Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
Thread started 15 Oct 2009 (Thursday) 01:36
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 28-135 IS, photos clearer with IS off?

 
tehphil
Member
103 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Anaheim, CA
     
Oct 15, 2009 01:36 |  #1

I know that you're supposed to turn IS off when you're using a tripod, but I seem to be getting blurrier pictures at slow shutter speeds with IS ON! I tried it at various focal lengths with a shutter speed at around 1/30 with IS on and off, but the pictures with IS off always turn out better. When the IS is on, I focus first, lock it for a couple seconds to let the IS "kick in" and then depress the shutter all the way.

When I make the shutter speed faster, the problem seems to go away and I can get sharp pictures again with IS on or off.

I attached a couple pictures, let me know what you think.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


-Phil
Canon 50D | Canon 5D2 | 17-40L | 24-70L | 70-200 F/4L IS | 480EX | YN-460 x2 | Cactus V2 Poverty Wizards :D | BlackRapid R-4 Strap

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Eastport
Senior Member
Avatar
940 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 47
Joined Apr 2009
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:12 |  #2

What do you mean "lock it for a couple seconds to let the IS "kick in""? IS is virtually instantaneous. Whatever it is you are doing for those couple of seconds is causing the problem.

Were both shots taken with a tripod? If the one without IS was taken at 1/25 without a tripod, seems like you are doing pretty good and have a pretty steady hand. The one with the IS on is either taken with the tripod and the IS on - which you should not do - or is suffering from your moving the camera during those couple of seconds while you are waiting for "the IS to kick in". Don't wait - depress the shutter halfway, the focus will be instantaneous and then push down the shutter the rest of the way.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Eastport
Senior Member
Avatar
940 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 47
Joined Apr 2009
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:13 |  #3

Or you have mislabelled the photos or your camera is doing so.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
beeng
Senior Member
Avatar
927 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2009
Location: Halifax, Canada
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:15 |  #4

IS isn't instantaneous... at least it isn't on mine :P .. it takes a second for the jiggly-effect to stop. Which photo is with IS on and which is with it off?
And yes if you took this on a tripod with IS on it probably won't work. The IS is trying to correct shaking that isn't there :P


A roll of film, a carboard box, and a bobbypin

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Todd ­ Lambert
I don't like titles
Avatar
12,643 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Likes: 132
Joined May 2009
Location: On The Roads Across America
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:16 |  #5

If both shots were with a tripod, and you left IS on.. this is what you'd see. This lens does not have the means to detect when a tripod is being used, and will result in poor quality shots if you leave it on.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Eastport
Senior Member
Avatar
940 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 47
Joined Apr 2009
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:16 |  #6

Yes it takes an instant (i.e. a second - not a couple of seconds)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tehphil
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
103 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Anaheim, CA
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:18 |  #7

Sorry, didn't label the pictures, the blurry one is with IS on, off of a tripod. Both are hand held.

@eastport As far as I know, IS doesn't take effect until a second after AF locks in. I'll give it a try though, thanks.


-Phil
Canon 50D | Canon 5D2 | 17-40L | 24-70L | 70-200 F/4L IS | 480EX | YN-460 x2 | Cactus V2 Poverty Wizards :D | BlackRapid R-4 Strap

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Eastport
Senior Member
Avatar
940 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 47
Joined Apr 2009
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:24 as a reply to  @ tehphil's post |  #8

tehphil: My experience with the 17-85, 17-55, 28-135 (all IS lenses) has been that the AF and the IS occur almost instantaneously. If I had to wait a few seconds for them both to kick in, I'd miss an awful lot of shots and hence would indeed worry about whether the IS was working properly which I guess is your concern. The thing is that given you are using 1/25 on both shots, is there no chance you have mislabelled them? If not, then either there is an issue with the IS or you are moving the camera during the IS kicking in.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Eastport
Senior Member
Avatar
940 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 47
Joined Apr 2009
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:27 |  #9

Wow, and since the relatively clear one is also handheld @1/25 without IS, you are indeed good. I wonder if maybe the camera switch for IS on and off is reversed? Nope, can't be that because you said you hear the IS coming on. Oh well, search me.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
Avatar
18,381 posts
Gallery: 49 photos
Likes: 3281
Joined Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
     
Oct 15, 2009 19:36 |  #10

put the camera into live view...10X zoom...then half press the shutter...with IS on, you should see it stabilize...try it with IS off too...it seems like your switch could be reversed


Andre or Dre
gear list
Instagram (external link)
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BTNorris
Member
Avatar
212 posts
Likes: 1
Joined May 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
     
Oct 16, 2009 19:19 as a reply to  @ DreDaze's post |  #11

I had a 28-135 do that - turns out it was a bad IS unit - failed after about 3-6 months, so Canon fixed it under warranty. The IS wouldn't "settle down" so the image was always on-the-move when it was ON.


7D, 17-55, 50 1.4, 70-200, 10-22, Kenko Tubes, OPTIX xr, Einstein

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KenjiS
"Holy crap its long!"
Avatar
21,388 posts
Gallery: 572 photos
Likes: 2720
Joined Oct 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
     
Oct 16, 2009 21:15 |  #12

Eastport wrote in post #8830241 (external link)
Yes it takes an instant (i.e. a second - not a couple of seconds)

Depends on the IS, the new 4th gen ones are a LOT quicker than the older ones like my 100-400, They're also quieter and a lot smoother...


Gear, New and Old! RAW Club Member
Wanted: 70-200. Time and good health
Deviantart (external link)
Flickr (This is where my good stuff is!) (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shlurpee
Member
137 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Idaho
     
Oct 16, 2009 23:50 |  #13

DreDaze wrote in post #8830379 (external link)
put the camera into live view...10X zoom...then half press the shutter...with IS on, you should see it stabilize...try it with IS off too...it seems like your switch could be reversed

Does that work? I thought in live view all the shutter button did was take the picture...no focusing or IS-ing. You can use the IS in live view??


Rebel XSI Kit lens, 28-135 USM, Tamron 70-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RPCrowe
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,274 posts
Likes: 2116
Joined Nov 2005
Location: San Diego County, California, USA
     
Oct 16, 2009 23:51 as a reply to  @ KenjiS's post |  #14

This couldn't be the problem....

When I first got my 28-135mm lens,I was confused which setting actually was IS "on" and IS "off". The I and the O are standard computer terms for "on" and "off" but, it seemed counter-intuitive to me.


See my images at http://rpcrowe.smugmug​.com/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shlurpee
Member
137 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Idaho
     
Oct 17, 2009 00:07 |  #15

DreDaze wrote in post #8830379 (external link)
put the camera into live view...10X zoom...then half press the shutter...with IS on, you should see it stabilize...try it with IS off too...it seems like your switch could be reversed

Does that work? I thought in live view all the shutter button did was take the picture...no focusing or IS-ing. You can use the IS in live view??

Edited:

I just tried it...it works. :oops:


Rebel XSI Kit lens, 28-135 USM, Tamron 70-300

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,962 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 28-135 IS, photos clearer with IS off?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Robert Chaffee
869 guests, 282 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.