Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Jan 2010 (Friday) 07:10
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

I'm getting a replacement new 7D!!

 
swag72
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
465 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Olocau, Spain
     
Jan 14, 2010 09:56 |  #16

Glad to hear that Mikaela. Good that you got a new replacement straight away. Mine was posted to Canon UK on the 15th December. I should have a new one tomorrow!! Got a 5D2 now, because I was missing the camera so much!! Woops!!


Catch my pictures on Flickr http://www.flickr.com/​photos/swag72/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
StephanieF
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jan 24, 2010 14:02 as a reply to  @ swag72's post |  #17

Oh, I thought it was just me. I just received my Canon 7D a week ago and it is sooo full of noise from 160 up (I haven't tried 100 yet). I kept srcatching my head wondering if I was doing something wrong. I did have a 10D (yes, very ancient) and I was getting better noise control out of it at 200 than I am with the 7D at 160. I guess I need to contact Canon.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Freddy ­ Flash
Senior Member
301 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Location: WV
     
Jan 24, 2010 14:39 |  #18

swag72 wrote in post #9351130 (external link)
Update - Just spoken to Canon and they have ordered me in another 7D. The tech guys said that it was a software problem, but didn't elaborate any further.

Must have been a BIG software problem if they're replacing the camera.

I've seen cell phone manufacturers replace a phone just so they can take it back to the lab to figure out what's wrong with it. Canon very well could be doing something similar.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/nicholasgraf/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
tfd888
Goldmember
Avatar
1,816 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Apr 2009
Location: CA, USA
     
Jan 24, 2010 14:50 |  #19

Freddy Flash wrote in post #9461404 (external link)
I've seen cell phone manufacturers replace a phone just so they can take it back to the lab to figure out what's wrong with it. Canon very well could be doing something similar.

That's my guess.


Alexander R.O.
1D-Mark III ~1D-Mark II ~ 60D ~ 20D (Gripped)
(70-200mm L 2.8 IS) ~ (17-40mm L 4.0) (Sigma 24-70mm 2.8 EX DG Macro RIP) ~ (50mm 1.8 MKII) ~ (Alpex 35mm f/2.8 M42 mount) ~ (430EX II) ~ (Yongnuo YN-560 III)
My Website (external link) - My Blog (external link)
- My Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Keith ­ R
Goldmember
2,856 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Blyth, Northumberland, NE England
     
Jan 24, 2010 15:38 |  #20

StephanieF wrote in post #9461160 (external link)
Oh, I thought it was just me.

Well it still might be: how are you converting and processing your files?

It really matters with the 7D.

Post some images - with Exif - too.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
psxindo
Senior Member
419 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Location: So Cal
     
Jan 24, 2010 16:14 |  #21

Yes, can we see a sample picture? I want to compare with my 7D.

Thanks


5D mkIII | 5D mkII | 6D | EOS M | 16-35L | 24-70L | 70-200L 2.8 IS mkII | EF-M 22 | 50 1.4 | 85L | 100 2.8 macro | Tamron 17-50 2.8 | 2x 580 ex II | 580 ex | 2x sunpak 383 | 134GB CF |
Wishlist | 14L | 24L | 35L | 50L | 100L macro | 135L | 15 2.8 FE | 17L 4 TS | 45 2.8 TS | 90 2.8 TS |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mikaela
Member
56 posts
Joined Feb 2009
     
Jan 24, 2010 16:17 |  #22

Can I ask what you feel is the best way of converting files with the 7D please.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
RGVphoto
Member
149 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jan 24, 2010 16:35 |  #23
bannedPermanent ban

I notice RAW files looking exceptional in DPP only to find them full of noise when converted to JPEG and opened in Elements. This has been with all 7Ds I have owned (and returned to BB).


5D MKII I 7D I S90
24L I 35LI 85L II I 135L I 85 1.8
16-35L II I 24-70L I 24-105L I 70-200L 2.8IS I 100-400L I 120-300

Robert GV
~feedback~

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
StephanieF
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jan 24, 2010 16:55 |  #24

I process in RAW for everything. This one is sRGB, f5.6,1/160,ISO 320. Taken with my 100mm 2.8 in natural light.

