Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 04 Apr 2010 (Sunday) 20:19
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Size limits in CF cards for 1D Mark III?

 
rka4570
Member
198 posts
Joined Jan 2008
     
Apr 04, 2010 20:19 |  #1

I'm purchasing a 1d Mark III from a member here on POTN and I have a Sandisk extreme III 2.0GB CF card. I plan on purchasing another CF card and I was wondering if there is a max size (8,16,32 GB) the camera can accept.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Saint728
Goldmember
Avatar
2,892 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Honolulu Hawaii
     
Apr 04, 2010 20:28 |  #2

I don't think there is a limit to what size CF you can use in them? I use a 16GB CF and a 16GB SDHC card at the same time. I'm sure you could use a 64GB card with no problems, but I wouldn't put all my eggs in one basket.

Take Care,
Cheers, Patrick


Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III | 17-40mm f/4.0L | 70-200mm f/2.8L USM | 100mm f/2.8L IS Macro | 300mm f/4.0L IS
Click Here To See My Gear
Click here to see my Flickr (external link)
http://www.runryder.co​m/helicopter/gallery/9​019/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EOS-100-10-1D
Senior Member
Avatar
265 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2010
Location: England
     
Apr 04, 2010 20:50 |  #3

Saint728 wrote in post #9933211 (external link)
I don't think there is a limit to what size CF you can use in them? I use a 16GB CF and a 16GB SDHC card at the same time. I'm sure you could use a 64GB card with no problems, but I wouldn't put all my eggs in one basket.

Take Care,
Cheers, Patrick

I would recommend phoning your country's Canon Helpline before buying a Card with huge memory. After buying a 4GB card for my EOS1D Classic I was told by the previous owner that he thought 2GB was the Classic's limit:oops:. I phoned the Canon UK helpline & was informed that 2GB was indeed the limit for the Classic, however the 4GB would probably work with my Classic, but the Camera would most likely format it as 2GB. This proved to be the case when I checked the Capacity of a Camera-Formatted Card on my PC, though the Card continues to work fine in that way in my Camera. So basically I had bought an expensive 2GB Card! Fortunately the price difference between 2 & 4 GB is marginal, but the point I am making is that I think it is best to ask Canon before buying a very expensive High Capacity Card that your EOS1D Mk3 may downgrade to something you could have bought cheaper.


EOS5D MkII, EOS1D MkII, EOS10D. EF 17-40 f4L, EF 24-105 f4L, EF 50mm f1.8 MkI, EF 50mm f1.8 II, EF 70-200f4L, EF 300mm f4L, EF 1.4X Extender. 270EX, Metz 45 CL3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberDyneSystems
Admin (type T-2000)
Avatar
52,157 posts
Gallery: 192 photos
Likes: 9036
Joined Apr 2003
Location: Rhode Island USA
     
Apr 04, 2010 22:02 |  #4

EOS 1D "Classic" was made in 2001 and used FAT 16 (file allocation table 16bit ) for the file system on it's memory cards, and yes that means a 2GB limit on the partition it can see.

All EOS cameras since the 10D have used FAT32,. which can scale up to hundreds of gigabytes.


GEAR LIST
CDS' HOT LINKS
Jake Hegnauer Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
EOS-100-10-1D
Senior Member
Avatar
265 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Jan 2010
Location: England
     
Apr 05, 2010 02:45 |  #5

CyberDyneSystems wrote in post #9933741 (external link)
EOS 1D "Classic" was made in 2001 and used FAT 16 (file allocation table 16bit ) for the file system on it's memory cards, and yes that means a 2GB limit on the partition it can see.

All EOS cameras since the 10D have used FAT32,. which can scale up to hundreds of gigabytes.

Thanks for explaining that CyberDeneSystems! I now know why my Classic has the 2GB limit:).


EOS5D MkII, EOS1D MkII, EOS10D. EF 17-40 f4L, EF 24-105 f4L, EF 50mm f1.8 MkI, EF 50mm f1.8 II, EF 70-200f4L, EF 300mm f4L, EF 1.4X Extender. 270EX, Metz 45 CL3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
40dnewbie
Member
93 posts
Joined Jul 2008
     
Apr 14, 2010 12:26 |  #6

CyberDeneSystems your comments are always helpful. I have just bought 1dmkiii and I am considering an SDHC for backup. What class card should I buy to avoid degrading the writ capability of the camerfa? Thanks


1DMKIII, 5D mk III, 7D mk II, 70D, 50 1.8, 17-40 F4 L, 24-70 f2.8 L, 24-105L, 70-200 f2.8 L IS, 85 1.8, 100-400 4.5-5.6L, 600EX II-RT, (2)580EX II, (2)430EX
www.photosbywalker.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 226
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Apr 14, 2010 12:30 |  #7

40dnewbie wrote in post #9994016 (external link)
CyberDeneSystems your comments are always helpful. I have just bought 1dmkiii and I am considering an SDHC for backup. What class card should I buy to avoid degrading the writ capability of the camerfa? Thanks

See for yourself at the Rob Galbraith CF/SD Performance Database (external link).


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aboss3
Goldmember
Avatar
2,616 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: LOS ANGELES
     
Apr 14, 2010 12:30 |  #8
bannedPermanent ban

Yep, you shouldn't worry about the card size and go with 32/64gb easily!


Gear | My gear is changing faster than I can update the signature
VoyageEyewear (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
Avatar
13,313 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jun 2007
Location: South Dakota
     
Apr 14, 2010 12:33 |  #9

All Canon cameras developed in the last few years (including the 1DMkIII) can take up to a 2 terabyte CF.


Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund
https://photography-on-the.net …php?p=9903477#p​ost9903477
POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds


Full Gear List & Feedback

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

6,023 views & 0 likes for this thread
Size limits in CF cards for 1D Mark III?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is markhilton
823 guests, 163 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.