppose!


Ray-P

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,844 views & 0 likes for this thread
Q: 7D, 400mm f.5.6 and Canon 1.4xTC AF
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member was a spammer, and banned as such!
1181 guests, 314 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.