Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 12 Mar 2010 (Friday) 15:12
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Canon 5Dmk2 M setting 400 ISO on auto ISO??

 
rgrebby
Senior Member
Avatar
654 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2008
     
Mar 12, 2010 15:12 |  #1

If I set my camera to Manual mode and then use the Auto ISO option all I seem to get is 400 ISO, even if the picture is way too dark.
Should this be happening?


Canon 5D MKII
Canon 24-70mm f2.8L
Canon 70-200mm f2.8L IS
Canon 85mm 1.8
http://richardgrebby.c​o.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
phigment
Member
230 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
     
Mar 12, 2010 15:45 |  #2

That's a good question.

The answer is, that is the way it is programmed so that is the way it works. This is a common complaint about the auto iso mode.

I'm sure there are other threads discussing this.


A7R, Firin 20mm, CV 21/4, CV 40/1.4, 100ZE, 300 4LIS, Tamron 150-600, Jupiter 8, RX100 IV

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bohdank
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
14,060 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
     
Mar 12, 2010 15:57 |  #3

It doesn't work in Manual. After all, it is Manual ;-)a


Bohdan - I may be, and probably am, completely wrong.
Gear List

Montreal Concert, Event and Portrait Photographer (external link)
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
justinalamode
Member
87 posts
Joined Feb 2010
Location: Torrance [310]
     
Mar 12, 2010 16:23 |  #4

bohdank wrote in post #9784279 (external link)
It doesn't work in Manual. After all, it is Manual ;-)a

Yep. Precisely this. Manual mode is for full manual. Auto ISO works in the full auto and semi-auto modes. In Manual mode, or with a flash mounted on the hotshoe, the 5DII will automatically choose ISO 400.

Read your manual!!


| Canon EOS 5D Mark II w/ BG-E6| Canon G11 | Canon 24-70 f/2.8L | Σ 50 f/1.4

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rgrebby
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
654 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2008
     
Mar 12, 2010 18:07 |  #5

justinalamode wrote in post #9784430 (external link)
Yep. Precisely this. Manual mode is for full manual. Auto ISO works in the full auto and semi-auto modes. In Manual mode, or with a flash mounted on the hotshoe, the 5DII will automatically choose ISO 400.

Read your manual!!


Thanks but the manual is 3500 miles away :(


Canon 5D MKII
Canon 24-70mm f2.8L
Canon 70-200mm f2.8L IS
Canon 85mm 1.8
http://richardgrebby.c​o.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ShauningtoN
Senior Member
Avatar
540 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
     
Mar 12, 2010 18:37 |  #6

rgrebby wrote in post #9784933 (external link)
Thanks but the manual is 3500 miles away :(

or so you thought ;)

http://gdlp01.c-wss.com …76/01/eos5dmkii​-im-en.pdf (external link)


A few bodies and lenses..

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
450newb
Member
81 posts
Joined Dec 2008
Location: Way to far south
     
Mar 12, 2010 18:39 as a reply to  @ rgrebby's post |  #7

Please, correct me if I'm wrong but if the camera is set in "Bulb" mode or has a flash mounted it defaults to ISO 400.


1D MARK IV, G9, Canon 8-15 4L USM, Canon 24-70 2.8L USM, Canon 400 5.6L USM, Canon 70-200 2.8L IS, Canon 50mm 1.2L, Canon 16-35 2.8L II, Slik Pro 700 DX Tri-Pod
Nothing or nobody is safe from my hack-kneed photography.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,250 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 9
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Richmond VA USA
     
Mar 12, 2010 18:41 |  #8

I haven't used flash on the 5D2 yet but that's the way my 7D and XS work. I rarely use auto ISO, I prefer to set it manually.


Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,717 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 5Dmk2 M setting 400 ISO on auto ISO??
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Constantin
829 guests, 202 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.