Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
Thread started 23 Mar 2010 (Tuesday) 18:15
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Eye-Fi with 1D Mark IV ???

 
prayharder
Member
188 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: Ephrata, WA
     
Mar 23, 2010 18:15 |  #1

Anyone out there use an Eye-Fi with a 1D Mark IV ?

I like the thought of it, but don't like the slowness of SD.

Also, anyone have any luck with the geo-tagging ?

From what I understand it only uses Wi-Fi for geo-tagging, and not GPS...unless there is something I am missing, this won't work out in the middle-of-nowhere...right ?

Anyway, I would love to hear some peoples stories with them.

Ben


My Gear / Info

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Scuff
Senior Member
Avatar
520 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 89
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Irthlingboro' Northants. UK.
     
Apr 13, 2010 08:34 |  #2

I dont have a Mk4 but I use the Eye-Fi pro 4gb on my 1Ds2 1D3 and G10.

Geotagging isnt really of interest to me so I won't comment on that. I mainly use it for ad-hoc or wifi connection to my laptop when in the studio or at a function.

Whilst the downloads are fast enough with small jpegs, the Raw files take a little longer, but it is worth the wait.

It is great to have the files ready for examination or editing in lightrrom within seconds. The customer loves to see the images straight away and can place orders there and then.

It also save quite a lot of money not having to purchase 2 Canon WiFi transmitters :cool:

For me it is great value and a great timesaver...


Scuff
Canon EOS 1Dx II, M5, XF400: 16-35 f4Lis, 24-105, 70-200 f2.8Lis III, 70-300 f4/5.6Lis, Sigma 150-600 Sport, 600ex-RT (3x), ST-E3 RT.
My flickr page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 226
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Apr 13, 2010 09:34 |  #3

You understand right about the geotagging. It will give all your photos the location (if known) of the WiFi network you connect through. The tacit assumption is that it's a static access point that's been mapped, and that the name is unique. If you want geotagging, use a GPS receiver even if you do have an EyeFi card.

I used one of the earlier models (that doesn't do RAW) with my 20D via a SD-CF adapter. It works, but as all it was transferring was JPEG, I don't think that was a fair test.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Tortri
Member
Avatar
197 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Location: Maryland
     
Apr 13, 2010 10:54 |  #4

prayharder wrote in post #9857091 (external link)
Anyone out there use an Eye-Fi with a 1D Mark IV ?

I like the thought of it, but don't like the slowness of SD.

Also, anyone have any luck with the geo-tagging ?

From what I understand it only uses Wi-Fi for geo-tagging, and not GPS...unless there is something I am missing, this won't work out in the middle-of-nowhere...right ?

Anyway, I would love to hear some peoples stories with them.

Ben

Do you happen to use a phone that uses Google Android for it's OS? (Mytouch, cliq, droid, etc.) if so i use MyTrack to record my gps and save it to file, then I use a program on my pc to apply the gps info into the files when they are jpgs(i shoot raw), just be sure the time on you're pc and phone are sync. I dont remember the name of the program off the top of my head, its on my other computer, msg me if your interested and i'll get off my lazy butt and go up stairs to find out.


5D Mark II
Sigma 50mm 1.4 / 100L 2.8 / 135L 2.0 / 1.4x Extender / 430EX II
Capture Clip System / LowePro 100

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonnoob
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,487 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Apr 13, 2010 10:55 |  #5

The Eye-fi system has never done any good. It is slow even IF it works. Its not worth the 100 bucks to try IMO.


David W.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scuff
Senior Member
Avatar
520 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 89
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Irthlingboro' Northants. UK.
     
Apr 13, 2010 11:02 |  #6

canonnoob wrote in post #9986451 (external link)
The Eye-fi system has never done any good. It is slow even IF it works. Its not worth the 100 bucks to try IMO.

Mine was £75 GBP and is not noticeabley slow. A great deal quicker than removing the card, sticking it in the computer, transferring the files and then opening them in lightroom.

Maybe you tried the old slow version of the card.

Just trying to give an even handed impression of the card.


Scuff
Canon EOS 1Dx II, M5, XF400: 16-35 f4Lis, 24-105, 70-200 f2.8Lis III, 70-300 f4/5.6Lis, Sigma 150-600 Sport, 600ex-RT (3x), ST-E3 RT.
My flickr page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonnoob
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,487 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Apr 13, 2010 12:38 |  #7

Scuff wrote in post #9986488 (external link)
Mine was £75 GBP and is not noticeabley slow. A great deal quicker than removing the card, sticking it in the computer, transferring the files and then opening them in lightroom.

