Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 14 Apr 2010 (Wednesday) 21:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

7D Firmware Update Version 1.2.1

 
scsurfdad
Senior Member
Avatar
315 posts
Likes: 16
Joined Oct 2009
     
Apr 15, 2010 01:02 as a reply to  @ post 9998059 |  #31

I just updated and can't tell any difference yet.

Took a few shots around the house.

1. Dork w/ camera:) f/6.3, 1/80, ISO 640

IMAGE: http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4023/4522754648_0cd585dc9a.jpg

2. The laziest dog ever! OCF, f/2.8, 1/250, ISO 200
IMAGE: http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4015/4522755112_ae58ca6420.jpg

Mike
Sony A7R III

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
zincozinco
-Followers of Fidget-
Avatar
4,420 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Oct 2007
Location: Andalucía
     
Apr 15, 2010 01:06 |  #32

it seems to be displayin some images with strong light reverse... hmm aught to report to Canon :)


Living the life, overexposing...
Web (external link), Blog (external link) Name: Mike, Maik, Micke or just zinco.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
JamesH
Member
Avatar
133 posts
Joined Feb 2007
Location: WA
     
Apr 15, 2010 01:14 |  #33

Maybe this'll fix my Error 40 issue. Doubt it but its worth a try!


Fujifilm X-T1 | Fujifilm X100S | Fujifilm X100T

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shedberg
Goldmember
Avatar
1,122 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Terrace, B.C. Canada
     
Apr 15, 2010 01:31 |  #34

Just updated... I wasn't having any problems with my 7D so hopefully this doesn't introduce any.


My Flickr Page (external link)
6D / 7D / 16-35 II / 35 2.0 IS / 60 macro / 85 1.8 / 135 2 / 100-400 / 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shedberg
Goldmember
Avatar
1,122 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Terrace, B.C. Canada
     
Apr 15, 2010 01:51 |  #35

OK, think I found a difference... my 16GB CF card ALWAYS shows 505 shots left (in full size RAW mode) when freshly formatted... it now says 541 shots left. Change in RAW file compression?


My Flickr Page (external link)
6D / 7D / 16-35 II / 35 2.0 IS / 60 macro / 85 1.8 / 135 2 / 100-400 / 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shedberg
Goldmember
Avatar
1,122 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Terrace, B.C. Canada
     
Apr 15, 2010 01:58 |  #36

lumpydog wrote in post #9997423 (external link)
Ok - One difference that I'm seeing is the "shots remaining number" just increased.

I have a 16GB card and when formatted and empty, I've had the shots remaining display read 505

After this firmware update, I'm seeing 541

Ooops, missed this post.


My Flickr Page (external link)
6D / 7D / 16-35 II / 35 2.0 IS / 60 macro / 85 1.8 / 135 2 / 100-400 / 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
gdl357
Senior Member
Avatar
877 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
     
Apr 15, 2010 03:06 |  #37

shedberg wrote in post #9998264 (external link)
OK, think I found a difference... my 16GB CF card ALWAYS shows 505 shots left (in full size RAW mode) when freshly formatted... it now says 541 shots left. Change in RAW file compression?

Your probably not in the same ISO settings as you were before. The qty of pics change with ISO chosen.

my 8GB
at ISO100 = 303 pics RAW
at ISO400 = 295
at ISO800 = 287
at ISO1600 = 279
at ISO3200 = 269
at ISO6400 = 251
at ISO12800 H = 232


"A mind once stretched by the imagination never regains it's original form."

:p Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Simon ­ Harrison
"Bag Snapper"
3,053 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Feb 2005
Location: Ingleby Barwick, Teesside
     
Apr 15, 2010 04:02 |  #38

PixxByTango wrote in post #9997331 (external link)
I find the update list quite interesting since when I received my 2nd 7D back from CPS they changed to that firmware 2 weeks ago to solve my AF issues and soft images. I even posted they updated my firmware to which another poster commented there were not any updates available. Well... I guess they gave back enough 7D's to the customers to prove the update is worth mentioning to the rest of the world.

I say go for it!

Just updated mine, and have some karting to shoot on Sunday. I'll be very interested to see if it has made any improvement to the AF performance of my camera based on what you state above.

