Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
Thread started 25 Dec 2009 (Friday) 16:38
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Can you change "Open With" list titles in Mac?

 
S-Man
Goldmember
2,008 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2007
     
Dec 25, 2009 16:38 |  #1

When I right-click on a photo or something, then go down to "Open With" to choose which app to open it with, my CS4 has made an obscenely long title somehow taking up the whole desktop. As you can see, it looks like nonsense after it says CS4. All I need it to say at the most is Adobe CS4, or just be like CS2.
Anyone know how to change this mess?
Thanks!


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 8
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Dec 25, 2009 16:54 |  #2

Open With > Other > select Application and tick "always open with".
Edit. Oops. I misread your post.

No idea on how to change thàt...


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 25, 2009 16:56 |  #3

You can do the following...

Go to -> Home/Library/Preferenc​es
Find -> com.apple.LaunchServic​es
Delete it (make a copy if you like)

That folder holds the settings for all your software. If you have problems with corrupt or missing settings with programs this is usually were you would go to reset them to default.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
S-Man
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,008 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2007
     
Dec 25, 2009 17:44 |  #4

^I deleted that (it's in the trash bin) but it's still the same...Do I need to restart?
Thanks for your help.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 25, 2009 18:31 |  #5

Yep, the finder has to be restarted.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
S-Man
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,008 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2007
     
Dec 25, 2009 20:51 |  #6

Yeah, restarted and it's still as long as ever...:confused:




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 25, 2009 22:06 |  #7

Try this (for Snow Leopard only):

/System/Library/Framew​orks/CoreServices.fram​ework/Versions/A/Frame​works/LaunchServices.f​ramework/Versions/A/Su​pport/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user

Just drag into Terminal window then hit Return then restart.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
S-Man
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,008 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2007
     
Dec 25, 2009 22:37 |  #8

MAn, I don't know what all that command line did, but it didn't fix the long title string on the "open with" menu...
I even ran Onyx and cleaned the caches and such, but no dice.
Someone mentioned that CS2, 3 and 4 add long strings like that. There HAS to be a way to fix it!

I really do appreciate your time MaxxuM.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
S-Man
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
2,008 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2007
     
Dec 25, 2009 22:57 |  #9

BOOOYAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!
Fixed baby!

This is what I did: I went into Finder>Apps> Adobe CS4 (folder)> Right-Click on CS4.app> Show Package Contents> Contents> Open info.plist

Then 6-lines down it stated what was in the "open with" string, so I removed it, restarted, and Voilá! Like a BOSS!

Thanks for y'alls help. You pointed me in the right direction MaxxuM.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
MaxxuM
Goldmember
Avatar
3,361 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Likes: 22
Joined May 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley
     
Dec 25, 2009 23:08 |  #10

Cool, glad to toss out confusing Terminal commands ;) Yea, I figured PS was putting the commands right back in after reboot after I tested it myself. Kudos to you for finding the plist yourself :)




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
BeritOlam
Goldmember
Avatar
1,675 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas
     
Dec 25, 2009 23:54 |  #11

S-Man wrote in post #9263865 (external link)
This is what I did: I went into Finder>Apps> Adobe CS4 (folder)> Right-Click on CS4.app> Show Package Contents> Contents> Open info.plist

Glad you figured it out. I thought of that when I initially read your problem....but Christmas duties called me away for a few hours!


Gear List

Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt. – Herbert Hoover

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shooterman
village idiot, actually a genius!
Avatar
1,295 posts
Gallery: 4 photos
Likes: 385
Joined Jun 2007
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
     
Dec 26, 2009 00:49 |  #12

S-Man wrote in post #9263865 (external link)
BOOOYAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!
Fixed baby!

This is what I did: I went into Finder>Apps> Adobe CS4 (folder)> Right-Click on CS4.app> Show Package Contents> Contents> Open info.plist

Then 6-lines down it stated what was in the "open with" string, so I removed it, restarted, and Voilá! Like a BOSS!

Thanks for y'alls help. You pointed me in the right direction MaxxuM.

Thanks very much! That had been bugging me for ages too. :)


Randy
| Canon 5D Classic | Canon 30D | Canon EF 40mm F2.8 | Canon 70-200 L F4 | Tamron XR DiII SP 17-50 F2.8 | Elinchrom D-Lites | Calumet Genesis 200 | Elinchrom EL Skyports | 27" 5K iMac |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,834 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can you change "Open With" list titles in Mac?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is ArcticRose
723 guests, 296 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.