Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography 
Thread started 01 Mar 2011 (Tuesday) 21:45
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

School Paper and Copyright

malibubts
224 posts
Joined Mar 2009

Mar 01, 2011 21:45 |  #1

Alright so I've been shooting for the last several months for my school paper. Basically the way it works is that they provide the pass and I go to the event and shoot. I drop the .JPGs off there and cutline. I keep all my Raw files and do an edit for myself and put them on my Smug Mug. Today the photo editor said I needed to talk to the editor in chief of the paper as I don't own the photos and the copyright belongs to the paper. I was told "The deal is that if you were there because of the paper, the paper owns them." by the photo editor. I haven't signed anything releasing my copyright and it isn't a paying job. So I'm not sure why they own the copyright. I'll be talking to the editor in chief in the next few days to clear things up but I'm really lost here on how the copyright is theirs. Any help would be much appreciated.

5D MkII, Rebel XTi
Canon 300mm /4, Sigma 70-200mm /2.8, Canon 50mm /1.8, Rokinon 14mm /2.8
PhotoEric (external link)

sponsored links
Voaky999
Goldmember
3,313 posts
Gallery: 797 photos
Best ofs: 4
Joined Nov 2010

Mar 01, 2011 21:53 |  #2

They didn't pay for jack, you are doing a volunteer service. I would suggest they will need to find a new photographer if they pursue this. I would not think they have a leg to stand on. I do not think a pass qualifies as payment.

Don