Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 31 Oct 2009 (Saturday) 17:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Aputure Timer Remote (TC-80N3 equiv) and Aputure Coworker Wireless Remote Review

 
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 04, 2009 12:56 |  #16

I just tried the remote and with the frames set to 00, I can set the timer and it just goes. I didn't go to 99 frames but it will just go and go from what I can see, which is what ASG found above.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
fiveFPS
Goldmember
1,180 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2007
     
Nov 04, 2009 13:18 |  #17

... tempting... tempting! now just the battery issue =X


Canon XTI | Canon 430ex | Crumpler 7MDH | 18-55mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ASGvideo
Mostly Lurking
10 posts
Joined Nov 2009
     
Nov 04, 2009 17:35 |  #18

The Aputure never actually ran out, just the indicator keeps coming on. Faulty indicator was my initial assumption. I took the battery out and then put it back in and the indicator would go away, but then it would come back later. Did that with the original battery and the new one I bought. I'm interested to know if others find the same thing, it would be very annoying if the battery indicator is correct and the battery ran out in the middle of a long timelapse.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EVANDIXONdotCOM
Senior Member
566 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2008
Location: NC and Nicaragua
     
Nov 09, 2009 13:48 as a reply to  @ ASGvideo's post |  #19

So, I am about to buy a remote release too and was considering the TC-80N3...are you saying the Aputure one does the timelapse type shooting (shoot x number of times with x seconds interval)? Does the TC-80N3 do that too? I dont necessarily have to have wireless capability, I would rather have reliability.


6D | Rokinon 35 1.4 | 16-35L 2.8 | 24-105L 4.0 IS | 85 1.8 | 70-200L 2.8 IS | 580EXII
dixoncreations.smugmug​.com (external link) | Marketplace Feedback/Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 09, 2009 14:17 |  #20

You basically have three choices:
1) wired basic
2) wired with timer functions
3) wireless

The Aputure timer remote above it equivalent to the TC80-N3 and can take a specified number of photos at an inteval of your choice. It can also be used a simple remote.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
fiveFPS
Goldmember
1,180 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Sep 2007
     
Nov 17, 2009 14:20 |  #21

any more of the battery indicator light problems?

did you test the max range for the wireless remote setup?


Canon XTI | Canon 430ex | Crumpler 7MDH | 18-55mm

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 17, 2009 14:23 |  #22

I haven't had the batt indicator problem so I can't comment on that.

Wireless, I'm not sure the exact range. But stood at opposite ends of one floor of the house here and it worked no problem.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 19, 2009 09:58 |  #23

Couple of updates:

Wired timer remote:
No issues, battery is still good. Haven't seen any warnings

Wireless Remote
The wireless transmitter does not have on an on off switch. It's a very light press for the "half shutter" to focus. As such, when it was in my bag I think it got pressed and held down to it killed the battery. It takes an 23A battery, they are cheap. Wish it had an on/off switch.

Other than that still happy!


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EVANDIXONdotCOM
Senior Member
566 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2008
Location: NC and Nicaragua
     
Nov 19, 2009 11:55 as a reply to  @ e02937's post |  #24

Possibly put in a mall peice of plastic between the battery and contact, pull out whe ready to use, like they do in toys when you first buy them? Not sure how it is set up, or how easy it is to get to the battery, but it would be better peice of mind. Or you could just take the battery out altogether.


6D | Rokinon 35 1.4 | 16-35L 2.8 | 24-105L 4.0 IS | 85 1.8 | 70-200L 2.8 IS | 580EXII
dixoncreations.smugmug​.com (external link) | Marketplace Feedback/Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 19, 2009 12:24 |  #25

Yeah that's an option. Battery is easy to get to just an annoyance as compared to having an on/off switch.


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike-DT6
Goldmember
Avatar
3,955 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2007
Location: The Jurassic Coast, Dorset, England.
     
Nov 20, 2009 06:42 |  #26

As far as I'm aware the Aputure timer remote is exactly the same as the Yongnuo model, but with a different name on it.

This is the one I'm getting: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …&ssPageName=STR​K:MEWAX:IT (external link)

I have read numerous accounts that these copies of the official Canon TC-80N3 actually take a maximum of 399 frames before they stop, despite it often being claimed in the details that the limit is 99. I want one for time-lapse use, so would use the setting for unlimited frames anyway, but it's worth noting.

I keep hearing good reports about the Aputure and Yongnuo, so I think it's worth buying for a fraction of the price for a Canon version.

It's a little confusing though because they list them as TC-80C3, but the photographs show clearly that they have TC-80N3a printed on them.

Mike

:-)


Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EVANDIXONdotCOM
Senior Member
566 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Dec 2008
Location: NC and Nicaragua
     
Nov 20, 2009 12:25 |  #27

Mike-DT6 wrote in post #9049305 (external link)
It's a little confusing though because they list them as TC-80C3, but the photographs show clearly that they have TC-80N3a printed on them.

That's one of the most frustrating things about ebay for me. It's like that with A LOT of stuff. Gotta look at the pics and read the description closely.


6D | Rokinon 35 1.4 | 16-35L 2.8 | 24-105L 4.0 IS | 85 1.8 | 70-200L 2.8 IS | 580EXII
dixoncreations.smugmug​.com (external link) | Marketplace Feedback/Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike-DT6
Goldmember
Avatar
3,955 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2007
Location: The Jurassic Coast, Dorset, England.
     
Nov 20, 2009 12:36 |  #28

That's also confusing though because either one could be incorrect. Is it the wrong picture or the wrong title? :lol: I'll let you know in about a week when mine turns up!

One of the other listings isn't any clearer. They don't mention the model number in the title, but it clearly shows a Yongnuo TC-80N3a in the picture. All good so far, you might think. Then they go on to say, 'The TR-80 functions like Canon TC-80N3.' So what on earth is a TR-80? :lol:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk …&ssPageName=STR​K:MEWAX:IT (external link)

I checked the feedback of the seller who was selling the one I bought and there were no complaints from people having received the wrong one, so I thought I would buy from them.

Mike

:-)


Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
e02937
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,714 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Nov 20, 2009 12:38 |  #29

I went by what was in the title of the auction to determine compatibility. Some of the images are definitely off but they are listing so many I guess they can't be bothered.

I hope yours shows up in a week, mine took way longer :)


Canon 7d
[15-85 IS] [70-200
f/4L IS] [I'm a PC]
[Full gear list and feedback]

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mike-DT6
Goldmember
Avatar
3,955 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Oct 2007
Location: The Jurassic Coast, Dorset, England.
     
Nov 20, 2009 12:41 |  #30

It's usually about a week for stuff to materialize here (UK) from Hong Kong. :-)


Gear list

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,146 views & 0 likes for this thread
Aputure Timer Remote (TC-80N3 equiv) and Aputure Coworker Wireless Remote Review
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Kévin
2203 guests, 271 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.