Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 26 Sep 2009 (Saturday) 14:16
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom 2.5 - Memory Issues

 
TGrundvig
Goldmember
Avatar
2,876 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
     
Oct 10, 2009 20:10 |  #16

Thanks Tom...I just uninstalled 2.5 and I'll restart and download 2.3 and see fi that fixes things.


1Ds Mk II, 1D Mk II, 50D, 40D, XT (for my son), 17-40L, 24-105L, Bigma 50-500 EX DG, Sigma 150 Macro EX DG, Tokina 12-24 AT-X, Nifty Fifty, Tamron 28-300 (for my son), 580ex II, 430ex II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
BigBlueDodge
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
3,726 posts
Joined May 2005
Location: Lonestar State
     
Oct 11, 2009 02:27 |  #17

Since I've posted this original post, I've been running 2.4 and I've not encountered any errors like I did in the short time I had 2.5 installed. It's getting a little frustrating because it appears that Adobe is chasing it's tail. They put out a patch that creates new problems, and then they have to put out a new patch to fix the old problems, but that creates newer problems. And the cycle repeats. Whatever it is, they need to get their act together, or they will be at version 3.0 before they know it, based on patches alone.


David (aka BigBlueDodge)
Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TGrundvig
Goldmember
Avatar
2,876 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
     
Oct 11, 2009 10:07 |  #18

Well, after going down to 2.3 I still had the same issues, it would just crash my whole system. So, I uninstalled all my video card drivers and software and now no more issues. I was running LR with the intent to crash it and nothing....using the brush to make major changes, jumping from RAW image to Raw image and nothing. So, turns out that there was a issue between LR and my ATI driver. None of my other programs have any conflict with it except LR, which I agree is frustrating. Glad you got yours worked out.


1Ds Mk II, 1D Mk II, 50D, 40D, XT (for my son), 17-40L, 24-105L, Bigma 50-500 EX DG, Sigma 150 Macro EX DG, Tokina 12-24 AT-X, Nifty Fifty, Tamron 28-300 (for my son), 580ex II, 430ex II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FZ1
Senior Member
Avatar
801 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
     
Nov 03, 2009 22:19 |  #19

I am having issues with memory in 2.5 too. I'm running Win 7 and I have a CPU & RAM gadget running and I can see the RAM use climbing and climbing every time I use it.


Joe

My equipment / Feedback / Info

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hollis_f
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,649 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 85
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
     
Nov 06, 2009 05:04 |  #20

FZ1 wrote in post #8950825 (external link)
I am having issues with memory in 2.5 too. I'm running Win 7 and I have a CPU & RAM gadget running and I can see the RAM use climbing and climbing every time I use it.

Not sure if that gadget is at all useful for ram usage on Vista or Win7. Both OSs try to make sure that any spare ram is being used for something - so the usage gauge will always be high. The best way to see just how much LR is using is in Task Manager (or one of the third-party equivalents).


Frank Hollis - Retired mass spectroscopist
Give a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he'll complain about the withdrawal of his free fish entitlement.
Gear Website (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JC4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,610 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
     
Nov 06, 2009 07:26 as a reply to  @ hollis_f's post |  #21

I have to restart LR(2.5) and CS4 regularly on my 4gig iMac. If I don't they go to a crawl, after editing several images, CS4 needing more restarts that LR. It got really bad the other day, even editing the first couple images. Found my preview cache was about 6gig, so I deleted it. Went back to normal(several images before serious slowing, swapping).


John Caputo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TheFloridaShooter
Senior Member
713 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 27
Joined Nov 2008
     
Nov 06, 2009 07:36 |  #22

Default for the cache is 1 gig , WhenI set mine at 50 gig Lightroom was much faster. Don't forget to purge it from time to time.


1Dx MKII | 1Dx | 5D MKIV | 5D MKIII | 5Ds r | 5Ds | 7D MKII | 7D | G16 | G3x | EOS M & M3 | 800 f5.6 | 600 f4 | 400 f2.8 | 300 f2.8 | 200-400 f4 | 100-400 f4.5 - 5.6 II x 2 | 70-200 f2.8 | 14 f2.8 II | 50 f1.2 | 50 1.4 | 85 f1.2 | 135 f2 | 24-70 f2.8 II | 11-24 f4 | 35 f1.4 II | Pentax 645Z | SMC Pentax-DA 645 25mm F4 AL | SMC Pentax-D FA 645 55mm F2.8 AL | Pentax 90mm f/2.8 D FA 645 Macro ED AW SR | SMC Pentax-D FA 645 200mm f/4 IF | SMC Pentax-D FA 645 300mm f/4 ED IF | SMC FA 645 400mm f/5.6 ED IF Lens

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
FZ1
Senior Member
Avatar
801 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
     
Nov 06, 2009 07:45 |  #23

hollis_f wrote in post #8965078 (external link)
Not sure if that gadget is at all useful for ram usage on Vista or Win7. Both OSs try to make sure that any spare ram is being used for something - so the usage gauge will always be high. The best way to see just how much LR is using is in Task Manager (or one of the third-party equivalents).

Noted but it starts at about 35% usage and over the course of an hour, working in LR only, it eventually reaches near 100% and I get warnings from Windows saying I am running out of memory which leads to a BSOD or freeze if I continue. Exiting LR does not alleviate, only a reboot. It has a memory leak.


Joe

My equipment / Feedback / Info

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tylerdan
Member
31 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 06, 2009 19:25 |  #24

Same issue here if processing photos rapidly. We have been shooting pictures at some of the local weekend outdoor festivals this fall, maybe 150-200 pictures at a time. I am not doing a lot of processing, just some minor enhancements, exporting as JPEG then deleting or removing. I move through them pretty fast. The memory used starts to build till it hits 90+ percent of my 8 gig, then things get real slow. If I close and restart LR 2.5, it starts the process again.

However, if I am working on more complex pictures, spending some time each, the memory usage builds and recedes but does not keep growing,

Running 64-bit Vista, 8 gig, I-970 processor.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dave_p
Senior Member
675 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Location: Kansas City
     
Nov 07, 2009 18:06 |  #25

Have any of you opened a ticket with Adobe? Just curious what their response would be.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JC4
Goldmember
Avatar
2,610 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio
     
Nov 08, 2009 07:37 |  #26

dave_p wrote in post #8973981 (external link)
Have any of you opened a ticket with Adobe? Just curious what their response would be.

I haven't. I'm too cynical, with a long history using Adobe products. Never seen one that wasn't fat, bloated, and leaky. I can already see the paper trail trying to report a leak, and it would be long, with them asking for a reproduction, leading to nowhere. But, like I said, probably just my tainted view. :)


John Caputo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,686 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom 2.5 - Memory Issues
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Birdie760
531 guests, 288 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.