Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 08 Feb 2010 (Monday) 10:25
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Will the 7D get the 550D's ISO control?

 
Tim ­ Kostka
Senior Member
Avatar
342 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Feb 09, 2010 11:31 |  #46

gabebalazs wrote in post #9573493 (external link)
I can imagine myself shooting in M mode setting my desired aperture and shutter speed and rely on the Auto ISO, but at the same time I'd rather not go over 1600.

How would the camera respond in this case if it required 6400 ISO to be exposed properly? Underexpose by 2 stops? Simply refuse to take the picture? Adjust shutter speed instead?


Zenfolio (external link) | Picasa Web (external link)
Canon EOS 7D | EF 24-105mm L | EF-S 10-22mm | EF-S 18-135mm | Sigma 50-500mm | 580EX II | Feisol CT-3441SB Tripod

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Elisha
Senior Member
577 posts
Likes: 6
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Guelph
     
Feb 09, 2010 12:23 |  #47

When I fist got the 7D, I wrote to Canon asking them to implement an upper and lower limit for Auto ISO. Since my Sony a700 and D90 had it.
Plus ISO 6400 is native for the 7D's sensor but yet the max limit for Auto ISO is only 3200.
Custom configuration of Auto ISO would be awesome.

The other feature that Nikon has that I liked was the minimum SS that you are willing to go at any time. That way you knew for sure you wouldn't go below 1/30 or so when configured.


Nikon D750
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mocows
Goldmember
Avatar
1,055 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Richmond, BC
     
Feb 09, 2010 13:25 |  #48

kostka wrote in post #9574394 (external link)
How would the camera respond in this case if it required 6400 ISO to be exposed properly? Underexpose by 2 stops? Simply refuse to take the picture? Adjust shutter speed instead?

I could see it auto adjusting the other settings in Av/Tv mode but in M it'd probably just underexpose I assume.


7D | XSi + Phottix Grip | 400 F/5.6 | 70-200 F/4 | Sigma 30 f/1.4 | Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6 |430ex | Horusbennu C-2830V | Photo Clam PC-33
flickr gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hpulley
Goldmember
4,390 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Feb 09, 2010 13:26 |  #49

The EOS 1D offers safety shift in Av and Tv modes and lets you limit the acceptable range of aperture and shutter speeds it can use in general so it isn't just Nikon that has that feature but Canon only seems to let you limit those things on the flagship model.


flickr (external link) 1DIIN 40D 1NRS 650 1.4xII EF12II Pel8 50f1.8I 28-80II 17-40L 24-70L 100-400L 177A 199A OC-E3 RS-80N3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
12,489 posts
Gallery: 21 photos
Likes: 537
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
Feb 09, 2010 14:40 as a reply to  @ hpulley's post |  #50

The 7D supports auto ISO in the 100-3200 range, as well as Safety Shift.

In Tv mode, you can set 1/500 s and auto ISO. If so, the camera will use ISO 100 and vary the aperture, as long as the aperture range doesn't give underexposure. If it does, it will rise the ISO up to 3200. When that doesn't help, it will lengthen the exposure time to avoid underexposure.
If the smallest aperture at ISO 100 still gives overexposure, it will make the exposure time shorter.

Av mode is similar, just opposite.

In P mode, it will adjust both aperture and shutter speed to make maximum use of the combined range, down to a shutter speed of about 1/focal length. There it will hold the shutter speed and rise ISO to 3200. After that, it will make the exposure time longer.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
dmstraton
Senior Member
Avatar
557 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Location: Closter, NJ - just moved!
     
Feb 09, 2010 16:31 |  #51

If I remember correctly, if you are auto ISO and Av, it tries to keep the 1/focal length rule in effect for whatever lens is on the camera, corresponding to where it is zoomed.


dmstraton
5DmkII, Zeiss 21 f2.8, Zeiss 35 f2, Zeiss 50 f2 Makro-Planar, 580EXII, Voigtlander Bessa R2M, Voigtlander 35 f1.4 Nokton

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
itzcryptic
Goldmember
1,174 posts
Joined Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati
     
Feb 09, 2010 20:10 |  #52

Mocows wrote in post #9575227 (external link)
I could see it auto adjusting the other settings in Av/Tv mode but in M it'd probably just underexpose I assume.

I would only expect it to vary the other setting if safety shift was on. Of course in Av mode it should vary shutter speed as much as allowed before touching ISO (I would prefer a minimum shutter speed setting). In Tv mode it would vary the Aperture as much as possible before touching the ISO as well.

That's how I would implement it.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jochyestrella
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Dec 2008
     
Apr 06, 2010 14:55 |  #53

pcj wrote in post #9567267 (external link)
I shoot indoor dance events, where flash is frequently banned. Auto ISO, with an upper limit, would allow me to set my shutter speed to be fast enough to catch motion, my aperture to be wide open, and still have a chance of catching shots with what I consider acceptable noise.

Of course, I'm happy as a pig in poop about my 7D (and have never had this feature before, so I never missed it) regardless - but without a "safe" limit for Auto ISO, I don't use it - the above is just one potential use case for this feature, and I hope I do see it in a firmware update later on.

I love my 7D as well but it really pisses me off when the damm camera goes berzerko shooting at 3200 iso when theres' enough light available to handhold the camera for a sharp take, even do iso 3200 is acceptable i don't like going over 1600 for dark scenes. i really wish canon gets a firmware update to custom auto iso or to limit the iso ceiling according to the amount of light available in relationship to focal lenght of lense use and the shutter it can sustain ! ( i think the last one may too much to ask ) other than that is a an amazing camera. the new 550D (t2i) have it ... that can u believe that crap ?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
K6AZ
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
10,250 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 9
Joined Nov 2008
Location: Richmond VA USA
     
Apr 06, 2010 15:00 |  #54

jwcdds wrote in post #9566290 (external link)
Well, it depends on what you mean by "more control". I personally prefer to set my own ISO, and not let the camera set it for me. ;)

Same here, it's a non-issue for me, but if it's in the 550D I wouldn't be surprised to see a firmware update for the 7D.


Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
ef2
Goldmember
Avatar
1,135 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
     
Apr 06, 2010 15:19 |  #55

I love Auto ISO on my 5Dmk2, and if it was a bit more reliable, I'd use it all the time.


5D Mk III
Canon 580EX
Canon 16-35mm f/2.8L | 24mm f/3.5L | 50mm f/1.4 | 100mm f/2.0 | 100mm f/2.8 Macro | 135mm f/2.8 SF | 70-200mm [COLOR=black]f/2.8L IS | 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO
Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Chris_R
Member
Avatar
196 posts
Gallery: 40 photos
Likes: 211
Joined Dec 2009
Location: France
     
Apr 06, 2010 16:45 |  #56

Woot! didn't even seen that the 550D got it (didn't took care in fact), kind of stuff I want :D
Let's hope in a soon firmware update!


Canon 1DXII | Canon 7D + BG-E7
EF 16-35 f/4L IS USM | EF 24-105 f/4L IS USM
EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS USM | EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
EF 50 f/1.2L IS USM | EF 85 f/1.4L IS USM | EF 100 f/2.8L IS USM Macro
EF 2x II Extender | EF-S 60 f/2.8 macro
flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

13,512 views & 0 likes for this thread
Will the 7D get the 550D's ISO control?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Lousyboy
821 guests, 231 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.