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i72.photobucket​.com …ieInKY/100prece​ntcrop.jpg (external link)



  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chris_R
Member
Avatar
192 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 199
Joined Dec 2009
Location: France
     
Jan 24, 2010 18:21 as a reply to  @ StephanieF's post |  #25

I'm shooting in raw all the time too, I don't find any issue with the ISO noise...
I mean look,

7D+EF-s 60 macro, no noise reduction at all, DPP to jpeg (:!: soft image, handheld, indoor night, 3Mo+ give some time to images to load):
http://r.kriss77.free.​fr …ise_test/_MG_60​41_web.jpg (external link)
same shot after PS CS4 noise ninja plugin:
http://r.kriss77.free.​fr …ise_test/_MG_60​41_pro.JPG (external link)

I gave another try, 450D vs 7D with no noise reduction at all, handheld aswell. I cropped the 7D shot with the 450D resolution:
450D+15-85@ 24f4 1/20 ISO 1600:
http://r.kriss77.free.​fr/Photo/Noise_test/IM​G_6334.JPG (external link)
7D+24-105L@ 24f4 1/20 ISO 1600:
http://r.kriss77.free.​fr/Photo/Noise_test/_M​G_6049.JPG (external link)

Yeah, the 7D shot is soft compared to the 450D one, but in term of ISO it look pretty much the same if not better.
About the AF tracking, I didn't gave a try yet, the weather here don't make me fell to get out...


Canon 1DXII | Canon 7D + BG-E7
EF 16-35 f/4L IS USM | EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM
EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM | EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
EF 50 f/1.2L IS USM | EF 85 f/1.4L IS USM | EF 100 f/2.8L IS USM Macro
EF 2x II Extender | EF-S 60 f/2.8 macro
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bear ­ Dale
"I get 'em pregnant"
Avatar
4,779 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 477
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Australia
     
Jan 24, 2010 18:32 |  #26

Good for you.


Cheers,
Bear Dale

Some of my photos featured on Flickr Bear Dale (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chris_R
Member
Avatar
192 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 199
Joined Dec 2009
Location: France
     
Jan 24, 2010 18:43 |  #27

Right, good for me, yet happy that all the "7D" did not get problems. Would be a disaster for Canon buisness!


Canon 1DXII | Canon 7D + BG-E7
EF 16-35 f/4L IS USM | EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM
EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM | EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
EF 50 f/1.2L IS USM | EF 85 f/1.4L IS USM | EF 100 f/2.8L IS USM Macro
EF 2x II Extender | EF-S 60 f/2.8 macro
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
StephanieF
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Jan 2010
     
Jan 24, 2010 19:17 as a reply to  @ Chris_R's post |  #28

I shoot stock, so noise reduction isn't really an option for me. I need the image to come out of the camera clean.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chris_R
Member
Avatar
192 posts
Gallery: 39 photos
Likes: 199
Joined Dec 2009
Location: France
     
Jan 24, 2010 19:48 |  #29

I disabled all kind of noise reduction in the 7D, but when i transfer my raw file and open them with DPP, there is still 2(luminance) and 3(chrominance) (/20) on noise reduction panel so...
Weird thing is on the 450D, all noise reduction disabled, the settings are different, 0 lum. and 2 chrom. o_O


Canon 1DXII | Canon 7D + BG-E7
EF 16-35 f/4L IS USM | EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM
EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM | EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
EF 50 f/1.2L IS USM | EF 85 f/1.4L IS USM | EF 100 f/2.8L IS USM Macro
EF 2x II Extender | EF-S 60 f/2.8 macro
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bear ­ Dale
"I get 'em pregnant"
Avatar
4,779 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 477
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Australia
     
Jan 24, 2010 20:08 |  #30

StephanieF wrote in post #9463006 (external link)
I shoot stock, so noise reduction isn't really an option for me. I need the image to come out of the camera clean.

So all stock photos are SOOC?


Cheers,
Bear Dale

Some of my photos featured on Flickr Bear Dale (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,342 views & 0 likes for this thread
I'm getting a replacement new 7D!!
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Panzer90
1178 guests, 333 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.