Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
Thread started 15 Jan 2010 (Friday) 19:44
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

How do I control the 580 ex II output as master.

 
Vidola
Hatchling
3 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: San Francisco
     
Jan 15, 2010 19:44 |  #1

Hello All,
I recently purchased the canon 580ex II to use on the 5D II as as master flash. My plan was to use the 580 as an on-camera fill flash and trigger and to hold my 430 ex in my left hand as a key light for off-camrea event lighting. I've been able to set them on the same channel and to set the 430 output via the 580, but I can't figure out how to control the output of the 580.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
40Dude6aedyk
Goldmember
1,064 posts
Joined Jun 2008
     
Jan 15, 2010 19:47 |  #2

ETTL II or Manual?


Canon 40D; Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8L IS, 17-55mm f/2.8 IS, 85 mm f/1.8; 580EX II; Sigma EF-530 DG Super; CyberSyncs

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,010 posts
Likes: 373
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jan 15, 2010 19:51 |  #3

You'd use ratios. With the 430 so close (arms length) I wouldn't bother though, just disable the master from firing and use the 430 as the only light. Once it's 30 degrees or more away maybe you'd want fill, though i'd perhaps bounce the 580EX off a wall to the right, fingers crossed the 430 still fires though.

Outside if bright sunlight's falling on the 430EX red panel you'll have to have the 580EX pointed directly at it if you want it to fire, even then it's not 100%. Radio triggers (external link) are much more reliable, but you lose auto functions as the flashes must be in manual. You can buy ETTL radio triggers but they're expensive.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Vidola
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
3 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: San Francisco
     
Jan 15, 2010 20:32 |  #4

tim wrote in post #9402028 (external link)
You'd use ratios. With the 430 so close (arms length) I wouldn't bother though, just disable the master from firing and use the 430 as the only light. Once it's 30 degrees or more away maybe you'd want fill, though i'd perhaps bounce the 580EX off a wall to the right, fingers crossed the 430 still fires though.

Outside if bright sunlight's falling on the 430EX red panel you'll have to have the 580EX pointed directly at it if you want it to fire, even then it's not 100%. Radio triggers (external link) are much more reliable, but you lose auto functions as the flashes must be in manual. You can buy ETTL radio triggers but they're expensive.

I was under the impression that ratios control slave groups. If i set the 580EX to ETTL which ratio value corresponds to which flash?

I plan to invest in radio triggers soon so I can get both flashes off camera. Radio ETTL sounds handy but I'd like to get some experience with manual light. Any thoughts on the cactus V4?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
agv8or
Goldmember
Avatar
2,150 posts
Gallery: 10 photos
Likes: 363
Joined Oct 2006
Location: Midwest
     
Jan 15, 2010 21:44 |  #5

Just remember that when shooting in the wireless configuration your Master flash is part of the A group when set to fire whether shooting in the ETTL or Manual modes. You can do what your trying to do with your 430EX (hopefully you have long arms) but you must put it in B group in order to get a ratio output between it and your 580EX master when in the ETTL mode. If you put the 430EX in the A group then both your flashes will be creating the same exposure value just as if your ratios were turned off or set to 1:1 ratio.


Rand

Gear

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Vidola
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
3 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: San Francisco
     
Jan 15, 2010 22:10 |  #6

That makes sense! thanks agv8or. And I do have long arms :D I'll post some sample pics soon.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tim
Light Bringer
Avatar
51,010 posts
Likes: 373
Joined Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
     
Jan 16, 2010 04:13 |  #7

The short way to say it is master is A, slave is B, either use ratio 1:8 (ish) or just turn the master off. It still does the preflash just doesn't contribute to exposure. Well it does fire while the shutter's open, but if you don't want it to contribute point it toward the slave.


Professional wedding photographer, solution architect and general technical guy with multiple Amazon Web Services certifications.
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,288 posts
Gallery: 11 photos
Likes: 410
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Jan 16, 2010 15:07 as a reply to  @ tim's post |  #8

The other option is to set the master flash to manual mode. You'd still have the master as group A (it always is) and set the slave to group B.
You can then, from the master, control the power level of both the master and the slave.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
themadman
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
18,871 posts
Likes: 14
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Northern California
     
Jan 16, 2010 15:13 |  #9

This might help ya.
http://cpn.canon-europe.com …asterclass/cano​n_flash.do (external link)


Will | WilliamLiuPhotography.​com (external link) | Gear List and Feedback | CPS Member | Have you Pre-Ordered Your 3Dx Yet? | HorusBennu Discussion | In honor of Uncle Steve, thanks for everything! 10-5-2011

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,119 views & 0 likes for this thread
How do I control the 580 ex II output as master.
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is grannysclutter
816 guests, 171 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.