Maybe you tried the old slow version of the card.

Just trying to give an even handed impression of the card.

just so you know... 75 GBP is 115.26 USD.

Depending on the type of computer, and software you are using it is not going to be quicker.

Example.

It takes me exactly 10 seconds to load 560 RAW files onto my laptop VIA an external card reader, and open photo Mechanic to view the files.. No loading what so ever. The Eye-fi system does not compare with that.


David W.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Scuff
Senior Member
Avatar
520 posts
Gallery: 6 photos
Likes: 89
Joined Mar 2006
Location: Irthlingboro' Northants. UK.
     
Apr 13, 2010 18:48 |  #8

canonnoob wrote in post #9987125 (external link)
just so you know... 75 GBP is 115.26 USD.

Depending on the type of computer, and software you are using it is not going to be quicker.

Example.

It takes me exactly 10 seconds to load 560 RAW files onto my laptop VIA an external card reader, and open photo Mechanic to view the files.. No loading what so ever. The Eye-fi system does not compare with that.

Wow that is quick - thats way faster than my 1d3 can take them.! 56 RAW files a second - wish my computer was that fast :lol:


Scuff
Canon EOS 1Dx II, M5, XF400: 16-35 f4Lis, 24-105, 70-200 f2.8Lis III, 70-300 f4/5.6Lis, Sigma 150-600 Sport, 600ex-RT (3x), ST-E3 RT.
My flickr page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bloodbean
Member
Avatar
242 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
     
Apr 13, 2010 22:15 |  #9

canonnoob wrote in post #9987125 (external link)
just so you know... 75 GBP is 115.26 USD.

Depending on the type of computer, and software you are using it is not going to be quicker.

Example.

It takes me exactly 10 seconds to load 560 RAW files onto my laptop VIA an external card reader, and open photo Mechanic to view the files.. No loading what so ever. The Eye-fi system does not compare with that.

Seems difficult to believe. What size RAW files are you using? 56 RAW per second would be about 560mb per second if you are using 10mb RAW files... :confused:

Troy


7D, Rok 8mm, Sigma 10-20, Canon 17-55, Canon 50 1.4, Tamron 90 macro, 70-200L f4, FDn 135 f2, Sigma 170-500, Celestron C8 2,000mm f10
My Flickr page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonnoob
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,487 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Apr 13, 2010 22:22 |  #10

Bloodbean wrote in post #9990620 (external link)
Seems difficult to believe. What size RAW files are you using? 56 RAW per second would be about 560mb per second if you are using 10mb RAW files... :confused:

Troy

not a stretch.. Im talking all of my camera raw files-40d, mkIIn, and the mkIV.


David W.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bloodbean
Member
Avatar
242 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
     
Apr 14, 2010 19:37 |  #11

Which external card reader can do 560mb per second? I thought the fastest CF cards were about 100mb/s?

Troy


7D, Rok 8mm, Sigma 10-20, Canon 17-55, Canon 50 1.4, Tamron 90 macro, 70-200L f4, FDn 135 f2, Sigma 170-500, Celestron C8 2,000mm f10
My Flickr page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
majin ­ tcz
Member
115 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2008
     
Apr 14, 2010 21:41 |  #12

I would like to know this too!


Fuji XT-2 | 10-24 F4 R OIS | 35 F2 R WR
http://tcainphotograph​y.com (external link)
http://tcainphotograph​y.wordpress.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Bloodbean
Member
Avatar
242 posts
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
     
Apr 15, 2010 04:51 |  #13

Looking more into it hard drives aren't even 560mb per second, so he's obviously got his numbers wrong. :(

Troy


7D, Rok 8mm, Sigma 10-20, Canon 17-55, Canon 50 1.4, Tamron 90 macro, 70-200L f4, FDn 135 f2, Sigma 170-500, Celestron C8 2,000mm f10
My Flickr page (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
le37
Member
181 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Nov 2009
Location: Canada
     
Apr 15, 2010 12:27 |  #14

I bet he's talking about plugging the card into a reader and using his software to browse the photos on the card... that could take 10seconds.

either that, or he got the numbers wrong... maybe 10 minutes.


I'm a noob. Here to learn.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
canonnoob
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
8,487 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
     
Apr 15, 2010 13:27 |  #15

How do you get your photos onto your computer? Let me ask you that?


David W.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

12,075 views & 0 likes for this thread
Eye-Fi with 1D Mark IV ???
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is colinalan
711 guests, 295 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.