Simon.


Simon

http://www.flickr.com/​photos/srhmoto/ (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lumpydog
Member
118 posts
Joined Feb 2010
     
Apr 15, 2010 05:58 |  #39

gdl357 wrote in post #9998456 (external link)
Your probably not in the same ISO settings as you were before. The qty of pics change with ISO chosen.

my 8GB
at ISO100 = 303 pics RAW
at ISO400 = 295
at ISO800 = 287
at ISO1600 = 279
at ISO3200 = 269
at ISO6400 = 251
at ISO12800 H = 232

My ISO was and is set to Auto. So I wonder why we see the bump in the number of shots remaining...? Like others that are seeing this change, I use RAW only....

I wonder what Canon did to allow for more images. It would be interesting to compare file sizes of captured RAW images now. Perhaps they are slightly smaller?

It's a 7% improvement in RAW image size/storage - which is a pretty big jump.


---------------
Gear: Canon 7D | 10-22mm EF-S | 17-55mm EF-S | 70-200mm f/2.8 IS II | 50mm f/1.8 II | Canon 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
hpulley
Goldmember
4,390 posts
Joined Oct 2009
     
Apr 15, 2010 08:44 |  #40

Sounds like they changed the auto ISO settings then.


flickr (external link) 1DIIN 40D 1NRS 650 1.4xII EF12II Pel8 50f1.8I 28-80II 17-40L 24-70L 100-400L 177A 199A OC-E3 RS-80N3

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yitaro
Member
93 posts
Joined Dec 2009
Location: La Loche, Canada
     
Apr 15, 2010 09:38 |  #41

Question to those who have updated to firmware 1.21. Are you still able to use Chines ebay battery? If so, does it now show battery status?


Canon 7D, Canon 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM, Canon 70-200 f4 IS, Tokina 11-16 f2.8, and Sigmalux.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shedberg
Goldmember
Avatar
1,122 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Mar 2010
Location: Terrace, B.C. Canada
     
Apr 15, 2010 09:40 |  #42

gdl357 wrote in post #9998456 (external link)
Your probably not in the same ISO settings as you were before. The qty of pics change with ISO chosen.

my 8GB
at ISO100 = 303 pics RAW
at ISO400 = 295
at ISO800 = 287
at ISO1600 = 279
at ISO3200 = 269
at ISO6400 = 251
at ISO12800 H = 232

I'm in the same ISO as always. :)


My Flickr Page (external link)
6D / 7D / 16-35 II / 35 2.0 IS / 60 macro / 85 1.8 / 135 2 / 100-400 / 430EX II

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mocows
Goldmember
Avatar
1,055 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Location: Richmond, BC
     
Apr 15, 2010 10:09 |  #43

Yitaro wrote in post #9999774 (external link)
Question to those who have updated to firmware 1.21. Are you still able to use Chines ebay battery? If so, does it now show battery status?

I doubt anything would change as they don't have the required chip in it, if it's not broken don't fix it. But I would be interested if they did change that piece of functionality (as I don't enjoy the blank battery icon haha).


7D | XSi + Phottix Grip | 400 F/5.6 | 70-200 F/4 | Sigma 30 f/1.4 | Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6 |430ex | Horusbennu C-2830V | Photo Clam PC-33
flickr gallery (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
shutterkicks
Member
145 posts
Joined Dec 2009
     
Apr 15, 2010 12:06 |  #44

i'm updating mine tonight and keeping an eye on the thread in case somebody got a boo boo.


My Gear | Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aboss3
Goldmember
Avatar
2,616 posts
Joined Jan 2010
Location: LOS ANGELES
     
Apr 15, 2010 12:07 |  #45
bannedPermanent ban

LOL this reminds me of Microsoft update: 1st they release an update that is supposed to fix something but actually brakes 2nd they release an update to update to fix the code that's broken 3rd they fix everything with the Service Pack.
Seriously, if everything is working, why upgrade the firmware?


Gear | My gear is changing faster than I can update the signature
VoyageEyewear (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

45,962 views & 0 likes for this thread
7D Firmware Update Version 1.2.1
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Register to forums
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is atomanth
872 guests, 246 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 15144, that happened on Nov 22, 2018

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.